Flying Colours Painting

Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
Ottawa ON K1Z 5Y7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON

Interior house painting

Hired to paint entire house interior when house was empty, before move-in. Paul's quote was not the cheapest but I chose him based largely on the very positive reviews here. The work was done but attention to detail seems to be the problem. Masking was not done properly and there were fine paint splashes all over the kitchen, and tile floors along the baseboard (see photos). Several revisits were required to finish numerous minor details because even when photos were sent to him and he said he had addressed everything, he had not. Paint splashes ruined one set of blinds and curtains in one bedroom. Although all doors and HVAC wall vents were supposed to be painted, some were not. I retained a larger holdback than he suggested but after the cleaning bill for the kitchen etc. exceeded this amount, he has not replied to my emails to address outstanding issues. Photos are examples of final state of the place, after extensive cleaning.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am very sorry you are unhappy with our service. I certainly understand your frustration. Mistakes happen and we did make every attempt to correct the list of deficiencies you provided.

This was an unusually complex project from the beginning, as you were out of the country and we could not communicate with you in a timely manner. We had no phone number—only an email address—so we could not speak with you directly, which further complicated the project, as we often had to wait for days for a response.

The other complication was the flooring company you hired used the living room to cut the wood for the hardwood floors, generating an enormous amount of dust throughout the house. That company also caused significant damage to the walls, including holes and nail pops, particularly when they removed the existing flooring. Although this was not budgeted, we patched and repaired all of that damage at no additional charge.

As the owner of Flying Colours, I make every effort to ensure our clients are happy with our work. For that reason, I personally went back for a lot of after-hours shifts to address the majority of the issues. These problems were often difficult to pinpoint, as all we had to go by were the numerous photos we received, most with no caption or explanation of exactly what we were looking at. Nonetheless, I made every effort to decipher the photos and address everything but, unfortunately, you stopped responding to my emails.

I feel I have gone as far as I can in trying to find a satisfactory solution. I realize you do not feel this has been sufficient, so I am not going to pursue the amount still outstanding and wish you all the best.