Clera Windows + Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
31 Pennsylvania Ave. Vaughan ON L4K 5V5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 14 timesBest of 2021winner 14 times

Reviews for Clera Windows + Doors

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (3063 reviews)

Sort by

Brad in Toronto
Brad in Toronto
0 reviews Whitney, ON
0/10

Awful company. Non responsive. Missing parts

The company did incorrectly measured the windows and did not include all parts. We are still missing parts and can not get through to anyone. We have tried repeatedly and no one is willing to help. We feel lost and cannot lock our patio door.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Brad,
Sorry to hear about your issues and we apologize for the inconvenience. We investigated at our end and found out that your ordered this Patio door on supply only basis and hired some local contractors to install. Your lock, handle set and rollers are all shipped with the door and packaged in a box. Your contractor must have thrown them away by mistake. Our service tech spoke to you yesterday and we have ordered your parts which will arrive with in a week from our supplier. We wish you would have hired our installers to install your project and you don't have to go though this trouble. Your parts will be shipped to you as soon as we receive them. Thank you - Clera Admin

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Baltimore, ON
2/10

Good Product, Very Poor!!!! customer service

The windows and doors we ordered function good for a week, then the door would not lock. We later found out that it was not installed correctly and secured to the wall. The sale rep would not return phone calls for weeks and it took 3 months to respond to our complaints. Unfortunately we ordered the remaining windows for our house and the poor service continues. Sale rep would not return my emails or phone calls. Had to call the head office to get a response. The lady at head office was rude not letting me ask my questions. I had to ask her to stop interupting me. The products appear to be of good construction, however the customer service is very poor. Spend your money with someone else if you can!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Private User, We really appreciate your business. Please let us know who is your sales rep and we will ensure that your service is looked after as soon as possible. Please contact our head office and provide your detailed info and we will have one of the customer service rep contact you. Thanks - Clera Admin

Deb
Deb
0 reviews Delta, ON
8/10

Dining Room Window

Very pleased with our beautiful new dining room window. The quality is amazing. Was a bit of a wait due to Covid times but definitely worth it. The crew that installed it was amazing answered all my questions cleaned up all the mess. Instalation was very quick.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Deb, We are glad that you are pleased with your new windows. We apologize for the delay and believe us, we are doing our best but the supply chain disruption has caused all sort of delays. Hope you enjoy your windows for long time. Thanks - Clera Admin

Mary
Mary
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Easy, reliable and quick

I couldn’t be happier with the service I received from Clera. I’m a single woman and met with a few companies that were clearly trying to take advantage of that. Kyle came in and I could instantly tell he was honest and genuine. I felt comfortable and grateful to have called Clera. I love my nee windows - they look amazing and we’re installed in a very timely fashion. Would highly recommend Clera and Kyle to anyone looking to instal new windows or doors

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mary for a wonderful review!! We do our best to look after every customer and we are happy that Kyle did an excellent job by looking after your project. Good Luck with your new windows - Clera Admin

Anita
Anita
1 review Grimsby, ON
0/10

windows install--joke

I regret ever even hearing about this company! Our sales rep Jonathan convinced us that they were the best in the business and guaranteed the service and the product and sent out someone to do the measurements. Said the installation would be sometime in August 2021. That didn't happen. Then in early September, we got confirmation from Jonathan that our instal would be today, September 18th. Windows and our front door. We had already paid 50% when we committed. I JUST received a call from the installer to advise me that he wasn't coming because the sales guy, Jonathan didn't confirm with him. NOT MY PROBLEM. We have already removed all of our window coverings, moved furniture and we both took Monday off, as Jonathan had said that it would take a day, maybe a day and a half. I even have the blinds guy coming at 4pm on Monday to take measurements and bring samples. And we have to go vote!! Oh and our door isn't ready...Jonathan said that it was. I am F U M I N G !! How unprofessional and disorganized is this company? How do you run a business like this? You cannot disrupt people's lives like this. We can't take another day off work just because you "forgot" to do your job. I want someone from Corporate to contact me and discuss this further. This matter is far from over.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Anita,
Thank you for choosing Clera windows and doors. Your windows and doors were installed yesterday and as per installer everything went well. Our management will reach out to you to find out if there is any issue. Thanks - Clera Admin

Uniquenamehere
Uniquenamehere
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Can't get it done!

*Clera, this an attempt to get you to do something*

I initially contacted Clera in late April 2021 with an interest in receiving a quote for 3 replacement windows on my home. While I had 3 other competitive quotes in hand, including one from a company we had previously used on two separate occasions, we chose to move forward with Clera, and provided a deposit on May 31, 2021. I was advised by the salesperson the window order would take, "about 8 weeks, maybe 10" to complete. It is now the middle of September and we still have no definitive date for completion and installation of the windows we ordered.

What's additionally and arguably more concerning, is the number of inquiries (by email and phone) we have made through the salesperson that have simply been ignored, not responded to when promised or the responses are cryptic or the estimated timelines provided have been completely missed; I've even sent a request through the company's "request for service option" and have yet to receive a response. As a final option we offered to have our deposit returned and we would part ways - not surprisingly, ignored.

COVID restrictions and the salesperson's excuses aside, let me be vividly clear – the appearance is that we've been misinformed throughout.

At this point, the personal time and energy spent in attempting to secure an installation date is beyond ridiculous, should be considered no less than shameful for all involved at Clera and serve as a model for how not to provide customer service!

