One Call Reno

Basement Renovation
59 Alness Street Toronto ON M3J
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for One Call Reno

Average customer rating:
9 10 (47 reviews)

Sort by

Mafalda in Toronto
Mafalda in Toronto
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Bathrooms and Bedroom

I found One Call Reno simply by searching Marketplace on Facebook. Mark called me the next day to schedule an appointment to go over what I wanted to do.
From the first visit, even though I had more to talk to, for some reason I was inclined to give my project to Mark, and thank God I did!
The workmanship, the decor suggestions, the professionalism, ALL top notch!
I confess I was a bit shocked when I learned that to do 3 bathrooms, one bedroom floor and painting, the whole crew was one guy, Mike. But let me tell you that Mike impressed all of us at home!!! He is accurate, fast, professional and super knowledgeable in everything he does!! For all that, took this one man crew 3 weeks to complete everything, and no flaws to point out.
Thank you Mark and Mike for a job well done, and I am sure we will be connecting again soon for my next project!
A SUPER BIG THANK YOU!
Carlos and Mafalda Guerra

Was this review helpful?
Solomon in Toronto, Ontario
Solomon in Toronto, Ontario
3 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

shower retiling

We hired One Call Reno to retile our steam shower. The work entailed removing the existing tiles and installing client supplied tiles and a client supplied stone jamb to the shower curb.

Our contract called for the walls and ceiling to have 1/2” moisture resistant drywall, painted with a waterproof membrane. Without consulting us, this contractor used DensShield drywall without applying a waterproof paint membrane.

Michael, the tiler, was good and he left the premises in a clean condition every day. He doesn’t speak english and this did pose a problem as we had to reach Mark by phone for any communication. The the call-backs from Mark were not always prompt and on at least two occasions no call back at all.

The glass door, transom above the door and side glass were to be removed and reinstalled if the side glass would fit. If it didn’t we would have to order a new side glass at our expense. Everything did fit but Michael installed the door without the bottom seal and this caused a gap between the door and the transom.

This posed 2 problems. Since this is a steam shower the bottom of the transom and top of the door must be aligned to prevent steam escaping and without a bottom seal on the door, water leakage becomes a problem.

Mark tried to excuse this by saying that the bottom seal to the door crumbled and fell apart and so Michael decided to install it without a bottom seal. Once again, we were never consulted on this or asked to purchase a new bottom door sweep. Instead the door was lowered creating the above mentioned gap. Unfortunately, we paid Mark in cash before the shower door was installed and had no recourse.

Mark told us to call a glass person to rectify the situation. We did and were told that there was no way to install a sweep without removing the door and reinstalling the door hinges at a higher level. This would mean that we would have holes in our newly installed tiles that would have to be filled. When we called Mark with this news he refused to accept any responsibility and said that he would reinstall the door but we would have to pay for 1/2 day labour for this service. We refused and are having another firm look after this.

When we deducted $70 for cost of client supplied grout and L trim, Mark insisted that this was to be customer supplied even though our contract stipulated “all tile to be grout” and “supply and install tile edging”. Rather than argue we paid him the extra $70.

This review is not based on personal emotions towards Mark or his employees. As we mentioned Michael’s work was good except for his failure to install the shower door properly. However their motto of DO IT ONCE DO IT RIGHT looks good on paper but is not followed through in real life.

Since the original review was posted, Mark told the glass person not to do the work for us because we didn't give him a positive review. we therefore had no choice but to downgrade his review to 0.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Solomon,

Thank you for choosing One Call Reno. We appreciate your business but your review is quite disappointing. We upgraded the drywall to a concrete board which was more costly. The point of contact is the company and not the employees, the work looks great and when it came time for payment you tried to discount the contract total by $70 so you can give a tip to our employee even though we were already $1000 less then your lowest quote. Our workers complained that you were always standing over their shoulder and not allowing them to work efficiently. You were full aware that your custom glass might not fit back perfectly and when the time for the glass it was one small section that needed to be replaced not the whole unit so we did save you a ton of money there. We also moved your steam shower at no additional charge.

Sol, your back to back phone calls (7 in a row each time) were always returned within 10 minutes. If there was an emergency our on site foreman would call us. We then sent you our custom glass company for you to work directly with as we did not want to work with you any longer.

