Work done: 36 foot retaining wall and new sod - front, back, and one side
Our sod looks great but I can't recommend KC if timing is important to you (our 1 week estimate became 4) or if you need to get some hardscaping done. We were disappointed with the retaining wall not being level although this was apparently by design because a "big O" wasn't used for drainage. This should have been explained before going ahead and gluing the stone into place. All I was told was that for the height of wall we were requesting, we didn't need a big O.
The company did agree to do some extra work free of charge due to our disappointment with the wall and the delays so I bumped the satisfaction rating up 1 star for their act of goodwill.
- Company Response
We're very sorry you weren't satisfied with the retaining wall. Regarding the timeline in which your job was completed however, there were timing issues concerning weather (rain) and the fact that your backyard was not graded properly by the developer. This caused your backyard to be flooded with water for several days at a time which meant we couldn't move forward with the sod installation and had to wait several days for it to dry up. To mitigate this, we made the decision to pay for a mini loader out of pocket ($436.00 for 1 day rental), to grade the property properly (an additional $400.00 which we agreed to do for free), so we could then move along with your sod installation in which was laid in a day. This was all explained to you during the process of your job. The Big O was not conducive to the level of the retaining wall and we believe you unfortunately misunderstood the purpose of this explanation.
We're glad you're happy with your new sod and if you have any additional concerns or questions feel free to reach out to us.