Sina Deck Staining

Toronto ON M2R 2W9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Decks in Toronto  >  Sina Deck Staining  >  Deck Contractor paid in advance by Senior; "Warranteed" work not completed
Kit Kat
Kit Kat
34 reviews Markham, ON

Deck Contractor paid in advance by Senior; "Warranteed" work not completed

Sina Home Improvements was contacted for wood deck repair work by my 89 year old Mother in July 2014. Salim, the owner, provided a quote as a 'Home Services Professional' . My trusting Mother, complied with his request and paid for the job in advance of the project believing Salim would complete the work as promised.

This was not the case.

The work did not commence until 45 days after the contract was signed, despite repeated calls. Once on site, Salim reduced the 3 year typed warranty - to two, in his handwriting, unbeknownst to my Mother.

The work was to include replacement of a number of deck boards, power washing, sanding, and 2 coats of deck stain - including her flower boxes - which were not touched. When contacted, Salim replied with excuses, empty promise and no show's . Sensing my Mother's frustration, I reached out to Salim recently and enquired (on behalf of my Mother) for an update of when he would return to complete her work.
Salim indicated as far as he was concerned, he was "done" and Sina Home Improvements would not be returning.

Sina Home Improvements willingly took money in advance from a trusting senior citizen.
Sina Home Improvements intentionally failed in its written promise to deliver service as contracted.
Sina Home Improvements did not complete the task outlined in their agreement.
Sina Home Improvements failed to honour their own warranty.

My Mother's deck, which she previously enjoyed is in a sorry state and she is out of pocket.

My advice:
While respecting and encouraging our beloved seniors wish for independence, family or close friends should always check out reviews on HomeStars before commencement of work. An extra set of eyes and ears goes a long way and can avoid grief down the road.

Salim's response (below) is nonsense.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The work was completed. After completion we were paid. I even replace at least 5 additional boards besides those agreed.

They were advised to replace all boards because their dek is very old and rotten. Even if you put 100 coats it will look the same.

Better put your name when you make a review so I know who is doing the review.