Mattamy Homes

Builders
2360 Bristol Circle Oakville ON L6H 6M5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Builders
Mattamy Homes
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

31%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mattamy Homes

Average customer rating:
2.7 10 (210 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Bracebridge, ON
1/10

The Mattamy Way

A purchase agreement was signed Sept 2018, with a tentative closing Dec 4th, 2019.
In Nov 2018 I requested a design guide from customer service but was told “Thank you for your email. I’d like to apologize for the previous correspondence and provide clarity as to why we no longer offer any design guides.” When we initially visited the Mattamy design center to choose options, the staff refused to provide us with any pricing.
On Wednesday July 31st, 2019 we were requested to attend a meeting to review the new house details. At the meeting we were advised that the construction progress was on time for a closing date of early December 2019.
Two weeks later on August 14th, 2019 we were advised that the Closing was extended until Mar 10th 2020. No specific explanation or apology was offered as to why we were mislead.
The house closing was delayed and finally closed 18 months after purchase date.
Mattamy design center originally refused to provide us with a list of design guide prices. We were expected to sign the final papers with absolutely no advance idea of pricing. I suspect, there was a purchaser uprising and Mattamy finally conceded to provide a basic design guide with “some” pricing.
At the PDI, the house was filthy inside and outside and full of defects and missing infrastructure. Apparently, Mattamy purchasers are responsible to ensure the house has been built correctly.
Apparently, this is the Mattamy way.
Luckily, we have had less problems than most of our neighbours. They have experience flooded sewage in their basements, leaking roofs causing considerable interior damage, vinyl siding that keeps falling off, incorrect kitchen cabinets that had to be replaced, cracked counter tops, hardwood flooring that was installed incorrectly, etc, etc, etc.
Mattamy used to build quality homes and provide quality service, but something has changed for the worst in the last couple of yeras

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Priyanka in Richmond Hill
Priyanka in Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
2/10

Poor work and cheap materials

I bought a townhome in Scarborough. I am extremely frustrated with mattamy. Cheap materials, poor workmanship of homes. The builder tries to get out of repairing defects by quoting the building code and does the the bare minimum fixes.

Advice to anyone that buys with mattamy, note all defects in your 30 day claim or mattamy will try to get out of fixing certain defects by using “this is due to natural shifting of the home.” Also, ask for plans of where utility box and mailbox will be placed or you’ll end up finding out after you move in.

Was this review helpful?
German in Winnipeg
German in Winnipeg
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

Town House unit

Stay away from this builder ! Poor quality work , cheap materials, customer service below any rating (it takes weeks before they give you any answer except " we will update you " ). Company breaks their own promises like no tomorrow. Warranty department does everything possible to avoid responsibility and fix the issue. Appliances department does want he wants without even letting you know about the changes or delays. Bottom line do yourself a favor and stay away from this company if you want to get good quality house and reliable customer service.

Was this review helpful?
Priyanka in Toronto
Priyanka in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Poor quality house

Never buy house from Mattamy!!! Terrible builder.

We bought a brand new house from Mattamy and moved in 2 months ago. Since day 1 of our moving we are facing numerous challenges and difficulties. We having been dealing with roof water leak from our move in. Water is leaking from kitchen and also dripping through smoke detector. They have been sending contractors every week for repair but they can’t get it fixed.
Horrible service after paying so much for the house.

Was this review helpful?
Mehdi in Toronto
Mehdi in Toronto
0 reviews Milton, ON
2/10

Poor quality houses with worst customer service

Just moved to a one year old townhouse in Milton. Day one I opened a valve and water leaked from all over the main floor ceiling and floor covered with water. There is a disconnected pipe in the ceiling! ridiculous! Called warranty and they sent an inspector to find the disconnected pipe. The inspector made three big cuts to the ceiling until he found the disconnected pipe. After 4 days they sent me an email which says I have to wait for 3-4 weeks until they fix the issue. I called to ask for an expedited service but the agent said it is not possible, then I asked to talk to a manager but the warranty coordinator refused to transfer me to a manager!

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Caledon, ON
0/10

Worse builder in Canada

Do not buy from Mattamy, customer service is terrible and extremely unprofessional. Build quality is mediocre with gaps and uneven tiles, drywalls, and bad finishes throughout the house. The builder is only focused on making as much money as possible while providing as less service/product as possible. That is unofficially thier business model. stay away

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

Terrible builder don’t buy from them

Extremely terrible customer service don’t buy from this builder. It’s been 2 years in the house and since our occupancy it’s been a constant struggle to get things fixed. A leak in the basement took them almost a year to figure out the source and in the process my hardwood floors were damaged and nothing was done about. Very unhappy and would never buy again for this builder.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

New Build Housing = Poor Customer Relations

Prepare to be treated poorly. Each customer is just a #. Bad news after bad news, not once did mattamy acknowledge any short coming. The buyer must adapt every time. This is not what the business advertises. It is a mistake to do this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

Do Not Buy/Invest in Mattamy

This company is the definition of quick and easy profit. The workmanship is atrocious and their ability to meet deadlines is even worse. Every issue I've had with this company has taken months to resolve. It took 14 months and 80+ emails before they began fixing my roof. From what I've heard multiple times: they treat their service reps and administrative staff very poorly.

If you're thinking about Mattamy as your first home, save some more money and buy from a better builder. The cheaper prices really do equal poor work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

Mattamy uses poor materials

My cupboards are peeling and look horrible. At 2 years I emailed mattamy and they said out of warranty now Frendel says they were covered for 2 years. My kitchen looks horrible with peeling cupboards.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Mattamy Homes

Welcome to Mattamy Homes: One product, lovingly crafted, humbly sold, then proudly owned. That's how it starts for most companies. That's how it started for Mattamy Homes in 1978.

Mattamy Homes is rigorous about every single aspect of community planning. We acquire the land, design the homes, plan the streets, and we create the people spaces—the walking and biking trails, parks, and other community features.

Still, our process remains unchanged in one fundamental way. We continue to keep our eyes, ears, and minds open. We talk to our future and present homeowners to completely understand diverse and evolving styles of living. And we continually attempt to provide for you the best, most liveable spaces with everything we learn.

Mattamy Homes is the largest privately owned homebuilder in North America, with a nearly 40-year history of operations across the United States and Canada. Every year, Mattamy helps 7,000 families realize their dream of home ownership. In the United States, the company is represented in 10 markets – Charlotte, Raleigh-Durham, Phoenix, Tucson, Jacksonville, Orlando (where its US head office is located), Tampa, Sarasota, Naples and Southeast Florida – and in Canada, those communities stretch across the Greater Toronto Area, as well as in Ottawa, Calgary and Edmonton. Visit www.mattamyhomes.com for more information.

CATEGORIES
Builders
PRODUCTS
Townhomes, Detached Homes, Single Family Home, Highrise, Mid Rise Condo, Attached Homes, Two Story Home, Single Story
STYLES
Modern, Contemporary,
SPECIALITIES
New Urbanism
WEBSITE
http://www.mattamyhomes.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.