Penguin Basements

Basement Renovation
906 Magnetic Drive Toronto ON M3J 2C4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2021 winner 3 timesBest of 2021winner 3 times

Reviews for Penguin Basements

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (282 reviews)

Sort by

Daniela
Daniela
0 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Woodbridge Basement - great result!

We were impressed with the professionalism and attention to detail of the Penguin team. From signing the contract, picking our selections and executing the project our expectations were exceeded. Honorable mention to Robert (designer), Roderigo (Project Lead), Roberto (Framing/set up), Electrical (Brodie) and Justin and Vince for finishing. We appreciated the prompt communications and scheduling from Lisa. All of the tradespeople were easy to detail and addressed our questions.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Daniela! We are happy to hear your experience with Penguin has been so positive. We are constantly striving to improve every aspect of our business and the item we've focused on most recently thanks to Covid is timely communication. We'll share your kind words with the team. Enjoy your basement😃

V dos Santos
V dos Santos
4 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Basement Apartment

I would like to start by saying that Penguin Basements Inc is a unique company. This company performs and gets your job done. They have designers on staff, but I had a hybrid situation in which they assisted and put me in touch with the right designer to obtain proper permits for completion of my 2 bedroom basement apartment.

Their initial assessment showed where additional work was required although I did not really want to hear that I needed to spend more money, but it was the hard truth.

They have a team of professionals who are highly skilled in the required trades and their subcontractors are equally good.

We had some setbacks with a break-in over one weekend and they picked up and resolved the resulting problems without any hesitation.

As any project moves on, concerns and issues naturally arise. These were corrected in a timely manner and did not cause undue delays.

This company deserves to be in business and I have no hesitation in recommending them for your basement suite or just even a kitchen renovation (other work they did for me as well in another apartment).

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey V dos Santos, let us first begin by thanking you for the kind words😊 And may we continue by saying you are a unique customer. Not everyone wants to hear the truth. And far fewer understand that the renovation process, but it’s very nature, can encounter challenges along the way. We believe our team is one of the best in the business when it comes to rising to and meeting any challenge a job will throw up at them. It was a pleasure having you as a client, and we hope your tenants appreciate you as much as we do.

Basement
Basement
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Basement renovation

Penguin basements is a great company to do any renovation you have the workers are great very polite and respectful and they they work long and hard to finish my basement . We are so please with the difference in our basement from what it looked like so much better its amazing how they designed it and made it look bigger and brighter we are so pleased with there work that we have a nother project for them and thats my kitchen remodel cant wait for them to get started on it they are a great company and fair cost call penguin basements for your next project you wont be disappointed with there work its amazing

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation😊 We look forward to seeing you again soon. Enjoy your basement😃

DG
DG
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Fantastic Finished Basement in Orillia

I selected Penguin Basements after an online design consultation held over Zoom due to Covid. After meeting with several other basement renovation companies, Penguin stood out with their ability to create multiple designs on-the-fly and help us land up with a very practical and usable basement design which we want to be a flexible living & entertaining space. During the sales process, everything we were paying for was made clear and an easy to understand contract was sent out to us detailing everything we were getting. (The best part, there were no surprises or extra charges during the process)

Arranging Finance for the project through Sergei was a breeze and as soon as that was arranged, our project start date was scheduled in their brilliant app. I loved that I could see the start date and when everything would be done. I was very surprised that it was all scheduled to be completed within two weeks.

On Day 1, Roberto (our site manager and lead framer) arrived with his team to frame the basement. He confirmed I was happy with the plans, drew chalk lines and gave me the opportunity to stand in the space and ensure I was happy how the plans were transferred to reality...and I was very happy. The basement design was excellent! The best part of Day 1 was how the team put up plastic sheeting allow us to live unaffected in our safe bubble while the construction was ongoing - it kept the dust out and kept our family safe eliminating any risks of COVID (the team was also fully masked while on site). Our floors were also protected with special non-slip blue foam material.

