Diamond H Contracting

Formerly Diamond H Industries
Decks
Cochrane AB T4C 1B4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Decks
Diamond H Contracting
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

50%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Diamond H Contracting

Average customer rating:
5 10 (25 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Worst workmanship

This contractor built us a fence, didnt finish the main gate out front still not done paid $600 never done. The back gate was very off-level and doesnt close we had adjusted it ourselves, he gave us no hardware for the gates in which again I paid for, he doesnt return my calls he never showed up again this was done May 2021 and still no answer from his text or anything , the fence is twisted and falling down and we had to redo most of it ourselves Ill attach some pics.
As you can see the pics were taken 2 days later and he never returned again so please stay away from this
character he took the money and ran and if you need to come over and see the fence please reach out.
Also I am in the process of reaching out to a lawyer for small claims $5200 is a lot of money for nothing . I have to be someone to make it look like a real fence because its an iso in the community.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Shannon in Red Deer
Shannon in Red Deer
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Do not hire!

Same story as so many others! A backyard deck. Worst experience ever with a contractor. We are 14 months in and paid for services. Was reassured overpayment would be refunded in 48 hours (not). We have been ghosted for months-emails texts phone messages not returned. We were told by Chris he forgot to order product forgot to pick up ordered product. It was stampede time. We were given a cheaper product than promised different colours than promised. Left with screws sticking out (he would be back the next day to grind them off. That was 12 months ago. Instead we have had people trip on them cut their feet and hands.) original deck was going to have glass plan was changed, we were to be reimbursed for the difference in cost, still waiting. Waiting on the fascia for deck.this project that was promised to be completed in 11/2 days is at the 14 month. We have unfortunately paid more than 100% of our bill. Our story is like so many others, avoid becoming a similar story.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,900.00
Was this review helpful?
Edwin in Calgary
Edwin in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Do not hire!

Do not hire! Same story as others who posted here.
I hired Diamond H through Chris Haywood to build my deck and paid down payment on early July with the agreement it will be built by end of August.
It was never done. Not even started anything. I have to keep calling to know when they can start and Chris will say next week but next week comes and then same excuse.
I finally cancelled and requested refund mid-September and up to now I have not received my refund.
The excuse is that their office or the credit card company is slow in processing.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Alexandra S.
Alexandra S.
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

DO NOT HIRE!

We hired Chris from Diamond H Contracting in June 2021 to build a backyard fence on one of our rental properties. The deadline for this job was July 15th & we paid 50% deposit upfront. The deadline came & went with zero work being done. Chris came up with numerous excuses for why he cannot complete the job and this went on until September. After 3 months we finally fired him & asked for our deposit back which still hasn't happened. As of today, September 23rd 2021, we received no refund nor the fence. Luckily we paid via VISA & are now seeking refund directly through them. DO NOT HIRE!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,277.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Eleno in Calgary
Eleno in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Fence and dog run

Do not use this company. We had him come out for a quote to do our vinyl fence and dog run. He sent a contract and we agreed on a price and a day that he would start. Two months later nothing was done and he won't return our 50% deposite. This was a horrible experience and all we want is our money back!, He had more than enough time to start the job or give our money back. Don't use Chris or his company!!!!!!!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,360.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Eleno,

I can confirm you have received your refund in full for the project, delays with vinyl fence have been tremendously horrible this year and I apologize for the massive delays on your project.

Best of luck with the project!

Abid Saeed
Abid Saeed
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Fence and Deck Project

DO NOT HIRE HIM. He will take 50% just like he did with me and my neighbours and vanishes. He doesn't pick the calls and just respond to messages at his convenience. We paid him July 2021 and didn't even start the work. He neither has refunded the amount. He keeps deliberately gives misleading information like the materials delivery is delayed then he promises to pay back and then doesn't.

We are now seeking legal action against him. Police have registered our complaint against him. He will respond saying he has returned the money but don't beleive a word he says also blocked me from his Instagram account.8

Approximate cost of services:
$11,700.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
0 reviews Calgary, AB
9/10

FENCE WORK

We needed to replace the chicken wire fencing at the back with wooden boards. Diamond H(Chris) did a great job and we have a great looking fence now. He was very accommodating ,courteous and professional and it was a great experience overall with him doing the job. Will readily recommend his services to anyone .

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

It was a pleasure working with you as well, looking forward to the next projects as well.

Danielle in Calgary
Danielle in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Fence rip off

Do not hire Chris. As other reviews have said he is telling us one thing and not following through. We signed a contact and gave 50% deposit in June every time we tried to schedule a date he would give us an excuse. We asked for our money back, which he told us it would take 10 business days but almost 20 later we do not have our deposit returned only excuses. Do not give this man any money! We will need to seek legal action as he is leaving us no other choice.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,300.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Danielle & Eleno

I can confirm you have received your refund in full for the project, delays with vinyl fence have been tremendously horrible this year and I apologize for the massive delays on your project.

Best of luck with the project!

DAMILOLA in Toronto
DAMILOLA in Toronto
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Do not hire

Chris promised to get our job done for almost 2 months now, but it’s been one story or the other. He was contracted to build fences for 9 houses on our street at Walden. We all made deposits totalling almost 13k, he was supposed to complete the job by July 24th.
He keeps giving each house different excuses ranging from waiting for materials to delivering the materials to sorting the materials or materials was delayed.

He tells this neighbour that materials have arrived and will be dropped off, he tells another neighbour that the materials are being delayed, tells another that the materials are been sorted e.t.c

He just wasted 2 months of our time, stressed us all out and to make matters worse, he is unapologetic about it.

We are considering taking legal actions too because his stories don’t add up.

We invited him to meet with us but as usual, he didn’t show up.

Pls Do Not Hire!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$13,000.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Deck Reno

NOT RECOMMENDED

All we want is a fair transaction from CHRIS, we’ve been very patient with him, but he keeps delaying the job that he was supposed to do.
More than one and half months already, he got the 50 percent down and until now no job was started.
In this time of pandemic we can’t believe someone like CHRIS will do something like this. Full of promises but NO ACTIONS.
Thinking that we might lose our money for nothing already affects our mental health.
Seeking legal help in what to do against a Contractor like this

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review; I'm not sure who you are or what project this may be for as I can't find a cancellation request or deposit refund request for the remaining two decks we have booked for this month.

Yes, we have fallen behind for the year but have no confirmation that you wish to stop the project.

Please call, email or text me to discuss which project this is and who you might be.

Thank you, I look forward to hearing from you.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Diamond H Contracting

We are a full service contracting company, Working with some of the best companies in and around Calgary to develop your picture perfect landscape, hardscape or interior renovation project. Outside Work: - Wood fence - Vinyl fence - Chain link fence - Ornamental fence - Pergola's - Decks Inside work: ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Decks pros in Cochrane?