Mckinnon Heating Cooling

Heating & Air Conditioning
37 Kodiak Crescent, Unit 14 Toronto ON M3J 3G5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Downsview  >  Mckinnon Heating Cooling  >  Not ideal (but see addendum - owner contacted me and refunded all)
Tom West from Toronto
Tom West from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
7/10

Not ideal (but see addendum - owner contacted me and refunded all)

Heat went out on 28 year old hot water gas furnace (it needs service every 6-7 years). Called our usual service people, but they weren't available that day. Called McKinnon, who installed the furnace 28 years ago.

The reception was polite and friendly, and best of all, they were available that day (kudos to them).

Sadly, they were three hours late, the serviceman tracked wet boots (asking would have been nice), spent a full hour diagnosing the system as a bad gas valve, and was irritated (or came across that way) that we didn't just junk the whole system. Total cost $180 + GST.

The next morning, we decided to go with our regular supplier to order the part and install it, since they didn't seem offended that we kept our old system chugging along. They wanted to "drop in" to confirm the problem before ordering a new part. They did drop in, and 45 minutes later we had heat! (The system required a new thermocouple which they had in the van - it turns out the gas valve was fine.)

Sometime visits are delayed, not every service man is super polite (especially at the end of a day), and yes, sometimes misdiagnoses happen, so I don't think Mckinnon is terrible (it's got lots of good reviews as well). But all together, this was a less than satisfactory experience.

Addendum: I had not reached out to Mckinnon before the review (I was not seeking a refund) but the owner did contact me after this review, and offered an apology and simply refunded the full amount - No strings.

If my experience was less than ideal, it is clear that if you have a problem, the owner is highly responsive.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Tom for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience with our company and our service technician. We will take this opportunity to review things with our staff to improve the customer experience. Please note that we have credited the full amount of the service call to the payment method provided to us.

Previous versions of this review:

Tom West from Toronto
Tom West from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
5/10

Not thrilled

Heat went out on 28 year old hot water gas furnace (it needs service every 6-7 years). Called our usual service people, but they weren't available that day. Called McKinnon, who installed the furnace 28 years ago.

The reception was polite and friendly, and best of all, they were available that day (kudos to them).

Sadly, they were three hours late, the serviceman tracked wet boots (asking would have been nice), spent a full hour diagnosing the system as a bad gas valve, and was irritated (or came across that way) that we didn't just junk the whole system. Total cost $180 + GST.

The next morning, we decided to go with our regular supplier to order the part and install it, since they didn't seem offended that we kept our old system chugging along. They wanted to "drop in" to confirm the problem before ordering a new part. They did drop in, and 45 minutes later we had heat! (The system required a new thermocouple which they had in the van - it turns out the gas valve was fine.)

Sometime visits are delayed, not every service man is super polite (especially at the end of a day), and yes, sometimes misdiagnoses happen, so I don't think Mckinnon is terrible (it's got lots of good reviews as well). But all together, this was a less than satisfactory experience.

Was this review helpful?