Country Homes Ltd.

Builders
111 Strada Drive Vaughan ON L4L 5V9
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Builders
Country Homes Ltd.
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

71%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Country Homes Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (91 reviews)

Sort by

mike from Caledon
mike from Caledon
2 reviews Caledon, ON
1/10

New home 6 months in

We were very excited first time home buyers. Country homes had good reviews and houses viewed very well. The decor studio gave us lots of wrong information and did not inform us that base model options were extremely cheap quality. The appliances that came with the house are extremely cheap and not worth what they say. When we moved in the house seemed perfect and the manager on site ensured us he would take care of some minor defects. That has proven to be a false. It has been a battle to get all the defects repaired and it feels like they never will be. All the contractors that do book repairs either don’t show up or they don’t complete the work. Country homes will not respond to emails anymore and offer no assistance. We are not the only ones on our street that this is happening to.

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$495,900.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mike, we are sorry to hear about the experience you had in the past, we hope that we've been able to make it up in a way that gives you confidence back in us a home builder. I am here if you ever have troubles getting a hold of our service team. My name is Christian

Thank you

Krunal in Etobicoke
Krunal in Etobicoke
0 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Milton home

I have very unpleasant experience with decor team. I have been asking for update for my kitchen layout from months, but no one is answering back to my emails. I want to do some structural changes into my home, but never got an email about meeting what so ever.

I have gave reference to couple of my friends, and they bought same property. Now I regret that I bought hose with this company. THEY NEVER ANSWER BACK TO EMAIL!

Approximate cost of services:
$750,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Krunal, we apologize what you went through at our decor center. we are restructuring this division and we want to regain your confidence in us. I know once you see the quality of your brand new home and our service department you will be happy

Please feel free to contact me directly

Anthony Rinomato

anthony@countryhomes.ca

Samzu in Vaughan
Samzu in Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
2/10

Milton townhome MOMA

My daughter purchased a property and she has closing on first week of aug 2020.She has been trying to contact company for some legal questions but no one is replying her emails n calls.We dont have any clue how to contact them.Need urgent help.We are very upset.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Samzu, I would love if you contacted me directly. My number is 647 2053940 and my name is Christian, so we can sort out any misunderstandings. Looking forward to hearing from you. Have a great day.

hisma in Bolton
hisma in Bolton
1 review Milton, ON
2/10

Bad customer service

We haven’t move to our house but after design centre experience I am regretting booking a house with Country Homes.They made no communication what so ever.I have to email design team for months to get a two liner reply.They make false promises and buy time so that in the end they can easily say sorry. I am very unhappy with the whole process

Approximate cost of services:
$100,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello there, this is Christian from Country Homes. I would love to chat with you one on one to understand your frustrations. Please contact the office and ask to speak with me. Thank you, have a wonderful day

Umar in Toronto
Umar in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
5/10

Company has potential but lacks resources

First off I want to say that I think this builder has a lot to offer. Shopping around for a new construction home and being a real estate agent, I can tell you that what this builder is offering as standard items and the quality of work is really quite good. Where I feel they are falling short (I am currently in this mess with them) is lack off communication and too many people doing too many different things which has actually made my home buying process a nightmare (currently). Let me explain:

Our first visit to the sales center in Milton and we were convinced that this is the builder we want to work with based on what they were offering. Easy enough sale for the realtor working there (who is a third party). This agent however was just pushing to sign paperwork and failed to mention that there are different layouts available on the main and second floor. House is worth $1,164,000 and the second largest model they offer. Either way we didn't know there was a choice and were happy with the model selected. We requested to have a side door entrance to the basement and were advised by the realtor that was not possible with the builder.

Fast forward to our first décor appointment with our specialist, Tanya. She was great and very knowledgeable and near the end of our appointment in passing we mentioned that we wanted a side door, to which she replied: I can do that, I have done that before on this model. She needed a couple days to talk to construction. We were blown away. Couple days later, she advised us that it was too late and she could not do anything. Now we were not happy as this option was not given to us at the sale center when we specifically asked for it. So we escalated to head office where we met Anna, who is and has been absolutely a gem to work with. She reviewed our documents and advised that plans were not finalized or registered with the city yet and we had a very short time left to add this side door in and that construction has given the go ahead for it. We happily went in a signed the paperwork. During this time we found out we had options of different main and second floor designs and we selected the ones we wanted. We would have never known about these if we had not met Anna. Mind you these were extra $$$ but we were happy with being able to select what we wanted.

Fast forward to our structural appointment. Décor studio requested we give them a design for a finished basement that we wanted (builder is finishing the basement btw as part of the sale price). My father who is an architectural engineer, drew up the design and we added 2 windows to the basement. This was approved by construction and we were called in to sign the paperwork for the work to start. We go in and our submitted and accepted plans are on the table ready to go. We request a wall to be added to divide the dining room and the kitchen. We wanted an opening on the right side but were told that is not possible and the builder will not do it. We accept the opening on the left side even though it would make the room look silly but with no other choice, cost was about $30k and we signed the paperwork, happy and content that things are finally going the right way some what.

