The Roof Whisperer

Roofing
11 Shallmar Blvd, suite 705 Toronto ON M5N 1J6
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Roofing
The Roof Whisperer
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 3 timesBest of 2021winner 3 times

Reviews for The Roof Whisperer

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (378 reviews)

Sort by

Ivar in Toronto
Ivar in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Roof repairs and replacement

We have used The Roof Whisperer in the past for repairs we needed on our roof after wind damage and were equally pleased with them when they did a full roof replacement for us. They were timely, courteous and I was clearly explained the process. They use a higher quality product across the board and it has lead to a roof that I am sure we will get extra years out of.

Approximate cost of services:
$14,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ivar;

So pleased that you contacted our company to do your entire roof. We aim to please the homeowner with the quality of our product and service. Your time writing this review is appreciated. Thank you.

The Roof Whisperer Team

Karri
Karri
9 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Roof leak

Our roof started leaking into our kitchen on a day of heavy rain. I called The Roof Whisperer who sent Arthur over the next day to inspect the roof and provide us with a quote. He was friendly, polite and efficient. He quickly figured it was the fasteners for our pool solar panel system up on the roof that were causing the issue, explained what they'd do to fix it, said that a crew could come over the next day to fix it, and provided the quote. Next day the crew came and fixed the issue in just a couple of hours. I was happy with the service and glad it didn't turn out to be anything bigger.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Karri;

Thank you for calling our company and us being able to assist you. Please keep us in mind if any other roofing need arises.

The Roof Whisperer Team

teresa nairne in Toronto
teresa nairne in Toronto
8 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Fixing Eavestroughs and Downspouts

Unfortunately for us, we had a horrible experience with the contractor that did the renovation in our house. As a result, we were left with many things that needed to be fixed; among them, a section of our house's eavestroughs and downspouts. This is, as you may understand, an small job (in comparison with bigger jobs) and it was very difficult to find a contractor that would care to fit us in their schedule. Thanks to God, Arthur, Flori and Jane got back to us and now, the problem - that could have ended becoming a "big" problem if not addressed- is resolved. We definitively do recommend The Roof Whisperer. They do "care" and their work is the one that you would expect from great professionals. Thank you to all of you!!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,446.40
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Teresa;

Thank you once again for having our company do your eaves and downspouts. We take pride in our work and try to make the customer happy.

The Roof Whisperer Team

Grimthorpe in Mississauga
Grimthorpe in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Great company

We replaced our old tar and gravel flat roof after Arthur wisely informed us it would not be possible to patch its leaks with accuracy. I appreciated his honestly and expertise in consultation -- these qualities can be rare to find in the roofing industry and are worth their weight in gold from the perspective of a home-owner. The project was a big one but The Roof Whisperer was up for the task, and did an excellent job replacing the new flat roof, removing a crumbling chimney and fixing a second one, and replacing the flashing on two skylights. It took a while but their crew kept a clean and orderly work site, and returning to address fine details with integrity.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We are honest in our work ethic and strive for the best possible job for the client.

The Roof Whisperer Team

AWCrone in Old Toronto
AWCrone in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Dishonest and Poor Workmanship

I used Roof Whisperer to replace a large broken skylight. I began experiencing leaks in surrounding ceiling not long afterwards. I had them come back and Arthur told me I needed an entirely new roof (in a 6 yr old house) They never got back to me with a quote and I had 2 other companies come in and look at our roof. All the reports were that our roof was of the utmost top quality and in fantastic condition but that the issue was that the skylight that had been installed was too large for the space and the Roof Whisperer had thrown in some crappy workmanship to hide this fact and we were getting tons of water leaking in through it. On top of that they installed a large, flat skylight on a flat roof, with no attempt to build a proper curb to create an angle so that the water would run off and not leave stains and dirt. Not only did they do a horrible job with the skylight install, but when I had them come back months later (not knowing any of this yet) to address my leaks Arthur tried to sell me on a 10 day job of a complete roof replacement that was in NO WAY NEEDED and also wouldn't have fixed their botched job to begin with!

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi AWCrone,
Thank you for your review. I apologize on behalf of everyone at The Roof Whisperer for your bad experience with us. We rely on our workers when it comes to their work and opinions. In your case, we had a bad apple in our crew. ILIR, fortunately, no longer works for us. He should have sloped the curb and ordered the skylight to fit in the opening. It could have been much better, more accessible and less work. Also, he did not thoroughly assess the rest of the roof. However, I should have come out personally and checked the work after completion. Lesson learnt. I offered to make it right free of charge, but I did not get a response.
I have to add also that I did my best to my knowledge to find and show you all deficiencies on the roof. The membrane and roof were six years old, but many things were wrong. I was there missing flashing on each side of the dormers in front. Three leaks were not related to the skylight at all. The membrane around the skylight was in good condition, and no way it was leaking there. One leak was in the bathroom in front of the house, where water was pooling on the flat roof. One leak was lined up with a damaged pipe stack where I could fit my hand through. The other leak was lined with pop-up nails and torn membrane 4 ft away from the skylight.
In no way was I trying to sell anything, and that is why I did not send a quote till you have other opinions.
I hope whoever fixed the roof or the skylight has managed to resolve all roof leaks.

GailB
GailB
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

Front of house replacement of shingles, waterproofing and new eaves troughing.

I believe this company did a very good job. They showed up on time, and were professional in all interactions. With the heavy rains and high winds we have had lately we experienced no issues or problems so it was very reassuring to know we had this work done.