The entire process was smooth with teams arriving on schedule and completing their work without any supervision or guidance necessary, executing on the plan as if they had done it 100 times before. Electrical and plumbing on day 2, boarding on day 3, taping and mudding, flooring and painting. Each team were specialists of their trade, came prepared with the basement plans, all the materials that they needed and expert advice when we needed to make a decision (such as where to place the light switches or LED downlights)

The two "issues" were a snowstorm on Tuesday which meant the trades couldn't get to us out in Orillia - this was swiftly handled by Lisa, our project coordinator. She let us know at 7.30am no one would be coming and by later that afternoon, most of the schedule was updated in the app and the project was back on track. The second was the toilet was broken in the box. We were informed by Justin a new toilet would need to be brought in, and that was done the next day without any fuss. The true test is how unexpected issues are solved as they always happen, and here Penguin scored full marks.

Each team cleaned up after their work, so the basement was a safe space to explore & show our kids the progress.

Two weeks and 1 day later (including cleaning!), the basement is complete and my only "punch list item" is a $2 piece of trim that was forgotten - I am highly impressed as I've never seen ANY contractor work as precisely and cleanly as the team who completed my basement.

Our basement is beautifully finished and the process was safe, convenient and super easy for us as homeowners. I am very detail oriented and difficult to please - but I would highly recommend Penguin Basements.

The following team members deserve special mention:

Guy (GM) - for being great to deal with during contracting and close out of the project

Lisa (Project Coordinator) - for quickly responding to my every question and keeping us informed about the schedule changes due to the snowstorm

Roberto (Site Manager) - for his friendly and charming nature, creating the bubble of protection blocking off the construction zone with heavy plastic sheeting and blue protective mats.

and the Electricians (both rough in and finishing) who were both great teams putting outlets in all the right spots and designing the LED Downlighter and switch placements perfectly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow. Thank you so much for talking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Believe us, when we say it is appreciated. We will be sure everyone you took the time to call out here sees this. Thanks again, and enjoy the basement.

M Chase
M Chase
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Basement renovation

We are happy with the finish product. The process despite being completed during COVID was very efficient and each of the trades were respectful about the COVID protocol
They made recommendations and provided good solutions when they saw anything that would make the final build better for us. Each day the team arrived early and stayed until needed to finish up their section of the job, to ensure the timelines were met
The process was completed in a month and everything we asked for was done to our specifications. Overall we had a good experience on our project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey M Chase, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad everything went smoothly despite COVID. Enjoy your basement😃

KPB
KPB
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Basement renovations and full bathroom

We are very excited to finally have a completed basement. I was wanting to finish the basement since we moved into the house 9 years ago. We called a few other people for quotes last summer, but we weren't completely satisfied with the staff. We were impressed with the salesperson that sold us the basement specs last summer. He used a laser pointer and gave us the specs and ideas for the basement right away. We decided right then to go to with Penguin Basements for the contract. I would recommend that anyone who is interested in finishing their basement contact Penguin for a quote. You won't be disappointed. Special shout out to the project leader, Vince, for personally taking care of our needs and our issues.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi KPB, seems like it was initially posted on Penguin Condo, and we needed the rep at HomeStars to ensure it appeared in the right place. Thank you for your kind words and recommendation😃 Vince is one of our best. Enjoy your basement and happy holidays to you and the family from all of us at Penguin.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Markham, ON
10/10

FIY Basement Reno

I went with Penguin basements because they offered the FIY, finish it yourself. This option is great for the do it yourselfers. All the trades were fantastic. A special shout out to the electrician for all the great suggestions and Vincent the site supervisor for making everything run so smoothly and every little detail was delivered.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are really glad to hear about your experience. Thank you for the appreciation and good luck with your Basement Finish😀

Byron in Toronto
Byron in Toronto
1 review Cambridge, ON
2/10

Project # 1315 - would not recommend for secondary suite conversions

My project covered Oct 2019 to March 2020 (just close to lockdown). My take on this is similar as Owen Sound (review below). Everything seemed fine, The layout design was very good and that's one of the areas they really delivered, i would say Demolition, framing, painting as well. I understood that a secondary suite conversion is tougher job than simply doing some other renovation. Also, the fact that they can finance its a good thing.

