Green Apple Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
51 Shorncliffe Road Toronto ON M8Z 5K2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2017 winnerBest of 2017winner

Reviews for Green Apple Landscaping

Average customer rating:
9.6 10 (86 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

City of Toronto Parking Permit

I moved into a house where the parking pad wasn't "legal" and I had to work with Peter to work backwards to apply for it to be legalized. He was extremely knowledgeable, patient and helpful. We found out this week that our pad is now legal! Such a relief and I owe it all to Peter and his team. THANK YOU!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for placing this review! It always makes us happy when we can help out. Enjoy parking on your new legal parking pad!

Cristina Fowler from Toronto
Cristina Fowler from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Backyard Redesign

We just completed a full backyard re-design with Green Apple and we are so impressed! From the get go, Peter responded quickly to all emails and answered all of our questions. From our first meeting with Fred, the designer, we knew we had chosen the right company. Their professionalism, friendliness, attention to detail and knowledge of all things landscaping is top notch. We can’tsay enough about Green Apple and their amazing work. We highly recommend them to anyone looking for a landscaping design company. Know that you will be a satisfied customer from beginning to end. A big note of thanks to Peter, Fred, Simon, Paul and the rest of the awesome team.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Cristina for the amazing review! It was a pleasure working for you to do the complete makeover of your backyard. I appreciate you taking the time to place this review. Hope you enjoy the new backyard for years to come.

L. Krauss from Toronto
L. Krauss from Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front Yard Makeover

We are thrilled with our new front living space. The team at Green Apple are professional, very responsive and solutions-oriented when it comes to working in challenging conditions (especially tight urban spaces!). From our initial design, to dealing with an old tree and the City of Toronto, to our redesign and project execution, we were very impressed by Peter and his team's efforts to get our job done on budget. We get compliments on it everyday. We couldn't recommend Green Apple enough.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for the great review! It was great working for you to redesign your front yard.

Linda
Linda
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front Garden Landscaping

I am thrilled with my beautiful new front garden. Peter and Fred and the entire crew were professional and a pleasure to work with from start to finish. I was very happy with the design which reflected my vision. The material choices were beautiful, and the crew were careful, skilled, hardworking and very tidy. In addition, as a group they were just really friendly and seem to be a really well run organization. Thank-you Green Apple for a positive experience and exceptional outcome.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review Linda. It was a pleasure working for you to do a complete makeover of your front yard!

Erin S
Erin S
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front landscaping

We couldn't be happier with our front yard. The workmanship and attention to deal exceeded our expectations. The onsite crew was great to deal with. We would highly recommend Green Apple Landscaping.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Erin, for placing this great review.

Matthew Higgins from Toronto
Matthew Higgins from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Complete Backyard Renovation

Peter and his team did a complete teardown and rebuild of our backyard (a Toronto semi) over a couple of months in 2020, installing two new fences with gates, two new decks, a stone patio with natural gas fire pit, and fresh landscaping. From consultation, to design, to planning and construction, the whole process was seamless and professional. My wife and I have demanding jobs and appreciated Peter and Simon's approach to managing issues and changes with the project, never bringing us problems for which they hadn't already developed solution options. The team delivered at a consistently high quality from design to execution, and Peter's communication throughout the project was excellent. I would highly recommend Green Apple to anyone looking for a very high-quality, turnkey landscaping project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Matthew, for taking the time to place this amazing review! We really appreciated working with you to create a new backyard space. Hope you enjoy it for many years to come.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front Pad Parking

We were looking to put in front pad parking at our house in Toronto and came across Green Apple Landscaping online. We could not be happier that we found this company. From originally getting in contact with Peter, to drawing up plans with Fred, to the execution of the project with Simon, Paul and Bogdan, we were thoroughly impressed with the Green Apple team. Their attention to detail, extremely quick execution and a great final result exceeded all our expectations. They took care of all our questions along the way and made sure to always keep a clean job site during the project to ensure our neighbours were respected as well. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for guidance on permitting, front pad parking and seamless job execution.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to place this very nice review! It was a pleasure working for you creating a functional and beautiful front yard parking pad. Many years of enjoying the convenience of your parking pad.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Backyard Redesign

We first engaged Green Apple Landscaping in January 2021, assuming this would be ample runway to have a backyard redesign in time for the summer. Unfortunately, we were strung along for months and are now left scrambling to find another contractor who can finish the project. 

