Concrete Replacement Experts Inc.

Concrete Contractors
Edmonton AB T5N 3M4
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Concrete Contractors
Concrete Replacement Experts Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of Award '22 winner 3 timesBest of Award '22winner 3 times

Reviews for Concrete Replacement Experts Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (51 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Drive Replacement

After seeing another driveway I contacted Wade. Everything was laid out for me. He answered many questions. I have to compliment Rick and the crew for a job well done. They were very friendly & both Wade and Rick made some helpful suggestions. The quality of the work is evident in th finished product.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Steve

Every job has its unique needs so we always try to add beneficial ideas to help the look of individual properties. The work we do is permanent so any useful tip or suggestion we can add make your property look better also helps to make our work look great and fit with your designs.

Your yard looks great before we arrived but your old driveway was an eyesore, now there's nothing taking away from the beauty of all the work you've done.

Take Care,
Wade

Ray in Saint Albert
Ray in Saint Albert
2 reviews St. Albert, AB
10/10

Outstanding Driveway Replacement

I am very pleased with the driveway replacement done by Concrete Replacement Experts Inc. Wade responded promptly to my request for an estimate. He then provided and explained his detailed estimate. We discussed the probable window for the work and he called a few days ahead of the proposed dates advising of the planned start date. Foreman Rick and the crew arrived and did the work expeditiously. They made significant efforts to minimize the disruption and to keep everything as clean as possible, it was very evident that they all took pride in their work.

The finished product is very impressive, thanks everyone for a job well done.

Approximate cost of services:
$16,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ray

Yes Rick is a great team leader, he keeps everybody on their toes.

In a tight residential neighbourhood we feel it's important to keep things as clean as possible. Having a great street-sweeper as one of our major tools really helps with that and only takes minutes to clean the whole street in front of your property.

I'm glad you're happy.

Regards,
Wade

New driveway
New driveway
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Driveway replacement

Definitely recommended. Wade proved a timely quote and discussed the estimate in detail. Rick and staff worked continuously through 28 degree heat and smoky conditions placing forms and reinforcement. Concrete work was done expertly by Andy and Arja. Work area was always kept clean and tidy. An excellent job completed. I am very happy with the new driveway. Driveway was completed in mid-July 2021.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,
I'm very glad your driveway turned out as well as you and I expected. I know it's a great job, was done in a timely manner, and meets our high standards or better but .... unfortunately the finisher isn't consistent and has produced some less than stellar work this season and so I had to let them go.

Getting by on " Just good enough" isn't acceptable to me. I want better.

I've put a lot of time into searching for a better consistent finisher and I'm glad to say I've found him.

I'm looking forward to hearing about our new finisher & our higher standards.
:)

Brent
Brent
0 reviews St. Albert, AB
1/10

Disappointed in St Albert

Wade was prompt to show up and provide a quote May 13. I was told he had an opening and could do the job in June.
Unfortunately that is where the communication ended. I sent a text June 7th to let him know the utilities were marked, city had done their inspection and get an update. Texted again June 9th, July 5th, left voice message and he responded to my messages July 7th and July 12th that he would call me that evening but never did. I cancelled the contract July 13th and only then did he text & call to say he could fit me in after two other jobs. I’m very disappointed that we are now into mid July and I still do not have my driveway done. Nice brochure, very knowledgeable and most likely his company does good work but very poor communication and promised dates missed so in my case the trust factor is gone and job goes to someone else.

Approximate cost of services:
$22,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I accept your criticism.

Yes I admit to dropping the ball in regards to communication in the last few weeks due to being a little overwhelmed with a couple of difficult jobs, the heatwave working against our schedule and my men.

I typically don't book set dates for job completion unless specifically requested and so there was no expectation date known to me. As explained to all clients I complete jobs in groups based on region, and we were slowed down considerably by the heat wave with temperatures in the mid-high 30's.

My apologies for this and the recent lack of communication.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
7/10

Replace concrete driveway

Excellent work, friendly crew. Work would have been quicker if the government hadn't been paying people to stay home. The company was short staffed and took longer than
anticipated. The driveway looks amazing and we are very pleased.

