Reviews

10/10

The kitchen renovation industry is quirky. A lot of kitchen designers want significant retainers ($4000), are vague about concepts and details until you’ve retained them, and exploit asymmetrical information - they know what things cost, you don’t, they make the best profit they can. And in the end, most of their designs look remarkably similar to the next. So after interviewing more than a dozen companies, we went with Tango. Dena’s process is very transparent and the client has room to get what he or she wants. My goal was to get very high quality cabinets at an acceptable price, installed without too much grief. I wanted quality, durability, a classic look that might not seem silly 10 years from now, and a designer who could work with a 15’ long galley kitchen. Dena understood that we wanted a kitchen that would fit in with the rest of the house (a traditional 1930s home). She didn’t insist we tear a wall down, like most other designers seemed intent on doing. Working with Dena was productive. Her design was the best concept we saw. She worked quickly and efficiently, while not sacrificing the overall design or important finishing touches. She found a good balance between allowing our ideas in, but also provided advice and expertise when needed. The project was on time, it cost what she said it would, and we knew that cost before hiring her. The cabinets: Tango uses Kitchen Craft, which is a smart way to do it. I know there are folks out there who prefer something radically custom, “made locally,” and I don’t quibble that such a design can be great. We had a few truly custom elements in this kitchen to make sure it maximized the space, but for the most part we all want drawers, cabinets, and boxes within a similar range of dimensions. As well, there is the issue of quality: the cabinets Dena supplied are better in construction than many more expensive, more custom, more local options we considered (we went with wood ply interiors for longevity, as an upgrade). A good designer can make a Kitchen Craft product look very custom. That is where Dena’s strengths are. She can achieve a custom look while keeping costs low. There is a gap in the market between Ikea (which has totally workable cabinets, of course, and excellent value), and the high-end-low-value designers. Tango fills that gap nicely; excellent quality, a high degree of customizability, and the possibility to get something way more elegant than any of the big box stores. (The cost here includes only the cabinets, the Cambia countertop, and the installation. A lot of the cost in kitchen renovation is in the appliances and contractor. On the appliances, be vigilant (you can find value if you look). And we took on the contracting ourselves - hiring individual trades for the electrical, plumbing, tile, and gas. It was more work, but it saved us at least $5-6K. In the experience of my friends and colleagues, the contractor is often the frustrating part, so if you can control that on your own, all the better.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! It was our pleasure working with you and we're very glad that you are happy with your dream kitchen. :)

8/10

My usual plumber was occupied so I looked through the Homestars listings for a suitable replacement. Drain1 looked promising. The guy who took the call was efficient and was able to book me in for a specific time that would work for my project, which was really helpful. My job was very simple: hooking up plumbing to a double sink (undermount), installing a faucet, and connecting a new dishwasher. The sink had been installed under the quartz countertop by the countertop installers. The cold and hot water pipes, plus the waste drain out, were in the right location, which simplified matters. So, a new set of PVC pipes to drain, installing an Ikea faucet, and connecting the waste hose from the dishwasher to the PVC drain. The work was fine; the price, $620, seemed steep. Obviously, at the end of a long kitchen renovation project I just wanted to get it done. As well, the booking guy didn't mislead me and tell me a bait and switch price (he didn't tell me any price - the plumber told me as he got into my house what the cost would be). But I do feel a bit taken - $620 for a little less than two hours work seems a bit steep to me. The quality of the work was good, and the plumber on site was diligent, conscientious, and kept the work are remarkably clean. All these things are admirable, thus the 8 rating above. One irritation beyond the price: I was told that they wouldn't secure the dishwasher to the cabinet. Yes, I could do it (and did when the plumber left). But I naively assumed the dishwasher install included the five minutes it took to screw the dishwasher to the cabinet. So it wasn't functional until I completed the install. Not a huge deal, but if I had been 80 years old, though, or unfamiliar with work like this, I would have paid to have a dishwasher installed and then not have it work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good afternoon John,
Thank you for your review, I'm sincerely sorry that we couldn't fulfill your expectations fully, but it was my fault that we did not secure dishwasher to your new kitchen cabinets, I was told that electritian was supposed to connect the power that's why I instructed Igor not to secure it.
Sorry again and please give us another chance to prove our good service. All our work comes with 1 year warranty obow grade and when we work below grade then it's 25 years. Our goal is to satisfy every customer and if we can do something to make you happy pls do not hesitate and call us 4164551122 and we do our best to help.
Thanks.

10/10

We had a few locks in need of help and Locksmith Care did the job with speed, ease, and an eye to detail. He replaced an exterior lock, replaced the cylinder in another, harmonized the two, and cut us some extra keys. These were old doors so he required some patience and finesse - which he had. I highly recommend this company: on time, excellent service, and a real pro.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you John

10/10

Jose is a true master. His knowledge of trees, his easy manner, and his ability to communicate to the homeowner were all wonderful. It is a pleasure to learn from a man with such deep commitment to his craft. His diagnosis was thorough and efficient, and the results of this work were very successful. He is definitely not the kind of guy to suggest necessary work; he was very conservative and explained the tree was healthier than it looked and would continue to improve with a little help from him. Working with Jose was one of the most enjoyable experiences I've had with a home professional. I would recommend him to anyone and everyone. He has the mind of a scientist and will help you protect and preserve some of your home's most important features: the trees that surround it.