The designs provided were good but required very obvious revisions for simple things - like proper access to our door - and did not reflect our personal preferences and taste. When we requested a difference colour palette, for example, we were told this was their style and they failed to give us adequate alternatives. 

The service was very slow and lacked coordination. It took 15 weeks to receive the design and budget (which we paid $4000 for). It was our impression they got very busy and were unable to manage all the projects they had on the go.

When we finally did receive costing 6 weeks after approving the designs, it was drastically over the budget we shared with them and which they said would be respected.

In our experience, they are quick to make promises, have you sign a contract and pay a deposit but unable to hold up their end of the bargain. 

Note: In the spirit of honesty and transparency, we shared this review in advance of posting it here and they took no ownership over the situation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm sorry that you feel this way about our service.

January 21 was our initial meeting and a design contract was signed.
January 27th - we received a deposit and you were told it would take 3-4 weeks for the design presentation.
On Feb 24th the design was presented. It took exactly 4 weeks for us to present the plan to you.

At this point, during our meeting, it was mentioned that the balance of the design fee was due, and you agreed to send the payment for the balance. Despite a few more reminders, we did not receive payment from you until after we gave you a quote for the build.

March 3rd We received an email with the request for changes after the design was complete and changes were to be made you mentioned ..."I understand costing is the next step but we are firm on keeping this project at $30K max so would like the designs to reflect this reality. If we are completely off base, please let us know!"
Our reply was: "It's hard to determine exactly the cost without going through the process. I would suggest that we make the changes and send it to Peter for the quote and then if we need we can adjust the drawing if need be. I can respect your request and we will do our best to try to accommodate from our end and if we can't make it work on our end the way it is designed then we will do our best to find an alternative way to get it done and still give you a beautiful yard."

March 14 you poked me for an update.
On March 15 I sent the revised design.
March 16 you had a few minor questions and asked for a 3D revision as well. As I mentioned this was not part of the design scope however I provided them as per your request.
March 17 I responded to your questions
March 17 you asked if I could accommodate your request for the 3Ds and I said I would do that for you.
March 20 you responded
March 22 - 2 days later I had the 3ds revised for you.
March 23 almost 3 weeks later we were still waiting for the contract fulfilment regarding payment. Once payment is made in full the costing process is put on the front burner. We do not usually apply the next phase of pricing if payment is not paid in full.

As you can see, we had had no lapse in timelines from responses and requests you had made. Once I heard from you I always responded in a timely manner. It is quite normal to have a design process with revisions take 4-6 weeks.

In response to the budget, it was clearly pointed out to you what things might cost in an email sent on January 22nd which was after you had signed a design contract but before you had sent a deposit. The budget requirement we gave you was considerably more than your stated budget yet you proceeded with a design anyway. Since that time lumber has doubled in price and other materials have been increasing 30% in some cases.
When there is a wish list, we do our best to keep the budget in mind, but prices and wish lists can play out against each other. Prices are what they are and that is out of our control.

Regarding being all in for signing a contract, We would remind you that you waited almost a week before sending the deposit to the contract. We did not push you or promise the world to you. My advice to you was that you need a good plan to do it right. There was no pressure from our end at all.

Regarding the delay in providing the quote, you hadn't actually paid for the design, even after being politely reminded several times to do so.
We do thank you for paying now, but you only did that after we provided you with a quote for the installation.
Would any business provide a timely quote if you haven't paid for the original work?

I'm sorry that you felt the need to try and tarnish our reputation. I wish you luck with your project.

