Black Tar Construction

Formerly Black Tar Paving
Paving Contractors
Ottawa ON K2J 0X1
Write a Review
Write a Review


InstagramFacebook
HomeStars
Paving Contractors
Black Tar Construction
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Black Tar Construction

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (49 reviews)

Sort by

Kris in Toronto
Kris in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Went Above & Beyond

10 stars. Professional Team who went above and beyondto pave a side drive beside my home. Taif and his team were so easy to work with. When completed they even used additional left over asphalt to fix our turning spot. Would highly recommend for any driveway paving for anyone in Ottawa.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review, please let us know if there's anything else we can help with!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Ethical and very helpful

Remy from Black tar Came to our house to Give us a quote and right away told us that he thought that paving would not solve the problem. He then took the time to explain what we actually should do and what company we should hire in terms of sealing the foundation and I was just so impressed that he was really there for the customer and not about selling his product. In this day and age it is so refreshing to find an ethical company who really wants the best for its customers. I felt compelled to write a review for all of you out there thinking of using them as a company I think they are just fantastic!

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review!

Don OKeefe
Don OKeefe
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Paving

Became aware of Black Tar when they did 2 jobs on our street, they did both in a half day and did a wonderful job. They helped me with a minor patch and I spoke to the crew. They were all happy doing a very difficult job. I will be getting them to seal my driveway in the fall. Black Tar is a company with old fashioned values, customer oriented and very enthusiastic.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review!

simon.payne33 in Ottawa
simon.payne33 in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Terrible Job

Black Tar paved my and our neighbours driveway a year ago. Edges are crooked, and they packed both driveways after paving with loose asphalt so both driveways are falling apart. BBB complaint and phone calls go unanswered

Finally someone came to look at the driveway from the warranty team and agreed the lines of the driveway were crooked and surface areas rough. Guess what?? Absolutely nothing has been done.

In spite of the response below the company has done nothing. My neighbours driveway has grass sprouting through their driveway which was done at the same time. The sales rep came by and looked at the workmanship he too was in awe. Still nothing has been done

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good morning, thanks for reaching out.

As I understand it we are currently attempting to get you booked in with our Quality Control Specialist in order to address your concerns, but there seems to be an issue with scheduling at the moment. We definitely prefer you to be on site when he shows up so that he can walk you through the process of how we would go about correcting any issues that are present.

If you have any conflicts with the dates our Project Coordinators have given you please respond to to our email or give us a call at the office.

Have a great day!

Williams Clan
Williams Clan
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Black Tar Made It Happen

The prep crew arrived as scheduled and did a great job removing the old pavement and surface below, putting in the landscape fabric and then filling the space with rock. Two days later the paving crew arrived and laid the new driveway. Excellent job! Crew were courteous, professional and friendly. Thank you!

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review William, I am happy we were able to help! Please feel free to reach out if there's anything else we can assist you with.

Charles
Charles
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
5/10

Black Tar Paving

Had my driveway paved in 2019, sealing was suppose to be done in 2020 but Covid hit and that caused delays. They keep saying they will seal the driveway but they never show up. Never any response just automated emails.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Charles, I would like to start by stating that I completely understand your concern, and I am here to help fix it! My sincere apologies for the lack of communication and delays you have experienced, I am sure it must be frustrating. We have been working hard to adjust to all changes happening in the market due to COVID. It has been challenging but we are happy to say that we are very close to bringing our customer service and production rate back to where it was pre-covid days. Please reach out to us directly at bookings@blacktar.ca so we can discuss a resolution that would satisfy you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
2/10

Still waiting

Worst company we have ever dealt with. We had our project booked now for four months. Due to broken equipment on their end we have been cancelled on five times now and being given quite the run around. We had a family emergency and told we were next in line for first week in July. It is now July 14th and no one has returned any of our messages. Customer service is horrible. I finally spoke to someone today and was told no work order has yet been established. Our neighbours all booked with another paving company over two months after we did and all their jobs are done. We regret now not going with the same company but had already paid a deposit with Black Tar. Hopefully our job is completed by the end date specified in their contract (July 31st) and it is good work but given how they treat their customers thus far I would not recommend this company to anyone

Approximate cost of services:
$2,700.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for being so understanding with the delays you have encountered. Stating the COVID has impacted our production and customer service in 2020-2021 is a true understatement. Nevertheless, we were able to bring our production back to its pre-covid speeds towards the end of the 2021 season. Thankfully, we were able to complete all paving projects before the ends of the season. I would reach out to find a solution with you but I cannot identify your name since you're marked as a "Private User". Please reach out to us directly if you are still not satisfied, you can reach us at bookings@blacktar.ca, or call us at (888) 424-5455. We will make sure to find a solution that makes you happy.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
9/10

Excellent Work

Black Tar is a good hard working group of people.
They are a great company and we are happy with a Job well done.
When a mistake happened they went the extra mile to resolve to our satisfaction.
I have no hesitation in recommending them.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,500.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review!

Jack in Ottawa
Jack in Ottawa
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Excellent, professional service

Black Tar is a great company that does great work. They put in an excellent driveway for me last year. Then DirectBore came along and cut a big hole in it, and left a laughable patch, when running fibreoptic cable for Telus. Jacob from Black Tar did an excellent job patching the hole properly and sealing the driveway. Looks almost brand new again. Thanks Jacob and Black Tar!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review Jack!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Driveway Paving

Black Tar was by far the best company I have dealt with during my driveway paving experience. Their customer service, professionalism and quality is what my wife and I hoped for and more. From the beginning of the project to days after completion, they make sure you are taken care of and ensure your happy with their work.

Thank you Black Tar for making what could have been a stressful experience, not so stressful! Construction companies should take a page from your book.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,596.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure working on your project.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Black Tar Construction

Black Tar Construction is an Ottawa-based company that offers Asphalt Paving, Interlocking, and Foundation Repair services.

Black Tar Construction was founded in 2013 with the goal of offering outstanding customer service for our customers and a great work environment for our employees.
The growth of Black Tar has been achieved through exceeding customer expectations year after year.
The customer is a priority every step of the way. Our commitment to quality has allowed us to foster closer relationships with our customers, suppliers, and staff.

As of 2022, we are a team of over 50 strong, with over 11,500 projects completed successfully in the past 10 years!

CATEGORIES
Paving Contractors
PRODUCTS
Paving, Re-Paving, Excavation, Asphalt, Interlock Installation
SERVICES
We offer Asphalt Paving, Interlock Installation, and Asphalt Maintenance Repairs
BRANDS
HL3 Asphalt
STYLES
Smooth Curb Appeal
SPECIALITIES
Asphalt, Interlock
WEBSITE
http://www.blacktar.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2013
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
52
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Visa
LICENSES
Fully Licensed
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, Yellow Pages, Yelp, Google My Business
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No job is too small
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Lifetime Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.