A Mc Kenna Plumbing Of Oakville

Plumbing
OAKVILLE ON L6M5A3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Plumbing
A Mc Kenna Plumbing Of Oakville
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

71%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for A Mc Kenna Plumbing Of Oakville

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (114 reviews)

Sort by

Jermonty
Jermonty
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

to McKenna ... customers = suckers

In Short - Mckenna agreed to to a job - informed next day that they failed. Response to taking $630 from customer to ZERO benefit of customer was not to come back and fix problem they have already been paid for but to create a new job. This new job involves fixing problem but also replacing many parts and doing work that does not need to be done -- and to over charge again - likely another $600 when all done.

Backstory - Kitchen sink drain piping clogged with grease. McKenna wanted to replace all piping from sink to stack but i have a finished basement ceiling and did not want to cut holes in it.
McKenna agreed to cut ABS pipe in furnace room and clean out the grease clog.
McKenna -- They failed. While sink drained better when they were on site to the point I paid the crazy $560 plus tax bill - the 1st use of sink that night led to exactly the same problem. I called Mark to say the sink clogged on first use and his response was not one of surprise or remorse. When asked what he is going to do about it he quoted me a new job of replacing pipe in ceiling AND the piping under the sink ( the P-trap piping ). I said there is nothing wrong with piping under sink and he said he would not do it any other way - price $400 plus materials. This quote means little as it gives him the opening to massively over charge for materials - I would guess the job to be another $600 and the idea of paying McKenna even more money was, frankly, revolting.
I ended up cutting the pipe myself and with the 1st hand sight of what NOT to do have watched them ( they ran water from sink to open pipe in basement creating a huge wet greasy stinking mess in basement conntainers that i supplied, then tried jamming a hard plastic hose in the ABS piping. Other plumbers have laughed when told they did this. ) , I tried it myself - used better tools i was able to pull all the grease out of the pipe. Sink drains fine for 3 weeks now.
Note - Mark ( owner ) showed up on site 15 mins after 1st guy, never introduced himself and didn't say goodbye. He showed zero concern that the job he had been paid for was a complete failure. And his response to this was to over-charge for another job - most of which was not needed..
This line direct from the McKenna website .....
"Often times customers are left with a feeling that they have been 'had'. "
So true -- I feel like I have been "had" ... of course they are suggesting this applies to everyone else. What a joke ......

Approximate cost of services:
$630.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

sum pump

warning !!!!
the sum pump installed by Mc Kenna Plumping of Oakville in my house never found working ,
they installed it in 8 month ago in August 2021 . today , when I called them and complained for not working of the sum pump ,they before trying to understand that this their device failure , just keep going asking for service fee . the device I purchased from them has 5 years parts warranty and 1 year labour warranty .
Despite these fact , they hang up the phone and told that not willing to continue and refused coming for a look for troubleshooting .

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Kevin in Bobcaygeon
Kevin in Bobcaygeon
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Plumbing Issue Toilet

Called this company to unblock a toilet and hopefully have them diagnose if there was a more serious problem since we had ceiling damage in the kitchen below the upstairs bathroom. One of the two plumbers who came tried to unblock the toilet with a snake, the other stayed in the truck. He was not successful and suggested it was probably the toilet and that they would come back tomorrow to replace it. Not sure how they knew it was the toilet that was the problem just from looking at it, he did not even try to remove it to inspect the seal. It was apparent I was a fit in project, when I called back to cancel the appointment for tomorrow, he asked me why, I told him and he hung up on me. Speaks volumes.

Approximate cost of services:
$168.00
Was this review helpful?
Olivia B
Olivia B
5 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Quality install on a water pressure regulator

After moving into our new home, it was clear that we had very high water pressure. Funny that you'd think this would be an issue, but it was causing pipes to rattle, and we were concerned with issues down the road, plus, just overall water waste. Therefore, after some research we decided to reach out to get a water pressure regulator installed. We wanted to go with someone local and were pleased with the service from A McKenna. 2 servicemen came out to inspect the situation and were able to do an install same day. Was it super cheap? No. But it was quality, and when it comes to something as important as your home's plumbing, and installing a brand new pipe and regulator, you kind of want to ensure you're getting the best possible quality there is. Thanks team!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Andy Nicholls in Oakville
Andy Nicholls in Oakville
4 reviews Oakville, ON
8/10

Evacuation pump replacement

I paid this company to replace a evacuation pump that was original to the house. They came right away and had to replace the pump. Now my basement is dry

Approximate cost of services:
$1,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Nancy T.
Nancy T.
3 reviews Oakville, ON
1/10

Women beware to get a price up front!

Get a quote up front! As a woman, I felt taken advantage of by the team who came to the house to snake our kitchen drain. After the ten short minutes it took them to complete the work, they asked me if I had been given a quote. They were quick to tell me that it was a whopping $400! When I told them that I didn't think I had that much cash on hand, they offered to follow me to the bank machine?!? That did not seem safe to me. As it turns out, I had enough cash, but they wouldn't give me a receipt. I would not trust this company, especially if you are a woman.

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Menezes
Menezes
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Horrible Company - DO NOT USE

A little bit of back story to show you how they take advantage of situations and overcharge their customers. Avoid these guys at all costs. I will never call them again, and will make sure to tell everyone I know not to use them.

