A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd

Fences & Gates
Markham ON L6B 0E8
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Fences & Gates
A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2018 winnerBest of 2018winner

Reviews for A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (57 reviews)

Sort by

Melissa
Melissa
2 reviews Mount Albert, ON
10/10

fence

I met and received quotes from several fence companies and no one compared to The professionalism and care of A.D. Holmes Fence and Deck. They listened to the specific details that we wanted with our fence, pergola and deck and completed the project with no issues.We have now used A.D. Holmes Fence and Deck for several jobs at our Home as well as at our cottage and would and have highly recommended them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are very appreciative of all our repeat customers
Thank you so much for your buisness

Mark in Markham
Mark in Markham
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Fence

I called AD Holmes as I received them as a referral from a friend. From beginning to end, Andrew & Derek were professional, knowledgeable, punctual and efficient. My fence looks amazing and it was at a competitive price. I would highly recommend AD Holmes to everyone I know needing a fence or deck!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review Mark.

Jeremy in Markham
Jeremy in Markham
1 review Simcoe County, ON
10/10

Fence construction

We called several companies asking for a quote on a fence around our backyard. After contacting A.D. asking for a quote/inspection, we were assured that although several trees and a garden were in the way and obstructing the fence line, it wouldn't affect the quoted price or estimation.

Part of the garden had (understandably) been trampled to remove the existing fence, but the quarantined section had remained untouched, per their word. On top of that, they finished a day earlier than the estimate.

A few times it took them a day or two to get back to me, but they were always polite and professional. I have since recommended them to several friends of mine.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the positive feed back and we will try better to respond to customers calls by the end of each day

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Fence replacement

I called Derek the owner to discuss renovating my old fence, he set a date to show up withen a reasonable time (around 2 weeks from when I called) they put new posts and left barely any mess and then built the new fence a few days later. My old Fence was falling over and was an eye sore, the new one looks great and was done for a good price I was very satisfied with ad Holmes

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Glad to be of service to you and your family. Thanks for the great review

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
1/10

Fences

After hearing review about this company I thought it would be worth giving a call to get a quote. I called Derek (the owner ) and he asked which area I resided in and I told him and he left letters on every ones door setting up a meeting in my back yard . First off, he sets a time and shows up late. Secondly he sends his guys to do the fences 2 months later and they leave wood dust all over my bbq and near my back door. I called me and asked for his workers to clean it up and they did. When they completed my fences I noticed the workers garbage in my back yard which I found very disrectful for littering in my yard. Also the fences have spaces in between and I can see my Neighbours back yard. I called Derek and left a message and he hasn't retuned my call and I don't think he'll call back since he got my business but I highly recommend no calling this company.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Aurora, ON
6/10

Neighbourhood Fence

The fence was put up about two weeks ago and I noticed couple of the panels are either crack from top to bottom or bend right after they finished. I've contacted Derek regarding replacing couple of the panels and two posts need to be filled up. Got no answer. Spoke with his brother Andrew when he picked up payment, I was told to text or email them in two weeks since they're still working in the neighbourhood and they will come to replace the panels. I'm satisfied when they kept their words about coming to fix the issues after they had your money.

Review has 1 previous version
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The fence was done a few weeks ago and we said we would be there in a couple weeks to fix the couple cracked fence boards you wanted changed and to contact us when we could come so we wouldn't let ourselves in your backyard. Yesterday you emailed us and called the office Asking us to do it by the end of THIS week.I spoke with you through text this morning and told you we could be there this Friday and we could change out those few fence boards and add some dirt to the 2 posts.
That was today at 12:03pm now at 1:30pm you are giving us a 0 out of the 10 review saying that we are ignoring you and that you can't get a hold of us???
I'm sorry you feel that you have been ignored but I don't think that a review of 0 out of 10 is fair since you didn't even let us fix the issues by the date we agreed upon
Regardless we will still be there on Friday to change the few cracked fence boards and add two shovels full of dirt around the posts

R K in Thornhill
R K in Thornhill
6 reviews Thornhill, ON

First Review

8/10

Deck

I hired A. D. Holmes to buld my deck, I interviewed a couple of company,
Andrew at A.D. Holmes gave me a competitive price, he didn't ask for a deposit, and gave me good advice about the shape of the deck it took a couple of days to completed, we are enjoying it in the summer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd

WHAT WE DO
We at A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd. provide home owners and business owners with an affordable, quality deck and fence service within the Regional Municipalities or York and Durham.

Decks, from practical to spectacular
Wood Fences both functional and appealing
Chain LInk Fences for security
Wrought iron fences
Arbours
pool enclosures
removals, disposals and repairs

WHAT WE OFFER
Years of Experience
$2,000,000 Liability Insurance
Free Quotations
The job done right the first time and on time
Quality Assurance

CATEGORIES
Fences & Gates and Decks
SERVICES
Decks, from practical to spectacular Wood Fences both functional and appealing Chain LInk Fences for security Wrought iron fences Arbours pool enclosures removals, disposals and repairs
WEBSITE
http://adholmesfenceanddeck.com/
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.