Men On The Move

Moving & Storage
Toronto ON M1S 5E7
Write a Review
Write a Review
0 reviews Toronto, ON


I found Men on the Move in HomeStars and contacted George who came out to discuss the details and cost of the move. We booked Sept.1/20 and 3 movers showed up on time and got to work right away. William, Matthew and Akim were the movers.They worked very fast.

Initially, I gave Men on the Move a higher rating and then changed it to what is now.
The move was a very difficult one for me so when the move was over I was so relieved. Over the next number of days and weeks, as I set up my new apartment, I discovered that all of my art collection was NOT wrapped nor a protective cloth between the paintings and my newly painted walls. My bed was moved with the bottom sheet still on and nothing else to protect the mattress. Prior to the move, my collectiable glass (not dishes) where put together in a shallow box so that come moving day, the movers would have all of my collection in one place, to wrap. I even recall mentioning that to the movers when they 1st arrived early morning. When I got around to that box I discovered that the only wrapping was what I had loosely covered the box with. Nothing else. One of my glass pieces had a hairline crack down the middle. A very expensive, quite old and delicate frame was broken. (I spent a long time repairing it.) Another delicate wall hanging was not wrapped and the frame got all scratched up and part fell off. Earlier on into the move, one of the guys asked me if he could go out on the balcony for a smoke. I don’t smoke but I thought a cigarette wouldn’t take more than a few minutes. I gave him a little container to put his ashes in and the cigarette butt. I went out on the balcony to see if he was finished his smoke and asked him not to flick his ashes over the railing and especially not to throw the butt over. I was many stories up with plenty of neighbours below. (I’ve been in apartment fires before from careless disposal of cigarettes and I know how deadly it can be.) Awhile later I found them all out on the balcony dangling their smokes over the railing. Again! I reminded them of what they should have known not to do. Recently when the boxes were being broken down for garbage, I saw that they were not brand new but were old and reused, by the old tape and writing. I remember initially being told that only new boxes would be used because of COVID-19. This move was with in the same building just a different suite. When it came to my artwork, new mattress etc., it didn’t matter if it was all being moved across country or several steps away, the movers should have known better and been more knowledgeable about how to protect their client’s possessions and collections.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Wendy, we went above and beyond for you with this move, you needed to budget and save as much money as possible and I worked with you to do so.

This is the reason you were asked to sign a release waiver because you wanted us to do minimal packaging for all items so that the move could be done faster. It isn't nice when you ask for one thing and then we provide you the service you asked for and then have bad things to say based on the decisions you made !

We would never leave art work, glass pieces or anything wrapped in our pads, unless you were willing to pay for the pads. This was all made clear to you when I came and did the estimate. I do not appreciate lies and dishonesty towards my company we work very hard and always provide the best service we can for all of our customers.