Peter & Greg Walker Contracting Inc.

Chimney Build & Repair
82 Six Point Rd. Toronto ON M8Z 2X2
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Roofing in Toronto  >  Peter & Greg Walker Contracting Inc.  >  Follow up to roof repair and chimney replacement
PETER IN ETOBICOKE in Toronto
PETER IN ETOBICOKE in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Follow up to roof repair and chimney replacement

CURRENT REVIEW:
As noted below, my wife and I encountered a problem a few months after our roof was re-shingled and our chimney was rebuilt. The initial response from Peter & Greg Walker Contracting was disappointing.

With that said, after my previous review was posted, I received a call from Greg Walker. He listened to what I had to say and sincerely apologised for what had transpired. The mere fact that Greg Walker called me was impressive. To me, his call showed a commitment to customer service.

We can't change what happened earlier. However, the discussion I had with Greg Walker restored my confidence in his firm as a company I would not hesitate to use again and to recommend to my friends. From the tone of our conversation and from the things that were said, it is obvious that Mr. Walker takes customer satisfaction very seriously.

PREVIOUS REVIEW:
My wife and I received excellent service when the work was first done. A few months later, after the invoice was fully paid, I called about a problem. The President of the company could hardly have cared less.

Earlier this year, we used Peter & Greg Walker Contracting to re-shingle our roof and replace a portion of our chimney. At the time all seemed to go well. Then, as the heating season approached, we arranged for another firm to come in an re-brick our fireplace. The fireplace contractor noticed that the damper was jammed shut. When he took the fireplace apart, the contractor discovered a very large piece of masonry that had fallen down the flue and fallen on top of the damper. I called the President of Peter & Greg Walker Contracting to report this for his information, not as a potential claim. He did not return my original call but did return the follow up call that I placed a week later.

When we spoke on the phone, the President had no interest in finding out what happened. Although he had no difficulty coming to our house a few months earlier to pick up the cheque for our final payment, he scoffed at my suggestion that he come to the house to see for himself the size of the object that had dropped on top of the damper during the chimney replacement. He was content to let the matter go by saying he has had good experience in the past with the sub-contractor who did our chimney replacement. Although he said he was sorry we had a problem with the work that was done through his firm, the President was not interested in investigating the problem for himself.

Especially considering the attention that was paid while the work was in progress, I was disappointed at the indifference that was shown when a problem cropped up afterwards.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Peter for your update. We personally care about all of our customers and want them to feel fully satisfied for the services we offer. If we can be of any further assistance in the future, you know you can rely on Peter and Greg Walker Contracting for all of your exterior projects. Sincerely, Nella

Previous versions of this review:

PETER IN ETOBICOKE in Toronto
PETER IN ETOBICOKE in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Follow up to roof repair and chimney replacement

My wife and I received excellent service when the work was first done. A few months later, after the invoice was fully paid, I called about a problem. The President of the company could hardly have cared less.

Earlier this year, we used Peter & Greg Walker Contracting to re-shingle our roof and replace a portion of our chimney. At the time all seemed to go well. Then, as the heating season approached, we arranged for another firm to come in an re-brick our fireplace. The fireplace contractor noticed that the damper was jammed shut. When he took the fireplace apart, the contractor discovered a very large piece of masonry that had fallen down the flue and fallen on top of the damper. I called the President of Peter & Greg Walker Contracting to report this for his information, not as a potential claim. He did not return my original call but did return the follow up call that I placed a week later.

When we spoke on the phone, the President had no interest in finding out what happened. Although he had no difficulty coming to our house a few months earlier to pick up the cheque for our final payment, he scoffed at my suggestion that he come to the house to see for himself the size of the object that had dropped on top of the damper during the chimney replacement. He was content to let the matter go by saying he has had good experience in the past with the sub-contractor who did our chimney replacement. Although he said he was sorry we had a problem with the work that was done through his firm, the President was not interested in investigating the problem for himself.

Especially considering the attention that was paid while the work was in progress, I was disappointed at the indifference that was shown when a problem cropped up afterwards.

Was this review helpful?