Finishing Touches Painters

Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
Toronto ON M8Z 3A4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
Finishing Touches Painters
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winnerBest of 2021winner

Reviews for Finishing Touches Painters

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (50 reviews)

Sort by

FG
FG
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Amazing!!

They have done an amazing job!! We were moving and called them to get our house done as fast as possible as we needed to list our house and they were able to accommodate it the same week. They left our house PERFECT, very profesional company. We will definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you

Pooja in Toronto
Pooja in Toronto
0 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Interior Painting

Devon and his team were excellent. His painters were professional, respectful, and did a wonderful job. They were punctual, diligent, and even cleaned up the area after completion. I highly recommend their services.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you

Nancy in Toronto
Nancy in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Great Job. Attention to Details

Devon and his team did a great job painted my house throughout including exterior paint of garage and window trims highly recommend them would use them again. Devin was always very transparent and provided some great input when I asked for suggestions. They did a very clean job left the work clean at the end of every day

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Nancy

Chris in Guelph
Chris in Guelph
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Painting Basement

Their team came in, gave us a quick quote and did a great job. Our basement gym looks great. Looking to hire them again to do our railings. The work was a solid 95/100.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Chris

David in Brampton
David in Brampton
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Interior house painting, installation of pot lights and wall sconce light, repair of toilet and kitchen and bathroom sinks, installation of mirror closet doors, etc.

I was preparing my house for sale. Finishing Touches Painters did excellent work, provided its services promptly and within budget. Devon provided interior painting and his uncle and an employee performed repairs and renovations.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you David

hbakhit in Richmond Hill
hbakhit in Richmond Hill
0 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Amazing painter

Devon and his team painted our main floor and they did an amazing job!! They take their time painting, never rush and pay attention to details careful and so clean, best of all for very reasonable price. So happy with the results!! I recommend highly to my friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your review

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Painting Condo

Devon and his team provided excellent service. They worked very efficiently to complete the work in a timely fashion. We are very pleased with the quality of the end product. We would highly recommend Finishing Touches Painters.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

Carmaletag
Carmaletag
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

THOUROUGH! EFFICIENT! FANTASTIC!

Devon was such a pleasure to work with! I had a very specific vision for my condo and he worked patiently and diligently to make it happen. I have used several other painting services before and I can say with absolute confidence that this was the best experience thus far. He got the job done quickly and efficiently, communication was easy, and I couldn't have asked for a more thorough job. A +++ all around. I have recommended him to friends and family, and I will definitely use Finishing Touches in the future!! Thank you so so much Devon! :D

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
8/10

exterior house painting

I recently had the exterior of my house painted by Finishing Touches. Being an older house presented a number of problems, including some repair to a garage door. Devon and his crew did an excellent job, were very obliging, and took the time to make sure I was satisfied with the end result.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

Veronica
Veronica
1 review Burlington, ON
1/10

Disappointed

I am typically not one to leave reviews, but felt it was necessary to share our experience. I will preface this review with stating up front that Devon was very patient with us, he was very understanding, had great communication, and was always very responsive. However, the paint job we were left with, and the additional mess, was not what you would expect from professional painters.

We have just undergone major renovations. We have dealt with every trade and contractor at this point. While the house is old, and obviously has some imperfections, we have put brand new drywall, ceilings, all trim, baseboards, doors, hinges, and floors throughout. Our expectations were that at least the new items be left with a smooth, even, consistent paint job.

When we met with Devon for a quote, he reassured us that all imperfections on the wall from drywall mud would be sanded, all nail/screw holes on the walls would be patched, and all new trim and baseboard would be caulked and nail holes be filled in. I ensured we got this in writing in an invoice in an effort to get us both on the same page. He also said all floors would be covered and protected to avoid paint drips, as we just put in brand new floors. I was reassured by Devon and all of the positive reviews I read on here, but our experience was completely different.

The crew that showed up consisted of 4+ people, all with clearly different levels of experience. They immediately started to paint with absolutely zero prep work of patching, sanding, masking off spots, or filling nail holes. As our house is quiet large, Devon estimated the job would take 4 days. Every day once the crew would leave, I’d inspect the job and point out issues to Devon the following day. He would reassure me that this isn’t the finished product yet and so I decided to leave my inspection till the end. I would expect Devon to finely inspect and supervise all work, and only bring in skilled professionals, but that was not the case.