Couple days later, drive by the property with my family and we were devastated to learn that they forgot to put in the 2 extra windows in the basement. Actually to correct myself, they put in 1 extra window, wrong size, wrong location. Then we speak to another owner whose house in 80% completed with drywall and he shows us his main floor. Guess what!? they also built a wall between the dining room and kitchen with the opening on the right side. Just like what we requested but were told it is not possible and the builder will not do it! SO FRUSTRATING! I email them right away and here we are a week and multiple email/calls later and all I have received for them is for me to be patient while they figure it out.

My trust in this company is an all time low and more importantly we are afraid to see what will happen next. We feel like we are now in the dark and in the next couple of days the wood frames will start going up and not sure what will get built compared to what we selected.

Anybody from the Country Homes wants to chat and make this right, we are all ears. This is an easy way to turn around a customer's experience. 1 customer's experience may mean nothing but I will definitely think twice about doing business with Country Homes again and as of right now and I can not confidently recommend Country Homes to my peers or clients in real estate.

Approximate cost of services:
$120,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Umar, this is Christian. I would be happy to chat with you to resolve these frustrations. Please contact our office and ask for me. Thank you for sharing this with us and would love to work on rebuilding your trust with us.

Have a wonderful day, talk soon.

The Rohan Family in Milton
The Rohan Family in Milton
0 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Just Moved In - AMAZING TEAM!!!!!!

Our family is so blessed to move into our new home in Milton! The entire experience has been second to none. From the time we purchased at the sales office to the recent service call after we moved in. We had a small issue with our bathroom and Anthony and his team were so helpful and fixed our issue right away. They were so fantastic and tidy which was great to see considering we still have dirt roads. We highly recommend anyone who is looking to purchase a home in Milton to make sure you stop by their sales offices. YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID!!!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,200,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Rohan Family for the kind words! We are grateful to have such an amazing team building your home! We appreciate your sharing your experience here.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Great Experience Overall

Just wanted to thank Country Homes (Milton) for a great experience ... from trades to service to Sophie and a special thanks to Anthony (the site supervisor) for answering all our questions and helping us along the way. Would definitely recommend this builder!

P.S. Country Homes .. make sure you don't lose these talented employees .. they are awesome!

Approximate cost of services:
$950,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for the beautiful words. way to go Country Homes team!

warm regards,

Anthony Rinomato

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
0/10

Poorest Customer Service

Purchased a home from Country homes at their west country release. All of the bells and whistles provided - stone counter tops finished basement, etc. However, as with any new home there are things that are missed and need to be touched up and/or fixed. They failed to notify us that the layout of one of the floors has changed which seems ridiculous. But, the workers that came to do the touch ups and what not were great, polite and respectful. The superintendent of the worksite Anthony is a hot head that shouldn't be put in front of customers if it can be avoided, he yells and raises his voice in an aggressive tone to homebuyers that are expressing their anger and frustrations. Interactions with him alone turned me off of the Country home brand altogether. When issues were brought forward to him, he was not understanding of empathetic in any way. He is not able to understand the customer side of the business.

Approximate cost of services:
$740,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for the thoughtful words. I would like to discuss with you your concerns.

Anthony Rinomato - anthony@countryhomes.ca

Khan Family in Milton
Khan Family in Milton
1 review Milton, ON
9/10

New home

We were quite stressed out in search for a home for ourselves in Milton. We met with Audrey Massey at Country Homes Sales Center. She understood our situation straightaway , and explained everything that could enable us purchase our home. She was absolutely wonderful to work with. We were really sold by how consistently respectful and professional she was throughout the process. Her calm and easygoing personality makes her extremely approachable so we didn't have any problem in contacting her and asking questions. In few instances, she went out her way to help us. She seemed to genuinely care and wanted us to have a good experience. We were really lucky to have met her at Country Homes!
Site supervisor Anthony and his team have been tremendous support throughout. Overall, our experience with Country Homes was great and we would always recommend them to family and friends.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,200,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there Khan family! On behalf of everyone here at Country Homes, we want to say thank you! Happy to be able to give you guys such a great experience

smona_s
smona_s
0 reviews Milton, ON
9/10

Was nice

Work is not bad .. needs to be more flawless ..
But Lisa from customer was wonderful, everytime I called she was nice and helpful . I love her customer service

Approximate cost of services:
$890,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for the kind words. please let us know if there is anything you need

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Country Homes Ltd.

Country Homes has been building homes for Canadian families across the Greater Toronto Area for over 50 years. We have been honored with a Master Builder Award from the Residential Construction Council of Central Ontario (RESCON) for our excellent product quality and outstanding customer service as well as Tarion finalists for the Award of Excellence.

CATEGORIES
Builders
PRODUCTS
Single Homes, Semi-Attached Homes, Townhomes, and Mid-Rise Condominiums
STYLES
Modern, Classic, Contemporary, and Elite
SPECIALITIES
Specializing in Building Residential Communities
WEBSITE
http://www.countryhomes.ca/
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.