Approximate cost of services:
$11,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi GailB;

Thank you for your review. We strive to do a good and professional job each and every time. We are pleased that you are happy about our work.

The Roof Whisperer Team

Jonathan in Toronto
Jonathan in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Avoid at all cost. Terrible experience

Worst experience ever! Stay away from Authur, replacement of my roof was delayed again and again, they finished half of roof and took them almost two weeks to come back and finish the other half. I can't get response for days and they forgot to replace one of the skylights. And tried to jam it on me by arguing it wasn't part of their quote, it took a number of angry emails before they came back to replace the skylight.

I can't believe they have so many positive ratings based on my experience. Maybe they have new staff or something. Either way, owners beware!

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jonathan,
I value honesty and telling the truth, and there are always two sides to the story. Firstly it did not take two weeks to come and finish the work, but it was a long weekend. We could not complete the work on Friday and come back on Wednesday. We had some cap shingles to put on and final clean up. Also, the quote says replacing two skylights and not 3. It is evident in the agreement where it says 2. Two were in the garage and the third one in the main house, which we talked about replacing with a roof since you did not need it at that time. I also was honest enough recommending not to replace the main house as it was in good condition even though you were doing a significant renovation. I could have easily told you to need a new roof as everyone else did. I replaced the skylight, not because of your offensive emails but because I did not want to believe that you are trying to take advantage of us. Also, in the end, you refused to pay even after numerous requests, and the job was completed. It gave me the impression you were trying to take advantage of when you did not pay your invoice.
Jonathan you need to chill out and be respectful to contractors! We work hard every day. I will not allow anyone to abuse us and our hard work!!

teresa nairne in Toronto
teresa nairne in Toronto
8 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Two second floor bathrooms vented to the exterior

We do thank Arthur and his team greatly for taking care of this issue for us.
Five years ago we had an extension done to our home and bit by bit we have been finding things that either were not tackled properly of were not tackled at all...One of them being the venting of our two second floor bathrooms to the exterior. We recently realized that they both were venting into the attic and that there was no connection to the exterior which could have caused a major problem (condensation etc...).
I have to say that nowadays, finding a contractor that gets back to you for, let's call them, "minor" issues is a "task" in itself so, we were not only pleased that Arthur got back to us but also because the job was done perfectly and because, for Arthur was not only matter of fixing this problem for us and "leave" he, actually pointed at yet another issue that needed to be addressed (one of our downspouts) of which we would have had no idea if it were not because Arthur showed it to us...
Arthur even took down a big branch of a tree that got caught in the latest wind storm we had in Toronto. The branch was so up high that we couldn't have been able to reach it...Arthur helped us also with this...
So, for anyone out there, Arthur and his team were great and so was Jean who will answer all your questions over the phone!!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Teresa;

It was a pleasure working with you. Thank you for your kind words. We do strive to do the best possible for our clients.

The Roof Whisperer Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Roof Whisperer

As a professional Toronto Roofing Contractor we offer our customers our dedication and experience in this competitive field.At The Roof Whisperer we are constantly keeping up with the newest and up to date technological advancements within ever changing construction industry, which allows us to offer our customers a wide variety of services to solve their problems and fit their budget. Our experts are fully trained not only in roofing methods and materials but also in the actual Occupational Health and Safety Standards, with many years of hands on experience and training making us one of the leading Roofing Companies in the GTA. Our company service includes inspection and assessment, consultation and recommendation of best options, materials and estimates that are tailored to the customers individual needs.

We can be at your home within 24 hours to assess your roof problem. So if the words Honest,Fair,Quality and Dedication mean anything to You, then The Roof Whisperer is for You!

BECAUSE WE ARE NOT INTERESTED IN JUST FIXING YOUR HOUSE, WE WANT TO HELP YOU IMPROVE YOUR HOME.

Check our website www.theroofwhisperer.ca or give us a call to book a roof assessment 647-979-5652

Our Services Include:
*Repair/Replacement for Flat Roofs, Shingle Roofs, Cedar Roofs, Slate Roofs
*Gutters & Eavestroughs
*Siding
*Roof Snow Removal
*Chimney Repair (Capping)
*Skylight Repair/Replacement
*Vent Repairs and Installation
*Roof Maintenance
*Inspection, Tune Up

CATEGORIES
Roofing and Skylight Installation & Repair
PRODUCTS
To book an assessment Call us at 647-979-5652
SERVICES
Flat Roof Repair/Replacement, Shingle Roof Repair/Replacement,Chimney Repair (Capping), Cedar Roof repair/Replacement,Slate Roof Repair/Replacement,Vent Repairs and Installation, Roof Maintenance,Inspection (Tune up)
BRANDS
VELUX,CertainTeed,Soprema,AirVent,Duraflo
SPECIALITIES
Skylight Replacement,Skylight Repair- we are Velux Certified installers, Flat Roof Repair and replacement
WEBSITE
http://theroofwhisperer.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2009
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa,MastercardCash,Cheque,Interac
LICENSES
Metro Licence B2179,Baumler Approved,Certainteed Shingle Master,Soprema PAQ'S Certified,Certified Ve
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB-Better Business Bureau Accredited
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Velux Skylights Certified Installer,SOPREMA PAQ
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
Leak Free roof starting at $499.00
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
100% Workmanship warranty guaranteed up to 10 years.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.