Once the job was “done”, we were left with a house that looked like it was painted by beginners. I wish I took pictures of the original “finished” product – paint runs everywhere, lint from the rollers that has dried up in the paint, caulking missed, doors half painted, nail holes not filled in, splotchy paint, our black hinges now completely covered in paint, etc. I was very disappointed, but Devon was very understanding. I marked the spots with green tape and Devon returned with smaller help to touch up the spots.

However, there were so many issues that it wouldn’t be possible to mark them all or the whole house would have to be redone. Even after they came back for touch ups, instead of properly fixing their mess by sanding, patching what is necessary, re-sanding, and re-painting, they simply painted over areas they sanded so you can clearly see gauges underneath the paint. Devon’s helper also seemed like he did not want to be there, so everything he touched seemed to only get worse. I attached pictures of only a fraction of stuff we are left with AFTER the touch ups. And the best part is? The crew got paint all over our new floors and did not clean it. I’ve spent 3 straight days trying to clean my new floors which Devon reassured me would come out with water. However, items that have sunk into the grain do not come out now. Similarly, while the crew tried to scrub our hinges that were once black but are now full of paint, they are still white and splotchy. When hiring professional painters, I would expect them to tape off all hinges and cover all floors so this kind of thing wouldn’t happen. Now we will have to replace all of our hinges out of our own pocket! I am so disappointed in the service we received and the fact that I am now left with a mess of a paint job that I either have to fix myself or pay more money to hire a different painter to fix. Simply unacceptable and discouraging after months of renovations, only to be left with DIY-level of a paint job.

I have included pictures which clearly shows the paint drips, nail holes not filled in, patches not even painted at all, caulking missed or overflowed, and paint splatters on our floor everywhere. In all of these pictures, these were brand new, straight from the factory, pre-primed materials that were installed prior to the painters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Veronica,

We are sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and are not happy with the result. We did have one new painter on the crew and made some mistakes unfortunately.  Thank you for acknowledging the responsiveness and open communication from us.   We did come back several times and addressed the issues and asked that you give us a call if you find anything else.  We hope you give us a chance to resolve the issues in the pictures you posted. We also have a tool we can use to clean the paint from the grooves in the floor and we did offer to replace the hinges that were accidentally painted over at no cost.
For the sake of the review, we wanted to clarify a few points below.  With the new drywall, we prefer to prime the walls first, before any patching and sanding – that is why you saw the crew jump straight into painting. They were in fact priming and all the sanding and patching was done subsequently, as agreed.
There were also areas in the house to be painted that were old and painted previously and had imperfections (not just the new installations). In our quote we included the nail holes, but any major repair or refinishing work would always be extra. One of the pictures you posted contains drips from the old paint job – we mentioned that would be considered a repair. Another picture you have of the baseboard shows an issue with the way the baseboard was cut during the installation – this is not something that can just be made perfect by applying caulking. We did our best to accommodate additional requests and did quite a bit of extra work sanding and patching some of the imperfections from the old drywall or screws that kept showing up after your ceiling installation – at no extra cost. 
We do acknowledge that we missed some spots and made the mistake with the hinges. This is not an experience we want any customer to go through. We hope we can resolve the issues in the pictures you posted and any others you may have come across. 

Sorry that you had to go through this experience. We always do excellent work but somehow we made a few mistakes at your home and for that, I’m sorry. I hope we can resolve the issues in the pictures you posted and any more you may have come across.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Finishing Touches Painters

Finishing Touches Painters is a Toronto based team of professional interior and exterior painters. We take pride in our work and measure success by the level of customer satisfaction. When you book with us you can be sure we will work hard to meet all your needs and will not leave the site until you are completely satisfied.

CATEGORIES
Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
SERVICES
Interior Painting Exterior Painting Cabinets Painting Mural Painting Wallpaper removal Drywall Repair Deck Staining
BRANDS
Benjamin Moore Sherwin-Williams Dulux
WEBSITE
http://www.finishingtouchespainters.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2016
PAYMENT METHOD
Credit Card, Cheque, E-Transfer, Cash
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.