PTL Contracting

General Contractors
Ottawa ON K2J 3X7
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for PTL Contracting

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (26 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Great Work with the Pavers, Planter, Sod, and Fence!

Tim and his team from PTL Contracting did a great job, on time and on budget, and went beyond the call of duty. We highly recommend them!

After our inground pool was installed last year, we needed interlock to be done around the pool, re-sodding our whole backyard and a big section of our front yard, and rebuilding two panels and the gate of our wooden fence. We also wanted to get an interlock driveway extension, along with a large stone planter in front of our front window. Tim and his team was able to do it all at a competitive price, and was very helpful and patient guiding us through all the choices we had to make, taking the time to explain the pros and cons of various choices, and being very respectful and understanding of our objectives.

As the project proceeded, Tim identified additional opportunities to go beyond the identified scope of work, be it offering to better insulate the underside of the house extension for our patio door, or installing underground waterspout drain systems for all of our waterspouts for our house, not just those that was within the project area. He did those, and other extra tasks, at no extra costs.

In terms of the work itself, we really appreciated the care he took to "get it right" throughout and make things look as good as possible. He also provided us with great advice to get a watering system for our sod, which he set up himself at no extra cost.

Thanks a lot Tim and PTL!

Alex & Jane

Approximate cost of services:
$38,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You're both very welcome and it was a pleasure working with you both!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Very satisfied

They were very professional work was done in time.
Im very satisfied with the work they did and I would recommend them. Looking forward to work with them again
Work was done at the beginning of August 2022
CS

Approximate cost of services:
$8,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You're most welcome!

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Ogoki, ON
10/10

Outdoor patio

PTL Contracting was fantastic to work with. They helped us with design options, and picking out stone colours. We couldnt be happier with the final result. They finished the job when we needed it to be done. They were courteous, left the area clean and fixed any grass areas that needed repair caused by their equipment. We would definitely use them again and would highly recommend them. Professional work, on time, and on budget. All anyone could ask for.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the glowing review. Your curbs are in finally and I will be by to install

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Interlock

Interlock patio and walkway. Really nice job getting the work done fast and on schedule.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Rick in Ottawa
Rick in Ottawa
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Backyard patio, 500 Sq feet.

Tim and crew were polite and no radio blasting to disturb neighbors. Quick and clean entry to backyard and good clean up. Neighbors and friends have approved.

Approximate cost of services:
$13,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Cedar Deck

Great working with PTL. Excellent attention to detail and very easy to work with. Great workmanship and very satisfied by the results.

Approximate cost of services:
$18,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Backyard deck and patio stones

PTL Contracting transformed our backyard into an area we were happy to entertain friends and family and enjoy our hot tub with this beautiful deck and privacy wall they constructed. Tim was great from the beginning with his help to design and put on paper what we wanted within our budget and he and his team followed through to build exactly what we had discussed. We would definitely recommend PTL Contracting!

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Pade builder

I like how it turned out the boarder was recommendation by the builder and thumbs up it looks very nice

Approximate cost of services:
$5,300.00
Was this review helpful?
Theresa and Roger Trudel in Ottawa
Theresa and Roger Trudel in Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
2/10