Looking forward to wrapping this process up soon so we can move passed this company.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Uniquenamehere,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Please contact our head office at 9057381870 and ask to speak to the management team. We definitely give you an answer about the timing on your order. We are unable to identify you by the name on the review. We are working with short staff due to various reasons for few weeks and that's why you didn't get the reply to your request in time. Due to the supply chain shortage and lack of skilled labor in our industry, our lead times have increased but our sales team or office should have notified you of the delays and set up the proper expectations. We sincerely apologize for the delays and looking forward to your call. Thank you - Clera Admin

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

All Windows replacted

Beautiful brick-to-brick installation. I had 11 Windows replaced. The windows are very well insulated and noise dampening is excellent. The installers were very professional and clean. Highly recommend Clera Windows.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Clera Customer,
Thank you for a great review!!! It feels really good when our customers are really happy with Clera products and installations.

Boschtraveller
Boschtraveller
0 reviews Brockville, ON
10/10

Windows And patio door

Jerry and his Brockville crew were professional and courteous. They were able to explain everything succinctly and addressed every problem with our 120 year house. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Customer,
Great to see an excellent review. Jerry is very knowledgeable with every aspect of construction and that's why he is able to explain everything in detail. Thank you for taking time to write the review.

pat in Carleton Place
pat in Carleton Place
1 review Perth, ON
2/10

sliding glass door installation

Our installation of 3 patio doors has been ongoing now for over a year. Jerry is difficult to get hold of and does not follow through with what he promises. It took more than 6 months to get the doors put in initially. The carpenters installing were of high quality but had insufficient time in one day to install adjust and finish door install and trims. There were also manufacturing deficiencies in the doors that needed to be rectified. Lock doesn't work. doors don't slide properly, trims left half finished, caulking not perfect, screens difficult to close. For more than $7000 for 2 doors I would have expected better and more timely follow up. We have been dropped by Jerry in the middle of a job and left to deal with a half finished job for months. I advise you to avoid this sweet talking salesman like the plague.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Pat,
We are extremely sorry for the delays and believe us it's not due to Clera's capability of fulfilling orders. The entire industry is facing a huge challenge due to shortage of materials and suppliers have declared Force Majeure condition with respect to production and shipment of fenestration products in North America. As per Jerry, he has ordered the sash and waiting for the part to arrive from supplier. Everything else has been resolved other than some caulking need to be fixed on exterior. Jerry will reach out to you as soon as we receive part from the supplier and if you like to get the caulking fix in the mean time, please reach out to Jerry. Thank you for your understanding.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Nothing but problems

Got almost 20 windows installed. It's been only a few months and we've had nothing but problems. From bad caulking to unable to close/lock windows...etc etc. If I can get a full refund I would and keep my old 19 year old windows. And if that wasn't enough the sales person stated that they will not be fixing anymore problems until we pay them in full! What an insult

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Clera Customer, We apologize for your bad experience. As per our local branch, we arranged service tech every time you had an issue and they rectified issues in front of you before leaving your house. It's unfortunate that either the same issue or something else keep coming and we sent our service tech every time considering that you would pay the balance amount. The new issue you raised is about the caulking the capping on lintel is not recommended as water needs to run out from behind the brick. Hope you understand that this is not an installation related issue. Thank you - Clera Admin

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Clera Windows + Doors

Clera Windows + Doors by FM Industries has been manufacturing and installing windows and doors throughout all of Ontario since 1978. They add beauty and value to nearly 1000 homes every month and can easily service the entire province via one of their 37 sales and installation offices.

Clera Windows + Doors has been recognized as one of Canada’s Best 50 Privately Managed Companies and the City of Vaughan’s Company of the Year. Clera was recently awarded the Houzz service award for 2014 and is a proud recipient of the Homestars Best Award for 2012 and 2013. Add to these achievements a stellar A+ Better Business Bureau rating and you’ll understand why Clera Windows + Doors is the best choice for new windows and doors for your home.

We manufacture. We install. You save.

Toronto, East York, Stratford, Goderich, Oshawa, Essex County, Pembroke, Ottawa East, Ottawa West, Kitchener, Orangeville, Welland, Barrie, Newmarket, Peterborough, Belleville, Cobourg, Kingston, Brantford, Guelph, Oakville, Mississauga, Kanata, Brockville, Woodstock, London, Cornwall, Burlington, Hamilton

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
windows and doors, vinyl windows, replacement windows, new windows, casement windows, double hung windows, awning windows, slider windows, fixed windows, replacement windows and doors, new windows and doors,
SERVICES
windows and doors installation, replacement windows installation, new windows installation, brick to brick installation, retrofit installation, custom windows installation, custom colour windows and doors installation
BRANDS
Clera Windows & doors,
STYLES
Casement windows, Fixed Windows, Awning Windows, Double Hung, Single Hung, Double Slider, single slider, bay window, bow window, shaped windows, custom windows, Entry door, Patio Door, Garden Doors, Single Door, Double Door, Sidelites, Transoms, Side Doors, Back doors
SPECIALITIES
Windows and doors installation, selling direct to consumers, no middleman, no hassle, straight talk, honest approach
WEBSITE
http://www.clerawindows.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
125
RETURN POLICY
None
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Visa, Mastercard, Financing upon approval
MEMBERSHIPS
CSA, IGMAC, ENERGY STAR, BBB, SAWDAC
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Non Prorated Lifetime Warranty.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.