Wise Guys Contractors

Concrete Contractors
Mississauga ON L5A 2T9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Concrete Contractors
Wise Guys Contractors
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Wise Guys Contractors

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (27 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Caledonia, ON
10/10

Hard working crew that did fantastic work!

We were having issues finding a reputable contractor that was willing to do this job and not overcharge us for their time. Found Wise Guys on Homestars and was overjoyed by their attentive response, hard work, and their diligence in making sure we were always satisfied. We had two unique walkways done that required ripping out old flagstone. I was so impressed to see that they removed the old stones for us and did a great clean up job at the end. This is a hard working crew that answered all of my questions and addressed all of my concerns. We will definitely consider using them again for future work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Shannon. we really appreciate your business and look forward to doing any future work you require.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Fished basement

Had these guys finish my basement, the craftsmanship was second to none , the price couldn’t be beat , was done in the time that was agreed . Clean , fast , professional and top quality work. 2 bedrooms , bathroom , living area and kitchenette. Would hire these guys again and plan on doing so . Highly recommended company !

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure tackling this renovation for you. With the few challenges of opening up your living room to create the open concept. Your renovation was a rather smooth one. Thank you very much for the review. Best wishes to you and your family. All the best.

Wise Guys Contractors

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Exposed Driveway

It has been 2 years since I had my driveway done by Wayne and his crew. I wanted to wait and see how the work held up before writing anything. I have to say it is still as beautiful now as it was when they first did it. They were fast, in and out in 1 week and the customer service Wayne provided was wonderful! I don’t know very much about concrete and found the process interesting. I watched them work, and humoured me by answering my many questions. Thank you Wayne and your crew, you did a great job! Will be seeing you again for the next project! Ciao.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, thanks for the review. We try our very best to satisfy the customer, and we are glad that you are satisfied with our work. Don't hesitate to call for any future work. Cheers.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

House project

Well I'm please to say wise guys are very good at what they do they were a little late but worth the wait. they did my backyard patio side walkway of my house the driveway and front porch and I was very happy and satisfied with the job they did no cracks everything was perfect they were very professional and respectful Wayne made sure to see to me expectations were meet I would definitely recommend wise guys to anyone wanting a great job done that you can be proud of to have Wonderful party's and invite friends and family to enjoy the beautiful looking property that his company provide for me. Wise Guys why go anywhere else

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, thanks for the review. hearing customers happy like this is what it's all about. thank you for choosing Wise Guys Concrete Inc. please don't hesitate to use us for any future projects.

 in Hamilton
in Hamilton
2 reviews Hamilton, ON
2/10

Driveway, patio and walkway

The workers are great, the communication is terrible and the after service sucks. My walkway cracked within a month of install, the driveway cracked after 2 months. The patio is sloped towards the back door and now the rain runs into my garage. I have contacted Wayne the owner and he promised to comeback first thing in the spring. That did not happen. Excuse covid, He then promised to fix it end of July beginning of August. That didn't happen. I have called several time since and left messages but not one reply. Thanks for nothing Wayne. I am very disappointed

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dave Smith, thanks for the review.

Just want to point out a few things.

1) I delivered your wife CBD drops twice last winter and you failed to mention any cracks both times. I was literally at your house twice.

2) The message you left me this year was extremely rude, kind of like your review, and we don't respond to this type of negative message. I'm not about to send my employees to a hostile work environment so in the future maybe be a bit nicer.

3) There is more than enough rebar in your driveway that even though there may be a crack there will be no separation guaranteed. Unfortunately cracks are not covered under any Wise Guys warranty as we have no way of telling what you do with your driveway after we leave. For all we know a heavy truck backed in your driveway and cracked it, we don't know. I do know that you have the most beautiful exposed aggregate driveway on the street and that when we did your driveway (last second) we didn't even charge you for excavation and this is the thanks we get.

Thanks for your business.

Sean in Oakville
Sean in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Front walkway and stairs

We had Wise Guys back this summer for a second job after completing our shed pad last year. For our front stairs, Wayne suggested some changes to what we had originally which made it look more modern and accessible.

Him and his crew had positive attitudes, worked hard and left the site clean at the end of each day. Wayne returned a few weeks later for some finishing touches to make sure we were happy with the end result, which we were! Thanks again Wayne.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

No problem Sean. Thanks for the review. I hope your family can go up and down those steps a lot easier than the last set you had :) Many thanks from the whole crew.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Great price, great value, honest and knowledgeable staff