2 decks and a patio

Amended review

We hired PTL Contracting to build us two decks (one deck off the back patio door and the second was a pool deck) and a patio in June 2020 which was quite a bit of money (over $32,000). Once Tim completed all the work, we had a pool inspection and the inspector informed us that the railings surrounding both decks were not installed according to the building code and the baluster manufacturer’s specification. We worked with Tim and agreed that we would pay another $1,500 for bringing the decks to meet the building code. He took the original 4x4’s posts which we paid for that were notched and they should not have been notched. He should have left us the ones that we already paid for. It was obvious that he ran out of wood and had to shorten our stair rail, but he charged us more money and we never asked nor discussed changing the handrail. We were so elated after Tim and his business partner Chuck finally completed the corrections that we hadn’t noticed that they changed the stair rail (patio deck) and the length of the panel, and it looks awful and is totally unacceptable. There was a finishing board that was also removed from the stairs and now we have nails popping out making it very dangerous. We brought all these issues to their attention in March of 2021 and Tim said “OK” to come and fix it. After four months of waiting and no word (until July 2021), we asked when are you coming to do the work and he didn’t acknowledge our emails. We sent another email a week later and gave both Chuck and Tim 15 business days (until August 4th 2021) to come and correct the deficiency and he has to this day (August 29th 2021) not shown up nor replied, leaving us no choice to bring PTL to court. We posted a review on Homestars where we actually hired him from, and he disputed and denied our existence as one of his paying clients!!! See attached email. We had to produce evidence that he actually did the job. Until we produced the documentation our review was taken down….he lost and our review was put back up and this is the amended version. This company has a five-year warranty, and they can’t even honour that as Tim had also missed putting a stair backing on our pool deck which was brought to his attention in March 2021.
During his time here, we found him to be impatient and rude to his workers. He came and went whenever he wanted without letting us know if or when he would return. He does not purchase all the wood required for the job…he goes and picks up the wood he thinks he will use in a day…if he runs out he leaves and has to drive to a lumber yard to buy more wood…..what a waste of time.
It is very unfortunate that it has come to this to get the job completed…..they will probably never show up. We had a good relationship at the beginning (we bought them lunch, we did a BBQ and beers at the end of the day a few times). While Tim was here, he helped us with a flat tire on our ride-on lawn mower, he built us a screening tool to sift rocks from the earth and gave us pointers on growing grass from seed which we truly appreciated; but that does not give him the right to not finish our job or not honour his guarantees and to and disrespect a paying customer by ignore us.
Tim will charm you and is extremely pleasant until he was asked to come back and fix the job or make good on his guarantee. Unfortunately, he is unreliable, and his ethics are seriously questionable. He removed our old deck which we kept but he actually took the old stairs without even asking us. He was the only contractor within a block radius of our home and we live on 1.78 acres lot and he denied leaving his Tim Horton’s cups wherever and he or one of his workers popped a hole in our siding. He and his worker were the only ones on our property and once confronted he denied but offered to pay for half ??????.
We would not recommend this company to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$33,500.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

- A permit was drawn for this project by the client/homeowner via OBC (Ontario Building Code)
- Upon final inspection the project was passed by the local inspector as conforming to the OBC and the permit closed
- After which time it is in violation of the OBC to make any alterations to the project with a closed permit
- Heavy fine to both homeowner and contractor are penalty
- Client was informed by both inspector and PTL
- Client requests changes be made to the deck after final inspection and closed permit
- Client threatens legal action via email if changes are not made, despite the consequences
- PTL seeks legal counsel and is told to cease contact
- No further contact was made with PTL or its counsel by the client

We sincerely regret that we were unable to completely satisfy this situation. However, we feel that we made the responsible choice, taking into consideration the fines possible to both homeowner and contractor, which are substantial. The fact is our hands were tied, and with threat of legal action, so was communication. We would ask the reader to take this into account when considering PTL for any projects.

Andreanne
Andreanne
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Moving bathroom location, removal of wall

Tim and his team are professional, caring and deserve all the praise. We’ve worked with contractors before and this has been the best experience we’ve had. We are extremely satisfied with the work they performed. It’s easy to communicate with him, he delivers quality work and is thoughtful in his approach. We would certainly hire him again for another renovation, and recommend him to anyone we know without hesitation!

Approximate cost of services:
$11,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about PTL Contracting

Landscape Contractors Specializing in
Interlock and Decking
Sod and Regrading
Winter months doing interior reno
Bathroom Basements Kitchens

CATEGORIES
General Contractors, Interlocking Stone, and Decks
PRODUCTS
Trex Azek Cedar Permacon Unilock
SERVICES
Decking Interlock Basements Bathrooms
WEBSITE
http://www.ptlcontracting.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2010
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
6
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.