Back Story - On Wednesday we had noticed that our garburator was clogging up, and thought something was stuck either in the garburator or in the pipes. I took apart the pipes from the garburator that lead into the wall and turns out the garburator is fine, and the clog is deep in the pipes. The water was draining in the pipes, but very slowly. We tried Draino to see if it would make a difference & nothing changed. I tried to use a manual auger for about 10 minutes, but that too wasn't able to make a difference. At this point, I didn't know what else to do.

My dad called "A Mckenna Plumbing" to take a look & hopefully fix our clogged kitchen sink.
He was at home initially, then left and I (his son was there to complete the service)
When they arrived, they were able to rather quickly start working since I had already taken apart the pipes, they could see the water level was draining slowly. They wanted to see where the pipes were to see if they could cut out the clogged pipes and replace it with new ones. Unfortunately due to mold in the basement, they couldn't do that.
Therefore they spent the majority of their time using a powered auger to clear the drain. All they did was place the auger down the drain and turn it on, pull it out, and continue the process unless the water started to flow down the pipes.

They spent 1 hour and 15 minutes at our house & during this time, most of it was spent using a powered auger to clear the block.

When they were finished they packed up their stuff, put the pipes back together and went into their van, sat there for about 5 mins and one of the two men came back into the house and told me that they were able to clear the drain and it was probably about 85% clear at this point. They could not provide any sort of warranty on the call, since they didn’t really replace anything, it was all just labour so they scratched out the “warranty” section. He told me the price was $749 plus tax for this call. I was surprised, but I was under the impression it was a predetermined price they had discussed with my dad. I paid it and they left. I called my dad informed him about the total and he was SHOCKED. Obviously they had not discussed the price & I didn’t know any better.

My dad called Mark Mckenna back to ask why it costed $846(with tax) for one hour and fifteen minutes of labour to use a powered auger where no parts were replaced or paid for at this visit. He said he would call the men who came to the service call and get back to us. That was on December 14th. It is now December 18th and we have not heard back from Mark about the overcharging on this service call.

We explained the situation to other plumbers/plumbing companies and also explained the work that was completed, they all said it would be in the range of $300-$600 based on the job done. At the low end they overcharged us $246 dollars, at the high end they overcharged us $546.
I have spent 30 minutes writing this review, because I hope that everyone else stay FAR FAR AWAY from this company.

If they contact my father and try to rectify this situation, I will update the post accordingly.

Approximate cost of services:
$846.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry if you were not happy with the service, our price is and was fair. We send two people in our trucks because we have several jobs to do in one day. As far as the reviews below are concerned, you read them before you hired us. I guess at the end of the day everyone has an agenda. In today's world if you are not happy with the price and service you agreed to. You write a untrue review

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

Total lack of integrity

Told me we had a collapsed pipe after charging $1000+ and that floor had to be dug up.Roto Rooter fixed problem (no collapsed pipe) for $300 McKenna told me he would reverse Visa charge after video of clear pipe Now refuses to answer phone messages.In fact hangs up when I call Small claims is only action left

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sandra Daniels from Oakville
Sandra Daniels from Oakville
2 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Knowledgeable, professional and courteous

We had water dripping through our 2nd floor ceiling from the area of the 3rd floor jacuzzi, seemingly due to a leaking cold tap. The McKenna guys explained in advance what needed to be done, and managed to remove the tiles without damaging them. Unfortunately, dripping started within the hour after they replaced the taps and left, because of a secondary issue with a cracked pipe under the jacuzzi. They returned within the hour and this time there was no alternative but to cut through the 2nd floor ceiling to find and address the issue. We appreciated the care they took, their expertise and knowledge, and the clean-up afterwards. They were very courteous and professional; we would not hesitate to recommend or call them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Mj in Oakville
Mj in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
1/10

Bathroom faucet

The plumber charged me $200 to just diagose that the cartridge needed replacement and then quoted me another $100 to replace it. $300 to replace a cartridge is outrageous!! The prices are not reasonable at all!

Update: This company had charged me $200 saying $90 was for service call and the rest would be adjusted when they come to replace the cartridge. When I called them today to book a time because I received the replacement part the owner told me “Lady you are crazy if you think, I’ll finish the job after you gave me a bad review”. Please note the only reason I called the company again was because they OWE me $100, otherwise I would have never called them again. I told him that’s completely fine just give me the $100 back becUse you’re refusing to do the job - in response again he told me that I’m crazy! I informed him that I’m going to update my review to say you’re refusing true job or my refund and he said “If you do that, I’m going to sue you and I have a lot more money than you do!” So here I am updating my review, everything I have written are pure facts, so if you want to sue me, please go right ahead. I wish I had read other reviews below where this company did the same thing to other customers and never got involved with them in the first place.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Private User,

Thanks for the review. Unfortunately our cost for two Men and a Truck is what it is. We are a small Family Run business but we still have overhead to cover. Getting quotes from Kijiji Plumbers or a Handyman who works out of his garage is not something we can or will compete with. Please keep in mind, the fact you have the cartridges for your faucet was a much cheaper option than replacing the faucets totally. The fact remains we are Professionals and people hire us because of that. Please also keep in mind our Warranty is a solid guarantee that we will stand behind. For anyone reading this review. If you are looking for the cheapest Plumber option we are not your Company. If you are looking for Competent and reliable please give us a call

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about A Mc Kenna Plumbing Of Oakville

Hello, My name is Mark Mckenna owner of A Mckenna Plumbing Ltd. Since 2001 I have been serving Oakville and surrounding area. When I first started this business I was very worried that I would not be able to compete with the larger Franchised Plumbing Companies. Over the last 10 ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Plumbing pros in Oakville?