Am Group Of Companies

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
207 Exeter Road London ON N6L 1A4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winnerBest of 2020winner

Reviews for Am Group Of Companies

Average customer rating:
9 10 (327 reviews)

Sort by

Gy in Cambridge
Gy in Cambridge
1 review Cambridge, ON
0/10

Eave Trough Replacement

The eaves trough portion of the work was not too badly done however some of the routing caused flooding in my walkout based due to shortcuts taken during the installation ... the debris shielding (main reason for this project) was not assembled properly and in accordance with the OEM requirements. I provided feedback to the salesman and the site installers however both were ignored and improper installation continued despite my request to stop and explain how the work was going to be corrected. Extremely disappointed with the quality of this installation ... My attempts to contact the salesman has resulted in radio silence ...

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Lucan, ON
0/10

Siding and Door

Absolutely awful service. Contract dated March 28 2021. Incomplete and what was partially finished is poorly done. Every excuse has been used. Worker is sick, had an appt, supplies didn't arrive, weather. Still waiting for an update on when the job might be done. Save your time, money and aggravation and look for a professional company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, we are so sorry to hear about your frustrations! Our Chief Operating Officer would like to speak with you. Could you please give him a call at 519-803-7879.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Gravenhurst, ON
0/10

Roof Estimate

Received a roofing estimate July of 2021. I thought it was an offer to purchase my place. So the roof is 588 square feet to start, three roof vents and one plumbing stack boot needed. The roof is a gable design, very simple. Age of the structure is 10 years old and no leaks and one layer of shingles.The estimate came in at $10,000 plus HST. Industry standard seems to be $5 to $6 a square foot for a shingled roof. This is around $17 a square foot. Shop around and get some estimates is the point here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We understand that homeowners have many things to consider when embarking on a large project, such as a roof replacement, and we encourage potential customers to do their due diligence. We know that typically customers are looking for a fair price, but sometimes opting for the lowest bidder can often end in disaster. Some additional important items to consider include:

· All of our crew members are full-time, trained and certified employees.
· We are fully insured and have WSIB coverage.
· We have an A+ Better Business Bureau rating.
· We offer some of the best warranties in the business.
· We are the only Canadian roofing company to be recognized as an Owens Corning Platinum Preferred Contractor.
· We have been in business for more than 65 years and have strong industry partnerships, which helps to create the best long-term value for our customers.

Corinne in Mount Forest
Corinne in Mount Forest
0 reviews , ON
0/10

Bay windows and patio door

Although I do not agree with most of the commitments outlined on their website, I object particularly to the “Exceptional Customer Service” statement. Let me explain.
Late December 2020, my husband and I contracted the company (Collingwood office) to customize two bay windows and a patio door. Although the price tag was notably higher than some of your competitors, we felt it was justified by the quality of the products and the commitment we received from your salesman. Assuming everything went as planned, the windows were to be installed by the end of February, with the door following a couple of weeks later.
Shortly after the crew arrived on the scheduled date, we were made aware that they did not have the door. Nevertheless, we were happy to at least proceed with the windows (and did so, even though, they did not match the order - we were offered $1000 discount to have the windows installed anyway).
Back to the door now. After confirming with the office that the door was indeed not at the shop, we waited two more weeks for a reschedule, at which time, the crew confirmed that not only the height and length dimensions had been switched, but the door opened from the wrong side and the inside custom colour was applied to the outside. If praised on the number of mistakes one can make, this company would receive high praise!
Ok, as of mid-May, we had windows but no door. After a few calls, we received an email confirming that the new door was rush-ordered and should be in your shop by end of June.
We are now mid-July, and not only have we not received a door, the company is unable to provide an ETA!!!
Again, this company claims “Exceptional Customer Service” and “paramount” belief in communication.....but forget to mention the "black hole" ....

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re very sorry to hear that your experience has not matched your expectations, Corrine. Your feedback regarding coordination and communication is appreciated, as it helps us to improve.

