Tesla Construction Ltd

Cabinetry & Millwork
245174-245258 Range Road 33 Calgary AB T3Z1L1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Alison in Alberta
Alison in Alberta
0 reviews Cochrane, AB

2019 Kitchen Renovation

Tesla / Boban, was the subcontracted by our general contractor. We had our own designer and provided blue prints. The first visit was a red flag but missed it-immediately we were being pressured to sign off on Boban's drawings, the day I received them, with little to no time to get my designers' input. When he brought samples to the contractor meeting they were pdf. I had lived 15 years with a builders' grade kitchen where the MDF was falling apart, doors and drawer faces gorilla glued etc. I did not want MDF. He was actually quite rude and off putting, so I'm not sure where the old country charm comes in from previous reviews. Our contractor corrected the miscommunication as far as doors and faces, but then the boxes were MDF. I objected but the boxes were done, and he assured me that MDF was a better product now. Attached is a picture of the fourth drawer face that has come off in crumbles after just over two years. When it happens I call/text my general contractor who sends me to Boban, who says he will fix it if I bring the drawer/door in. We have had to replace three hinges so far, and my husband, has and will again, 'gorrilla glue' the MDF in. We live in Cochrane and Boban is in Springbank. He complained bitterly about the travel time and delays, explaining he has to pay an assistant to come out and work with him. Delays were mostly due to his super tight timeline and when the other contractors had a part they had to wait for, and the fridge installation by a couple of hours, he was thrown off for days. We picked out a stain from a 2x3 inch sample, for the lower cabinets. When it came in on the lower cabinets it was not as dark as we wanted. That was a whole thing too, and it was more about accommodating Boban's timeline than my dream kitchen. The main thing is that now its two years later, the MDF I never wanted, is making me so disappointed that I didn't push back harder. I once again have doors/shelves falling to pieces.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear that but with all due respect, we completed project successfully 3 years ago and there is no complaints or defects. Based on the picture you send; this is not issue of craftsmanship but is breakage due of forced use. You hired our service through a general contractor and all was completed in core with your original requirements. You are offered option to have hinge replaced even after warranty was expired, at our cost. All used material were requested and approved by the general contractor. Also, in my quote I allowed 1 free sample of color. I made 4 samples and 3 were newer paid by contractor or owner.

Here is Link of my original estimate (without price) where it state what material I will use, and it was approved by contractor and owner.