I received multiple quotes from other contractors but Wise Guys gave me the best (and most reasonable) quote right away. They were very responsive and accommodating to my last minute changes/requests and made themselves available when my schedule permitted. They were friendly and very meticulous with their work. Wayne put in 150% throughout the entire process. He took extra care and time to ensure that the measurements were done properly. He used the best quality materials to ensure that the pad would drain properly and hold up to pressure over time. He is very knowledgeable about concrete and knows what he's doing. He is also not out to make more money off of you. I inquired about more expensive types of finishes and he was upfront and honest and told me how much maintenance would be required yearly and how the weather would affect the durability of the type of finish i was looking into. Because of that, I was able to make an educated decision for myself. I highly recommend him for any concrete project. The quality is good, price is very fair and the staff are honest.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the review! You know what they say, "Honesty is the best policy" and I stick by it. I hope you enjoy your new pad. Best of luck in the future

Mary in Toronto
Mary in Toronto
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Front porch, walkway and driveway extension

We hired Wayne and his crew after getting multiple quotes.
We are impressed with the final product. It gives our home a more updates look with clean lines and a safe, stylish porch and walkway. We also have space to park an extra car.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mary thank you for the 10 stars and the kind words. If I could rate a customer I would give you 10 stars as well. thank you for choosing Wise Guys Concrete Inc.

Joanne
Joanne
2 reviews Hamilton, ON
2/10

Front porch

It has taken me almost a year to write this review. If I had written it in the summer of 2019 I would have been too irate. So I waited until now.

Wayne and his crew were respectful and the constant delays to building my porch were due to constant rain and not Wayne's fault. I haave however a number of concerns to share.

1) Gravel was delivered ahead of time and I had not been informed of it's delivery. After the porch had been poured, said gravel hadn't been used and remained on my driveway for at least 3 weeks. This, despite my repeated emails and voicemails asking him to come pick it up. The only reason Wayne came to pick it up was because I said I would write a scathing review on Homestars.

2) In excavating the area to frame the porch, all dirt soil, debris etcetera was taken to my back yard and poured into one of my gardens as well as an already overflowing compost area. I thought when someone came to do this kind of work they were supposed to take what had been excavated away!

3) Wayne showed me a few colour palettes and we matched them to the brick on my house. I had chosen a sand colour according to the palette swatches he showed me. The porch that was poured is pink. I expressed my disappointment at the time only to be told it would fade. Nine months later and after one winter it is still pink! And, I hate it.

4) The concrete pour splashed all over the bottom framework of my front window as well as the existing concrete door tread leading into the house. It was not cleaned up and remains to this day an ugly glued on concrete mess.

5) The inside 90 degree corner between the porch and step up to the front door was not smoothed out properly. Gravel is readily apparent. To me that indicates a shoddy job or lack of skill.

Wayne and company, if you read this and are willing to fix the mistakes including the ugly pink colour of the porch and the concrete over splash then maybe I could promote you and your business in a better light. As I wrote above, if I had written this review last summer when I was very angry it would have been much nastier.

Joanne

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Joanne,
Thank you for your review.
Sorry we didnt meet your standards, a few things to point out:
1) You chose the colour of the concrete, the colour is provided by the Ready Mix company, not my company. I have nothing to do with the colour of the concrete.
If you remember I told you not to choose that colour I told you to go with Boulder grey you wanted Brown to match your house.
2) The dirt that we excavated you gave us permission to put in the back corner since it was a minor amount I even have it in my contract, you also watched us put the dirt there.
3) As for the Step at the 90-degree corner, when you add colour to concrete and the forms are removed we are unable to parge, due to color matching issues.
I'm sorry that you're unhappy with the way the colour of your concrete turned out, I will do everything in my power to rectify the situation with the ready mix company that provided the colour.
Again thank you for your review. I will say we could have done better getting the stone out of your driveway a little quicker, but the weather last season backed me up substantially and I apologize for that.

***Update**** went to this customers house and sealed her concrete for free, and darkened it up, and still the review remains..........***

Colleen in Etobicoke
Colleen in Etobicoke
0 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

FRONT ENTRANCE PORCH AND STAIRWAY

I had Wiseguys hired to do my front porch and stairs with exposed concrete after a recommendation from a friend of mine and I was not disappointed. After following special instructions from Wayne for proper curing it turned out great. Wayne came himself for final finishing, touch ups and sealing. Great guys, great service, awesome job! A very happy customer indeed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing wise guys for your concrete Colleen. Exposed aggregate is our specialty. Nice choice. We aren't happy unless the customer is happy. Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. Dont hesitate to call us for future work.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Wise Guys Contractors

We make your home dream be a reality

At Wise Guys, we are trained to know what customers desire and suit their needs. We take pride in pouring our concrete at a maximum 4 inch slump. That means our workers earn their money by working hard to create leveled surfaces without the concrete being so wet that it is self leveling. We don’t believe in cutting corners.

CATEGORIES
Concrete Contractors, Basement Renovation, and Bathroom Renovation
SERVICES
Home Renovations - Home Additions - Kitchen Remodeling - Plumbing Repairs
WEBSITE
https://www.wiseguyscontractors.ca/
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.