At the end got a secondary suite that i can rent, but it really took me a lot of my time and my nerves to have it (and some of my work too), after having done a second renovation and comparing results, i would definitely not choose penguin basements if i had the chance to go back.

Here are the highlights:

- You'll sign a contract and get a quote before somebody goes to your place and understand what needs to be done, that was my error and i'll admit. Never allow that, ask your contractor to visit the place because a lot of things tends to be assumed and that in secondary suite projects that is not a good way to start. After this experience, i would dismiss any contractor that does that to me.
- Plumber did not re-connect an outdoor faucet that was existing to the water even though I repeatedly told him to and project manager as well. Now i have a faucet that I can't use.
- Plumber put a Tub faucet below the showerhead so close to the floor that it is practically useless, even though I asked that faucet to be places on another place (i told that to designer, project manager and when i saw the issue i told plumber, plumber said that he can't change that because that's how he normally does it).Thing is, i can't do much about it, it would cost me a ton of money to resolve and i have a tenant already.
- The size of the access door panel for main shut off valve is 8x8, you need 12x12 since the city needs to access water meter from time to time. When they cut through the drywall the size is actually he size of a cellphone when you put it in landscape, i had to remove that myself and install a 12x12 and do a bigger hole.
- I paid for a laundry installation on upper level, they put a drywall on the floor (if i were to put the laundry on that floor as is then drywall would have cracked), i told that to the project manager and he handed to me the vinyl plank for me to installation the floor (i hope you see the irony in that, i would fight this one but it seemed easier just to put it yourself).
- I don't know how many times the layout needed to be reviewed, whoever did the layout never came to the house and really nobody was there checking expect myself i guess.
- I felt like i was more project manager myself than then project manager sometimes. Some things could have been really wrong, fortunately for me i was living on the same house the renovation was taking place.
- I paid to have a faucet installed on the exterior, they did, but they forgot to properly close the hole they had to do for the pipe, i had to do that myself too (so, they literally left a faucet with a pipe hanged on a hold in which bugs could easily crawl there, not to mention water).
- I called for warranty (faucet on kitchen was with low pressure), i started an inquiry in august, ins september i was told properly how to fill a warranty claim and then in october they came (only when i mentioned that a tenant was coming and the fact that i was going to it myself and claim through "Small claims court").
- Electrician was not bad, but now i don't have electricity on one plug upstairs. I'm pretty sure i would not be covered for that bu
- There were situations in which i saw that things were not going right, i had go to all the way escalating because i was not being heard by the project manager. In those cases i thank CEO because he was able to get a solution for those issues, but it is really too exhausting having to do that all the time to get something that is not crazy. If you are with them and have this situations make sure you fight for what you believe is right for you and fight hard if you have to.
- Asbestos was removed in the basement, if you don't know asbestos is put in a separate bag since it is a hazardous material (i paid for removal). They leave it in since January on my house, when they left project manager promised he was going to have someone pick that up, he did not do that, then Covid hit and when we entered stage 3 i just though that was going t be removed but no. Followed up with project manager, his boss, no response at all. I had to call the CEO (again) and he solved the situation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience. We’re sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

To be clear, we had been to the site, as we started with a Permit Set and we had pictures of the site as we went through the design options. With complicated scopes such as these, a single site visit might still require more evaluation, site meetings, engineering and this project did require that. It should be noted that other than the kitchen layout (added later) and the laundry addition (on the main floor) noted in the initial agreement, this project was on budget as presented. The additional work was reflected in 2.5% added to the contract that was signed in our office. This 2.5% included an engineer report, moving a hose bib, electrical and additional smoke detectors upstairs. Our clients that build these types of projects generally recognize that additional reviews are required, and we try and manage our customers expectations to let them know that a second suite conversation may be subject to these types of adjustments. During the substantial completion phase, there were indeed a few items that were identified, and Penguin addressed them at no additional charge as should be the case.

