Toronto Appliance Service Ltd.

Appliance Repair
3279 Lenworth Dr, Unit D Mississauga ON L4X 2G6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Appliance Repair
Toronto Appliance Service Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

40%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Toronto Appliance Service Ltd.

Average customer rating:
4.2 10 (100 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

KitchenAid Refrigerator

INCOMPETENT!!! Booked a service appointment through KitchenAid service website. Technician showed up late. Took fridge apart and mumbled to himself for 20 minutes. Said he needed to bring it into the shop for a "system job" and would have to come back tomorrow with another technician to lift into truck. Charged $100. He called back the next day and said it would cost another $200 for two technicians to come back and pick up the unit, and that the "system job" would be an additional $290. When asked what I had paid for the first time, he responded with "his time". $100 for an incompetent technician to do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. This company is ridiculous. I can't believe they are an KitchenAid service company. I ended up diagnosing the problem as the compressor within 30 minutes using the internet. INCOMPETENT!!

Approximate cost of services:
$590.00
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Simcoe County, ON
10/10

Jennair Fridge

Fridge stopped working. TAS came the next day and it was fixed within the hour. Very fast and efficient. Would definitely call them again and highly recommend. Appreciated the cleanup after :)

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review.

LG from York
LG from York
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Maytag washing machine repair

Our Maytag washing machine broke down so I called Maytag. They arranged for TAS to come - 6 days later. They gave me a window from 2 to 6 so I took the afternoon off work. The repairman came at 5:45 and stayed 10 minutes. He told me the problem was the cold water was turned off and the machine wasn't broken. I was highly suspicious he was wrong but paid him the money and he left. I immediately put a load of laundry in and within 30 minutes, I got the same error message. I called MayTag back and they told me they couldn't send anyone from TAS for another 4 days. Then TAS called and delayed the appointment by another day, but promised me I would be the first appointment of the day so I wouldn't need to take another afternoon off work. The repairman showed up at 10:45 and spent 45 minutes. He fixed the problem and explained to me there had been a leak in a hose. He did not ask for payment - as I would have expected since clearly the first repair person had failed to find the problem or fix it.
What made me very angry is that the next day a representative from TAS called me to tell me that I owed them payment for that repair. Obviously I refused but the lady kept insisting that the second repairman was fixing a problem unrelated to the first. In reality, the first repairman did absolutely nothing but charge me $130 and waste 5 hours of my time - causing me to spend another weekend doing laundry at the laundrymat and then missing another morning at work in order to get the problem fixed.

Approximate cost of services:
$130.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our company represents Maytag factory to repair appliances on warranty and out of warranty. First service tech came to the house found cold water valve closed that is why washer was stopping in middle of cycle - washer needs cold water to be active when it goes to rinse cycle. Customer paid for service call only. Few days later customer advised that washer is not starting, keeps filling. Another tech went back, found broken pressure hose and repaired it. TAS did not charge customer for another service call but only for labour needed to find and repair broken hose. If the first service tech would have spend as match time as both tech of 2 visits to complete repair by correcting both issues on first visit than customer would have been charge the same amount as we are billing now. There would be no difference in billing. Customers washer is repaired and usable now. All funds were paid to Whirlpool as per their schedule service and labour rates.

Private in Toronto in Toronto
Private in Toronto in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Bosch Dishwasher Repair

I contacted Toronto Appliance Service Ltd (TAS) (in January 2017), as an authorized Bosch service company, to repair my Bosch dishwasher in downtown Toronto when an E09 error code appeared. A technician came two days later and told me I needed a new control panel, a part that had to be ordered. I had to wait an entire week for TAS to return. The same technician arrived over two hours late (without any advance notification) and then told me he’d made a mistake and the problem was in fact something that needed an entirely different part. The next day (after not hearing from anyone), I called TAS and spoke to a manage who told me the required part was in stock but that she couldn’t schedule the repair until the technician physically brought the work order into the office. She told me, that despite their error, it was impossible to expedite the repair or to offer any sort of discount, other a 3% discount (yes, 3%) off the product part (she tried to pretend she was doing me a big favour by not charging me for the second service call in which absolutely no service was performed). I then had to call repeatedly until an appointment was finally scheduled - another week later. Which meant I was without a dishwasher for two weeks. As frustrating as it was, I understand that technicians are human and make mistakes. What I don’t understand is why a company like TAS wouldn’t take responsibility for their mistake and take some steps to get the repair done more quickly and/or to offer some sort of discount or to at least be apologetic or caring. So, if you don’t mind taking the risk that it will take two weeks to do a simple dishwasher repair, and if poor and inconsiderate customer service doesn’t bother you, then this is the company for you! I, however, will definitely be taking my service elsewhere. And I’ll be letting Bosch know what a disservice this company is doing to their product line. Please note that I provided Homestars with two receipts verifying my use/payment of TAS for these "services" when TAS posted a comment suggesting I wasn't in fact their customer. In my opinion, Homestars takes their job/role very seriously.