Approximate cost of services:
$224,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello

Thank-you for the review. As you haven't left a clue as to who you are I'm not sure which project you're referring to.

Typically we have a 4-5 day turn-around for a complete driveway replacement including stripping the forms, backfilling the areas alongside your driveway, planting grass seed, and street cleanup. I know we took a day or two longer on a couple of projects due to being short-handed for a few weeks.

I'm glad your happy with the quality of the work etc ... but yes disappointed for being critiqued so harshly for a delay of a few days...

but Thank-you for your comments either way.

Cheers
Wade
Founder & Senior Estimator

Rob F
Rob F
1 review St. Albert, AB
10/10

Driveway, Sidewalk, Apron and Inside slab repair

Wade and his team were excellent and responsive to us and our neighbour’s. The quality of work by the demo, forming, cleanup team of Rick, Jeff, Mike and Evan was done quietly (except jack hammering), quickly and efficient on a timely schedule. The concrete our was placed by a mid size pump truck and completed by Arja and Andy, masters of the pour and finishing. All the time being sure to accommodate garbage pickup and aware of impacts to blocking road and neighbour’s driveways.
At the end after form removal Rick and Jeff cleanup up the area, placed
topsoil and seeded the area around the forms. And to top off their commitment to a complete project they pressure washed the street around the driveway.

Wade created a very good team and it shows. We required a repair at the front of the inside slab as it was cracking and breaking up on the outside the garage door portion. Their solution and execution worked very well.

This company with the team working on my project were excellent and it shows.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Rob

Thank-you for the kind words and detailed review of the steps we do for each of our clients.

Your project had the added twist of the City of St Albert deciding to change your water shut off valve in the middle your driveway and in the middle of our project... Thank-you for being so understanding to things being out of our control.

It was an absolute pleasure working with you and I'm glad you're happy with the results and the wonky time frame. Your patience & understanding make you shine as a client.

I'll pass along your review to everybody on my team.

Thank-you & Take Care
Wade
Founder & Senior Estimator

Jonathan W from Edmonton
Jonathan W from Edmonton
5 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Stylish Driveway and RV Pad

Owner Wade Fenner, Site Foreman Rick, his employees and sub-contractors were professional, efficient, and most importantly, exacting in the removal and replacement of our driveway and RV pad last October. The final invoice closely resembled the original quote provided by Mr. Fenner. Rick communicated progress and explained the process so I was always aware of what was happening and why. The final surface finish sculpted by contractors Arja and Andy reflects their considerable skill and experience. Bradley, the concrete sealer contractor, explained how I could undertake annual sealing and where to obtain the necessary equipment and supplies.

Here are the reasons why I am confident that Concrete Replacement Experts was a good choice to replace my 44 year old driveway and RV pad:
1. Quote was accurate
2. They removed ALL the sand under the old driveway and replaced it with gravel crush that was fully compacted
3. Rebar was securely positioned to stay in the centre of the concrete pour, not sag to the ground
4. Rebar was solidly attached to the house foundation so the new pad won't sink relative to the foundation
5. The concrete pour was 5+ inches as promised
6. The rounded S-profile where the RV pad meets the lawn is The Bomb! Who knew that Foreman Rick was so creative.
7. After it's first winter, the job looks as good as the day it was poured and finished.

Likely the best endorsement of Mr. Fenner's company is when one of our neighbours saw the work being done, they asked for a quote, and now they too have a beautiful new driveway.

Concrete Replacement Experts offer excellent value in providing top quality craftsmanship. 100% satisfied.

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

WOW
Jonathan,
I am simply floored by the depth of your comments, probably the most articulate & detailed review we have ever received. I'm kinda speechless with gratitude.

I'm extremely proud of how well my Crew Leader Rick completed this job from start to finish. I know you clearly understand the difference between good & bad quality etc.

I'll pass your comments on to my team:
Rick, Andy & Arja, and Bradly and also Brad the owner of the pump company we use.

Thank-you again for taking the time to express your thoughts.