We have now received your short list of the items not previously noted, nor addressed at the substantial completion. Frankly, we were caught off guard, but we are more than happy to address any item in a reasonable manner. With respect to the kitchen faucet, the reason we serviced that right away was because it was the only item that we received a warranty claim on. We have a few projects in the area and came out the same week to address it.
Thank you for mentioning that the General Manager has been accessible and helpful in addressing any issues that needed attention. In terms of “fighting”, since receiving this review, the General Manager has connected with you, the client directly asking for an email with the items that you feel should be addressed. It was at this time, that you mentioned that you might be open to having us build another basement in the future and would consider changing your review depending on how we resolved some of their warranty issues. We don’t operate quite that way.

Shortly thereafter, Penguin received a schedule of $9,600 in charges that you would like addressed. Including $5,400 in project management. The reality is that we would still like to address the 3 items that should be addressed and have discussed a credit of $640 plus HST (work otherwise, completed including the out hose). Beyond that, we don’t respond to leverage on our reputation by committing more resources or applying more credits. This is also “part of the business” and we would rather have this bad review than submit to this form of negotiation. We believe reviews, good or bad should be used to constantly build a better company, period.

Ahmed Abdelfattah
Ahmed Abdelfattah
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Amazing service for Penguin Basements

What to say ....
Everything was perfect from planning till sign off.
Chris is amazing project manager.
Guy the owner is perfect model of care person.
Moneeb the sales or Rodrigo the advisor ...
The teams came to do the work ...

Everything was more than perfect and finally price.
After study for almost 2 months, u ll not see price like this ...
You are the best guys

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Ahmed, thank you very much for the appreciation😃 We thrive to offer the best price with the best quality work. We've passed your kind words to our team. Enjoy your basement❤

pharris6102
pharris6102
2 reviews Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
10/10

Basement renovation

Penguin Basements has just completed our FIY basement and we are extremely impressed with the results. Vince, Roberto, Andrew and his team, Andres & Claudio, all were incredible. I wish I could recognize all that were involved. The professionalism, quality of work and customer service were nothing short of awesome.

We have a fair size basement and you would expect a few hurdles along the way, there were no big issues. This has definitely been our best contractor related experience!

Please pass along our gratitude to your staff and contractors on our behalf. You should be proud of the company you have built and the amazing team you have assembled.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Pharris6102. It was our pleasure. We hope you'll share pictures of the final product😃 Your kind words will be passed to the team❤

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Penguin Basements

Penguin Basements is your full-service Basement Renovation Company.

Nothing beats a finished basement as a cost-effective way to add living space or rental income to your home in the Greater Toronto Region. Whether you need design, permits or a stunning build, be sure to call the Renomark certified contractor Penguin for a Free Estimate today.

You'll find hundreds of our satisfied customers all across Southern Ontario in the GTA, the Tri-Cities Area and the Greater Ottawa Area. Our experienced, trained professionals make it easy for Penguin Basements to stand behind every job we do. So, If there's a basement renovation in your future, contact Penguin Basements today, where 100% total satisfaction is guaranteed! Don't get scammed by fly-by-night operators, unrealistically low prices, too short build times or fake reviews. We invite you to visit us in person anytime.

• Basement Renovation Specialist
• Guaranteed Mold-Resistant Materials
• FREE In-Home Design & Estimate
• Easy Financing Available
• No Interest for 12 Months*
• Transferable Limited Lifetime Material Warranty
• 2-Year Comprehensive Warranty
• Exclusive Penguin Benefits

Be sure to check our one of our Basement Showcase Open House weekends where you can inspect our work up close and in person!

CATEGORIES
Basement Renovation
PRODUCTS
Fully finished basement design and build inclusive of Kitchens, Bathrooms and Custom features.
SERVICES
Basement renovations, basement waterproofing, foundation repair, crawl space encapsulation.
BRANDS
Penguin Family of Companies Penguin Basements Penguin Condo & Reno
STYLES
Classic, Country, Modern, Contemporary, Retro, Unique.
SPECIALITIES
Custom basement builds within your budget.
WEBSITE
http://www.basementscanada.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2011
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
120
LICENSES
Fully Licensed in every municipality we serve.
MEMBERSHIPS
BILD, RENOMARK
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2-Year plus Limited Lifetime Material Warranty.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.