Stanley
Stanley
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Right Guys, Right Price, RIght time!

Peter at Green Apple was that "right guy". Peter's customer service centric approach made every major or minor change/challenge to the our project an smooth and easy one. He is transparent, honest, and attentive. His crew is professional, knowledgeable, and very hard working. Simon, the foreman, is a very smart man. Simon is able to identify issues and problems ahead of time. And Simon will consult with others before adjusting the project plan/work accordingly. This is a solid team.

Fred, the designer at Green Apple was able to come up with a plan that was the "right price". Green Apple's quote not the cheapest quote I received, but their pricing seemed very fair for the scope of work that was delivered. I much appreciated the times that Peter pointed out opportunities/options to save a few bucks by suggesting a different approach or materials.

As for "right timing", well, we were lucky. Green Apple had time/capacity and the COVID restrictions were just lifted for landscaping. Our project was finished on time and on budget by Green Apple.

Scope of work included, new landscaping of front and backyard, concrete walkways, stepping stone walkways, asphalt driveway, cedar fencing, chainlink fencing, tree/stump removal, soak-away french drain system

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Stanley, for placing this really great review. You were a great client to work for! Glad we could be there at the right time for you and complete the new house landscaping that you needed. Hoping for many happy years in your new home.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front and backyard landscaping

I have never written a review, good or bad before, but after having Green Apple complete front and back yard landscaping for us, I thought it was important to share my experience. We had previously had flooding in our basement twice and right away when Fred arrived (the designer) he commented we had a grading issue. Grading and basement flood prevention were important to us and Fred's plans emphasized that as well. The implementation of the plan was left to Simon the foreman. Simon was one of the hardest working individuals I have ever met. He was also meticulous and very detailed oriented. The crew did a fantastic job cleaning up every night. Even the neighbours were complimentary of their work and how clean they left the site each night. With the input of Peter (the owner) and Simon, a few changes to the plan were made along the way which is normal for such a large project. At the end of the day after about 6 weeks, our place looks amazing. Looking forward to using it more next summer.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review! It was a pleasure working for you as well David. Glad the project turned out nice for you.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Green Apple Landscaping

Category: Landscape Contractors and Designers.

Modern Landscape Design. Toronto's premier modern landscaping company.

Your modern lifestyle, outdoors. Creating usable, functional and refined environments with a modern aesthetic.

Green Apple offers a complete residential landscape design and build service in GTA Toronto, Etobicoke, Mississauga, Vaughan, Woodbridge, Kleinburg, Nobleton, Caledon, Richmond Hill, and Thornhill. With over 30 years of landscaping experience and a portfolio of award-winning gardens, we are dedicated and passionate about creating the perfect garden for our clients.

We are now pleased to offer three dimensional (3D) plans as part of our design process. This is in addition to our standard two dimensional (2D) plans. The 3D plans provide you with the opportunity to visualize your landscape makeover in photorealistic 3D pictures of your designed landscape and actually see what your landscaping will look like before it is built! See our 3D designs on Homestars and Houzz.

CATEGORIES
Landscape Contractors & Designers
PRODUCTS
3D landscape designs as a starting point for our design + build landscape makeovers
SERVICES
Only Complete Landscape Makeovers of Properties for Curb Appeal and Backyard Outdoor Living
BRANDS
Unilock, Permacon, Oaks, Techo-Bloc, natural stone products
STYLES
Contemporary Modern, Eclectic Modern, Modern Formal
SPECIALITIES
Modern Landscaping - Design + Build, Front Yard Parking Pads in the City of Toronto (Plans, Permits, Installation)
WEBSITE
https://www.greenapple.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1995
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
7
RETURN POLICY
We believe that the customer is always right. Complete satisfaction guarantee.
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, Paypal, Financing Available
LICENSES
Certified Landscape Professional, Certified Landscape Technicians
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario Horticultural Association
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Certified Landscape Designer
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$25,000
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Up to 5 Years on all labour, Lifetime on most products from the manufacturers.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.