Cheers,
Wade

Paula in Edmonton
Paula in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
9/10

Garage Pad, Driveway and Sidewalk

We hired this company through our contractor. Wade was knowledgeable, helpful and pleasant upon first contact. We ended up having to fire our contractor as he abandoned the project and we discovered had no permits. The Concrete Replacement Experts company had great patience with the agony of our having to stop the cement pour the day before and they were instrumental in helping us to find another contractor and permit expert. Their work was exceptional with not only precise measurements and preparation for the garage construction, but added extra rebar for strength. Wade and his team went above and beyond to not only do the work but do it well and give us the extra help and guidance we needed to complete the project. As the build went from a summer project to a winter project because of the faults of the previous contractor we still have to wait for spring for Concrete Replacement Experts to clean up materials buried in snow, but we have absolute trust in them that they will return to finish that part of the job. We are very pleased with the quality of the finished cement work of the garage Pad, the sidewalk and the driveway! We highly recommend this company.

Approximate cost of services:
$21,800.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It's truly unfortunate there are some very unprofessional general contractors out there messing with home-owners. Yes your job experienced considerable delays due to yours but I'm glad it all worked out in the end. I'm also extremely happy the gentleman we referred to you for obtaining your permit & completing your structure build was able to complete your project before winter came in too heavy.

Cheers,
Wade

PS - Now that the snow has melted I'll send the guys by for a final review of your construction site. :)

Robyn
Robyn
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Great recommendation

I requested a quote from Wade and heard back from him within a very short time. While his company doesn't do the type of work I was looking for, he took the time to give me a great recommendation for another company he had personal knowledge of. It was much appreciated!

Approximate cost of services:
$1.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Robyn,

Good luck with your basement window.
I was very happy with the quality of the work done with with my basement window concrete cutting & install.

I know it might have seemed a little weird that I wouldn't do my own window but the type of saw used for vertical work is different than flat work. So at the time it just made sense to hire it out.

I received this contractors name from another investor who had also uses him with good results.

Cheers,
Wade

Eric
Eric
3 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Driveway

Update (September 2021): this company reneged on doing anything for us and ultimately blamed us. He made up excuses and ultimately refused to redo the top section of the driveway after admitting that his crew should have boxed out the brick columns correctly. This company has many positive reviews and I am sure when things go well then it is all positive but be aware that if the project doesn’t go to plan then this company will not take any responsibility or stand behind their product. I have had other contractors come by and they have all said the same…that the brick columns should have been boxed out and 2 inches of clearance given which is code.

(March 7, 2021): The company has come out to our place to discuss the issue and explain what has happened and options for fixing. Wade is willing to do something for us which is appreciated. I will update this review as things progress.

___________________________________
The crew that came and demolished and poured the new driveway were great. They gave me updates after each day of work. The issue I have had is that two months after the driveway was poured the top corners to the pad began to crack. I was perplexed and contacted the company to find out what I should do. I never got a response. Well the brick columns that the new driveway is against has now begun to heave, crack and come away from the garage wall. I called a masonry contractor and they said it is because the driveway was poured without leaving enough clearance to the brick work. The masonry contractor said it is common to leave space to allow for movement clearance. The winter cold has created movement and the brick and driveway came into contact. This is what has caused the driveway to crack and the brick columns to be damaged. Now I am facing full replacement (which is not cheap) of these brick columns and some others to ensure the house aesthetic is the same. I thought the driveway contractor should have known and identified this issue before pouring the driveway.

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$9,000.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

When I came out to view the driveway in the following spring after the initial pour I met with the homeowners.

I looked under their bricks that are mounted on the corners of the garage and yes some joints were cracked. These decorative layers of brick are suspended by quarter inch thick pieces of angle iron. I reached under the brick to look & feel, they were completely rusted away and I could flake off inch wide pieces of rust. The inside corner of the 2 foot piece of angle iron, where the horizontal meets the vertical was completely separated for most of the length. This rust was due to the bottom of the brick sitting in water for many many years. The owner viewed the rusty broken metal.