Sol, if there is any trouble with the work that we have done we offer a full warranty and would be happy to assist you with any concerns you may have that pertain to our quality of work. We would appreciate an honest review of what we have done and not of your personal emotions towards our employees.

Best Regards,

The One Call Reno Team

Jorge in Toronto
Jorge in Toronto
1 review , ON
10/10

2.5 bathrooms and Kitchen

I cannot say enough good things about One Call Reno. Mark the owner and his staff are not only professional and courteous, they also do an amazing, totally amazing job. Mark is a contractor that really cares about his customers and wants us to be very happy with the job and the service.

I would highly recommend One Call Reno!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jorge,

Thank you for choosing One Call Reno. It was such a pleasure to work with you and Liz. You guys are such wonderful people and thank you for all the referrals and support during the covid days. We cannot say enough about how nice you guys are. Thank you a million times.

The One Call Reno Team

Saleh
Saleh
0 reviews North York, ON
4/10

Windows Warranty

We were very happy when OneReno replaced 14 windows 9 years ago. They deserved 5/5. When I asked them now to honour their Lifetime warranty to fix some problems, they never responded. I can't do it myself because it requires their own special parts.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
10/10

Basement Bathroom

We have added a 3 pieces bathroom in our basement and we are very satisfied with the professionalism of this contractor. The installation included a shower enclosure with its base, a toilet with associated plumbing. The bathroom floor was raised by 1 1/2" to match the basement floor level and Mike did a fantastic job in laying out all the floor tiles and wall tiles in the shower. All that within one week at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful?
anaqdiwala from Markham
anaqdiwala from Markham
1 review Pickering, ON
0/10

Basement Renovation

I would like to withdraw my comments and would not recommend this company to anyone. Please engage this company at your own risk. I have had to redo a number of things after they completed my basement renovations.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr. Nadiqwala we are very sorry to see this review from you after you gave us a 10/10. Any issues that you may have had we were more than happy to rectify. If there is anything that we can do for you to make you satisfied once again we would do whatever it takes. Unfortunately when you did ask us to do extra work you didn't want to pay anything extra like dry walling your furnace room. So we couldn't not do it for free. I hope you understand. However if there is anything else we could do for you please let us know. Thank you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement reno

After researching a number of companies we chose One Call RENO to undertake a complete renovation of our basement and we are very pleased with our choice of contractor. Owner Mark Ginzburg assigned the project to Octavian who personally did the major portion of the work. The quality of the work was truly outstanding and the level of cooperation that we received from Mark and Octavian made the project a pleasant experience. It's been almost a year since the project was completed and we have not had a single complaint. We still marvel how Mark and Octavian transformed wasted space into beautiful usable living space. There always is a degree of apprehension in choosing a contractor especially for major work. One Call RENO was a good choice for us. Mark delivered on everything that he promised.

Was this review helpful?
Troy sasso from Whitby
Troy sasso from Whitby
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Landscaping

I am very happy with the landscaping job. The crew was super friendly and professional. They have added curb side appeal and great value to my house, I'm happy.

Job ran about a week past schedule due to rain, they were super apologetic about it and handled it well. Good communication.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Manish from Markham
Manish from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Basement renovation

Mark and his team did a great job with our basement. I was not only impressed with the quality of work but also how he completed the project well within the timelines he committed. I got my basement fully finished one week before I was expecting. Throughout the project, Mark and his team were willing to accommodate any requests or changes and was impressed with the quality of material that was used. I have already recommended One Call Reno to one of my friends who is now getting his basement finished through them as well. I will certainly recommend Mark for any of your home projects.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Georgina Kucs from Brampton
Georgina Kucs from Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation/Hardwood Floors

The company was very helpful and gave us the place where to pick out our tiles . They worked very cleanly to save our carpets, and furnishings. If we have more renovations we will probably call them again.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about One Call Reno

At One Call Reno Window and Door, our products are 100% Canadian made. Our products are particularly equipped to withstand the elements in Canada's climate zones. We have a large selection of window styles available. Just ask your One Call Reno factory consultant about a FREE in-home consultation. Located in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Basement Renovation pros in Markham?