We do acknowledge that, as with many construction projects, there have been a few hiccups along the way, however our managers and teams have worked efficiently and professionally to try to make it right for you. As you may know, the Covid-19 pandemic has created challenges for many industries and businesses. In particular, the construction industry has been hit with significant delays in production of some materials. As mentioned during your multiple conversations with our office, your replacement door has been ordered and we are working with the manufacturer to get a firm delivery date and as soon as we get that date, we will follow up with you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Belwood, ON
10/10

Roofing Pros

I was very impressed with the professionalism from sales, quote, Install, delivery and follow up. I liked the technical explanations so I fully understood what I was getting compared to the competitors. The speed of the whole project from start to finish was impressive. I would highly recommend this company to install your roof.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kincardine, ON
0/10

4 MONTHS LATER Did not want to honor signed contract

Well they estimated in Feb paid deposit 4 months did not even order materials (ENVIROSLATE) then told they did not want to do the shingling because of underquoting on price Very poor communication /job ethics BEWARE now in prime time I have to find another contractor Was not pleased with this company

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The Covid-19 pandemic has created challenges for many industries and businesses. In particular, the construction industry has been hit with significant price increases for both materials and labour. Unfortunately, in this case, we were unable to honour last year’s prices and the customer was not willing to move forward with the project, so we did refund his deposit. With more than six decades of experience, we take our reputation very seriously and we're very sorry that this customer’s experience didn’t match his expectations.

Gina in Owen Sound
Gina in Owen Sound
5 reviews Owen Sound, ON
10/10

Siding on my house

I would like to thank AM Group of Companies for the great job that was done on my home. I had siding installed on my house, garage and shed. They were polite, professional and made sure the property was left cleaned. I highly recommend this company to anyone looking for home renovations.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your feedback

Smk in Mississauga
Smk in Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Insulation

Upon finding out that i fall outside of the company's service area, I asked for some advice on insulation. And Andrew, their manager was very kind to impart his knowledge and and gave me objective advice despite that they would not be providing the service. My subsequent research also validated his advice. I am writing this to share my level of comfort with their service based on this experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the response

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews London, ON
10/10

Roofing repair

Wind damage removed many shingles. Made a call to AM and the next morning Edward was here to look at things. He did an evaluation and quick fix then worked with the insurance co. 3 says later the shingles were replaced.
Great quick service would call them again...

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback

Ted in Markdale
Ted in Markdale
1 review Markdale, ON
9/10

Attic insulation

We had AM give us a quote for adding additional insulation (to code) in our attic ( approx. 1500 sq ft). Larry came and did an assessment and provided us with a video display of the attic with problem areas (vents). He was very thorough and explained clearly what should be done. The installers came on a very cold day and completed the job in 3-4 hours.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your feedback

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Am Group Of Companies

AM Group of Companies has been in operation since 1956 and is a 3rd generation family business.

We stand behind our work with one of the best warranties in the business, 10 years. This is only possible as a result of three things: the use of premium products, good workmanship and careful inspection of completed work.

AM Group of Companies hires only skilled workers who are regularly educated on installation methods and new materials. Our corporate education programs apply to all facets of the business.

Proudly situated in Guelph, London, Owen Sound, Gravenhurst and Collingwood, our size and office geography allow us to deliver corporate-grade professionalism while maintaining top rate local customer service.

AM Group of Companies Services:
Commercial Roofing
Residential Roofing
Fiberglass Shingles, Metal Roof, Flat Roof, Cedar Shakes & Shingles, Composite Roofing, Inspire, Owens Corning, Enviroshake.
Eavestrough, Soffit, Fascia and other Aluminum work
Attic Insulation, Blown In Insulation
Skylights, Velux
Ventilation
Roof repair & replacement
Siding
Windows & Doors
Vinyl Windows
Entry Doors
Patio Doors

Contact us today for a Free, no obligation estimate.
1-877-281-6900

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service, Skylight Installation & Repair, Insulation, Roofing, and Gutters & Eavestroughs
PRODUCTS
Fiberglass Shingles, Cedar Shakes and Shingles, Synthetic Slate, Skylights, Soffit, Fascia, Eavestrough, Metal Roofs, Blown In Insulation, Vinyl Windows, Aluminum Clad Windows, Entry Door Systems, Patio Doors, French Doors
SERVICES
Roof replacement, Roof repair Eavestrough, Soffit, Fascia, Attic Insulation, Window replacement, Door replacement
BRANDS
Owen's Corning, CRC, IKO, Timberline, Velux, Inspire, Enviroshake, Vinylbilt
SPECIALITIES
Owen's Corning Platinum Preferred Contractor
WEBSITE
http://www.amgoc.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1956
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
200
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, Mastercard, Cheque, and Financing Available (o.a.c)
MEMBERSHIPS
Ontario Builders Association, London, Collingwood, Guelph, Owen Sound, Muskoka Builders Associations
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
10-25 Year Workmanship Warranties
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.