When we took out the original driveway we found a complete swamp under the old concrete, we even had to haul out excessive amounts of mud and liquidy sand. This was pointed out to the home owner and they agreed to the extra charge for digging it out and hauling it away.

When I first quoted the owner they did not want to replace the existing sidewalk in order to save money. The existing sidewalk, at the time of quoting and the following spring, consisted of 24” paving slabs that were tilted very badly towards the garage wall, uphill from the driveway. As always I recommended they pour new concrete tight to the wall to prevent water flowing downhill and under the driveway. They didn’t want to spend the money so I highly reminded they fix the slope of the pavers and the grade around the sidewalk to prevent uphill water from flowing to the driveway and getting underneath it again. He acknowledged this at the time.

The owner did neither of these recommendations and so once again water flooded underneath their driveway. Then over the winter it froze and heaved the concrete driveway and pushing up against the 2-3” corner of brick.

Had they listened to my warnings and recommendations this would not have happened as the water would have been redirected as I instructed.

The water issue was a big deal and was discussed multiple times as there was so much of a swamp under the driveway when we removed it. The conversation of replacing the sidewalk to prevent water from getting under the driveway came up again half way thru the replacement process, they had me quote the sidewalk at this time, but again they refused and said they would deal with the sidewalk which they didn’t.

I make the same recommendations to every homeowner who has a sidewalk going uphill from the driveway, “to take it tight to the house to prevent water from getting under the driveway”.

This owner did not take that advice or repair their own sidewalk and there was an unfortunate consequence because of that.

I did say we could have lowered the corner 2” of concrete away from the brick bit tat would have looked out of place, and the owner said they would repair their sidewalk which they didn’t. Had the drainage been fixed and the angle iron not been sitting in water for so many years & rusted thru this cracked or heaved concrete would not have occurred. If water had not been directed downhill to get under the new driveway then it wouldn’t have had the ice expansion that it did.

I agreed to come back in the summer and work out some sort of arrangement and possibly add the new sidewalk if they wanted to hire us to do so. They acknowledged these items during my spring visit when I first met them to view the bricks.

It’s unfortunate but that’s why I make these recommendations.

We have dozens of ten star reviews for a reason. Every time I do a quote I go thru it in detail and discuss every point, giving a 10-15 minute lesson on concrete, the things that create issues, and the things we do to prevent them. Every client gets an in-depth assessment, education, as part of my quoting process. Even my four page flyer that I mail out covers many of these points.

This has been a learning lesson for me. For now on I will get owners to sign a waiver agreeing to the warnings and recommendations I give them that they won't listen to.

I stand behind our work but I can't be expected to replace concrete for free when the problems are the result of homeowner negligence.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Concrete Replacement Experts Inc.

Our main focus is replacing "CONCRETE DRIVEWAYS" and "GARAGE FLOORS".

That's why our company name is CONCRETE REPLACEMENT EXPERTS. We specialize in one particular part of the concrete industry and try to keep that as our unique niche.

We will consider light industrial flat work that is similar in nature.

THINGS WE DO NOT DO

Sorry but we do not build foundations, retaining walls, do crack repair, or lift driveways we only replace them.

CATEGORIES
Concrete Contractors
PRODUCTS
"CONCRETE DRIVEWAYS" and "GARAGE FLOORS" replacements are our main focus.
SERVICES
"CONCRETE DRIVEWAYS" and "GARAGE FLOORS" replacements are our main focus, and we also do some light commercial flat work. As we are in the concrete business and seal all new concrete we have started another division specializing in HOT pressure washing and re-sealing of existing concrete. All concrete get recycled, never to the landfill. Services include concrete delivery, pumping, cutting, sealing, recycling, etc.
SPECIALITIES
Our main focus is replacing "CONCRETE DRIVEWAYS" and "GARAGE FLOORS" and light commercial flatwork. We start with impeccable ground preparation, install the raw materials at a higher than industry standard, then finish the final product properly: Smooth and level without any puddles. And we do it quickly and at a price that’s affordable and acceptable to the typical home owner. AND A GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!
WEBSITE
https://www.concretereplacementexperts.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2017
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque or Bank Draft
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.