Approximate cost of services:
$550.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This review was just posted and we know it isn't about our company. Normally when somebody makes comment regarding our service we could respond, investigate, answer and so on. In this case this review was posted only 7 hours ago and with big message "THIS REVIEW IS TO OLD TO INVESTIGATE" We have complaint to HOMESTARS many times but no results, no answer or response. We don't trust who ever run this site and we have no idea who is posting reviews on this site. Please ignore it.
Chris

pkfan123 in Toronto
pkfan123 in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Microwave repair

My Kitchenaid over the range microwave turntable stopped turning and consequently the microwave will not start. I called Kitchenaid call centre who booked a home appointment with this Company. The technician came on time, and after initial checking the electric circuitry, told me two switches were out of order and they needed to be replaced. After checking the price with his office he told me what would be the total cost of the visit including parts. I asked him whether he was sure that these were the parts that need to be replaced to get the microwave working properly again. He said that he could not guarantee it because there were other parts that could also be defective if replacement of the switches did not resolve the issue. At that stage, I felt that I was being sold uncertainty because of trial and error approach of the technician. Reluctantly I agreed that he replace the switches, but as I was expecting the microwave did not come back to life. The technician said that he would need to replace the Magnetron unit, the inverter and the control board. I did not even bother to ask the cost of replacing all these parts because I felt that he was just playing a guessing game. I asked him to put the old switches back and paid him for the service call which as far as I am concerned, was a total waste of money and time. I would not recommend this Toronto Applicances Service technician (Neil M.) for these kind of repairs.

Approximate cost of services:
$130.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Door switches were burned and it was absolutely necessary to replace them in order to see what cased them to get burned like that. Our tech has spend his valuable time to come to the house, take microwave apart, check components and inform customer of accured issues and possible other issues that could have cause all problems. For all of this our company charged for diagnostics only.

Theresa D
Theresa D
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Whirlpool Oven

I called in to Whirlpool on Monday 2 weeks ago to get my oven fixed and said they would send TAS. Went online right away to see who was coming in and looked at the reviews online I was worried about this company. I got a call that afternoon saying that they wouldn't be able to come the next day as they were fully booked, which I understood. They told me the tech would come on Wednesday between 1-4 and I was happy with that. He arrived that Wednesday around 3:15 and and managed to know what exactly was wrong with the oven. He said he needed a part so he told me that the front office will call with an estimate, but I needed to get the part as soon as possible because I couldn't wait until next week for the part to come in so the tech called the office and asked them to get the estimate on the spot which I then accepted and it was ordered that day. The part came in the following day and got a call to schedule another appointment. I know this would usually take up 4 days to come in but I was surprised it came in that fast. The tech came back the next day and installed the part. It was working again and he said that if there are any problems with the oven to call back right away and that they would take care of it. I'm happy I stuck with my gut with this company even after reading the reviews. I am a VERY happy customer and will definitely be calling this company again if there are any problems with my appliances. 5 Stars for TAS!

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate your comment.

bm in Etobicoke, Ontario Canada M9W6L4
bm in Etobicoke, Ontario Canada M9W6L4
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

repair to Kitchenaid Superba built in fridge

OMG. Do not use this company to repair your appliances. They don't take responsibility for their incorrect diagnoses or the work they have done. We were recently told that a part they replaced a few months ago needed to be replaced again. They deemed it "defective" and will not replace it for free. We really got taken by this company. We spent 3000 plus, our fridge is still now working and we now have to buy a new refrigerator. They don't know what they are doing and if the fridge is unfixable they should say so.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

TAS warranty for parts is 90 days and labour 30 days. If replaced part failed past 90 days then nothing we can do. We need to purchase part to replace defective one and so customer would need to pay for it as well. We purchase our parts from manufacture so if there is an issue like the one above, customer can always contact manufacture directly to complain about it. Please call us back to get right telephone number.

Sophie H in Brampton
Sophie H in Brampton
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Dishwasher Repair

A couple of weeks ago, my dishwasher appeared to have been leaking. I was at home that day watching over my kids and could not deal with the issue at the same time. My regular repair man was fully booked that day and was not able to come and fix the problem, but my neighbour recommended that I call Toronto Appliance Service. I called the company and received same day service, just that afternoon, which turned out to be phenomenal! The tech that had come dealt with the leak quickly and was very tidy. My experience with Toronto Appliance Service was very positive and I would definitely recommend them.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Toronto Appliance Service Ltd.

Appliance repair, with a committment to prompt, professional courteous service.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Appliance Repair pros in Mississauga?