905 Reno

Formerly Golden Touch Painters
6021 Yonge Street, Unit 354 Toronto ON M2M 3W2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Decorative Concrete in Toronto  >  905 Reno  >  New Garage, Concrete Walkways, Stucco House
jasonalves in Pefferlaw
jasonalves in Pefferlaw
1 review Toronto, ON

New Garage, Concrete Walkways, Stucco House

These 2 guys have no business in doing anything with exterior concrete. I'm spending $11K to repair their new work. My garage sits on the worst concrete anyone has seen poured. What contractor doesn't trowel a garage slab? 905 Reno.

Carpentry: 7/10
Concrete work: 1/10
Communication: 4/10
Cleanliness: 2/10
Project Management: 0/10
Experienced: 0/10

My garage is posted on their IG page and is one of their recent projects. You can review the concrete in their videos. I withheld their last payment and halted all their attempts to stop leaks into my new garage after various attempts. Garage leaks, all concrete looks terrible (even around the garage, which they forgot was in the contract), garage slab slopes inward.. so unfortunate as the garage itself is good.

July 30 update - Attaching photo of the exterior where troweling was done. No, this is not a DIY job.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize we couldn't make you a happy client. We are not a perfect contractor. Your project was at a tight budget which is difficult to make everything perfect the way you want it. we focused more on making sure your project was structurally sound which passed all the city's inspections and is the most important aspect. for the finishing side which was great as well, concrete was not the best because it was poured in the winter. you agreed to pour your concrete in the winter time you didn't want to wait till the summer. when concrete is poured in a cold weather cracks may occurre because it's not recommended. We offered to repair all the concrete for free you didn't want to.

In the end you got a $80,000 project done for under 35k you should be happy with that, you are not going to get it all if you are not willing to spend a lot of money. Material price drastically increased due to COVID-19 but you didn't care. You were not willing to pay the increase. We didn't create the pandemic how can we predict that the material price will increase as much as it did? But nevertheless we still honoured our word and did your job at a loss for us.

We can't control a pandemic, there were 4 different lock downs for COVID-19 during your project it was a difficult time for everyone, most reasonable people will understand this. Materials were scarce, it was hard get materials when all our main suppliers were shut down, stores closed, online order took time and a lot things were sold out. Even the surge of lumber went up after we had already quoted your project you knew it we told you but you didn't care you were not willing to pay extra knowing that materials price rose after we had already gotten the contract, we still honoured our commitment and finished your job knowing that it was 30% loss for us. I can tell you right now most contractors will run away and abandon your project if they were not making money, but we didn't do that to you.

As much as you may complain that things didn't go your way or perfectly done job, just know that we did your project at a loss and stuck around and finished it with all inspection passed. Your budget was right, the pandemic drive material prove out the roof which created a loss. No one can predict a pandemic.

knowing all this and all the things that transpired, you still came here to post a bad review to destroy our business which we don't appreciate. We have always out our clients need first, this is the 2nd worse review we have had in the past 5 years.