Was this review helpful?
2/10

We had Atlas install a ductless AC in our home in late July, 2013. We got 4-5 quotes, and while they were not the cheapest (actually, the most expensive), I liked the salesman Gus. He was knowledgable, friendly, responsive, and thorough - and really took the time to understand the somewhat unique installation requirements of the site. The install went well - they brought in an electrician when the going got rough, and it was up and running that day. Fast forward 23 months: we realize the AC unit isn’t working. We call them, expecting some sympathy or concern or a desire to make it right. None was forthcoming. They called back and asked if the technician would have to bring a ladder. I said yes. They said how high? I said I don’t know exactly - you guys installed it. She seemed irritated at my answer. When we dug a little further, it was clear they weren’t really standing behind their work. They weren’t going to ponder for a moment a free visit to have a look - we hadn’t paid for the pricey maintenance plan. And on the topic of warranty: “Depending on what it is, the manufacturer might cover it.” Their manner was hostile and dismissive. The implication: get your wallet out. I called Fujitsu (the manufacturer) to clarify, and they confirmed that all the parts are indeed covered, and that the contractor would be reimbursed through the local distributor for any non-labour costs. Questions I Was Left Wondering: - Why imply that the cost would be substantial (because we didn’t sign up for their plan?) - Why cast doubt on the manufacturer's warranty? It is not that they were explicitly deceptive - it is true we didn’t subscribe to their pricey ongoing maintenance contract, which I think we can all say is a great way to build their profit but not an exceptional value to the consumer. I paid $3400 plus tax for a ductless AC, and did so on the hope that they would stand behind their product and installation. The AC unit had probably been on a total of 25 days since its installation. To be told that, “Well, you didn’t buy the extended warranty, so…” (you’re out of luck…), and to have them imply that the labour costs are going to be high (even though all parts are still under warranty), was a little grimey. Under such a model, their interest is actually in a substandard installation. The vibe seems to be: unless you willing to spend hundreds a year on their ongoing maintenance plan, they won’t stand behind their work - and they don’t particularly want to hear from you, either. I’ve referred paying customers to Atlas Care who had AC systems installed, but I can say I won’t be doing that now. Go with anyone else - Atlas is more interested in upselling on maintenance than on proper customer relations. (As well, their general prices for maintenance are 60% higher than three other places on Homestars, all with 9.8/10 ratings and above. Why bother calling Atlas?)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We have called them in a few times, and have always been delighted with their service. We have an 1930 character home near Riverdale, complete with an original bathroom. Levstein and Stern were the first plumbers to be able and interested in working with the original parts and repairing rather than replacing with new fixtures. They are creative, diligent, and tenacious. We recently had them in to help finish installing an Ikea sink and cabinet in our basement suite. It involved a lot of finicky work and the plumber, Ryan, was superb - the final work was just what we wanted. As well, this is one of the few plumbers that you can get on the phone - Steve has given me advice that has been invaluable. Last, their prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend these plumbers - we don't bother calling anyone else.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had some moisture coming in through the brick because of a faulty downspout. After the moisture problem was fixed, we had concerns about what was behind the drywall. I had some trepidation about mold inspectors because the common story is that they suggest unnecessary work - Ross did not. He was impressively knowledgable about all aspects of home construction. He spent lots of time explaining the issues involved and, in my case, why no action was necessary. I would recommend him to absolutely anyone who thinks they might have mold issues. Ross is a kind, expert, and personable guy who will help demystify mold problems and get your house back in working order.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks John, it always amazes me when educating customers about mold and possible mold problems that the fears or apprehensions they have disappear right before my eyes, when that happens I’ve had a good day....Cheers...Ross

10/10

We have an older character home and our plaster ceiling in our kitchen had started to sag recently. Then it went from bad to worse, and a large chunk fell out. Since many sections seemed unstable, we new something had to be done - and done well. We knew right from meeting Shane that he was the right guy for the job. His knowledge of plastering showed immediately (and as many other posters have commented, that is a very rare thing in Toronto). He outlined the various possibilities, and we went with the one he suggested - plasterboard with a skim coat over top. He arrived when he said he would, he and his assistant worked hard to keep the dust down, and the final job was truly excellent. It is smooth, solid, and miles better than any plain-old drywall would be. The finesse of his skim work was really impressive - I can see how it takes years to master. I would recommend him to anyone looking for top quality work, from a very talented tradesman, at a reasonable price. If we ever need more plastering work, and authentic lathe plaster at that, we will hire Shane again and know that he will do what it takes to finish the job right.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I've hired Serge at All-County Aluminum before and went to him again to replace the gutters and downspouts. My last gutter system was not a disaster, but the downspouts were leaky and giving us some grief. We decided to have the whole thing replaced, and opted for the gutter guards. Serge and his team scheduled the work for about 3-4 weeks out. The work took two days and we were very pleased with it. The new aluminum matches the house very well, it was installed with care and precision, and the location of the new downspouts is much, much better than before. Serge and his team cleaned up the site each night and when the job was done. The work was excellent - many compliments from the neighbours! Would definitely use him again and recommend him to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Recently, when we had our remote damaged for our gas fireplace, we tried to find a replacement. Marsh's was the only fireplace store in town that would spend the time on a small sale to source the remote - all other stores wanted us to spend more than twice as much buying a whole new system for our gas fireplace. I echo the other comments here: the folks at Marsh's are incredibly helpful, very knowledgable, and not the most expensive. That combination is unbeatable. We have a wood fireplace and two gas fireplaces, so I don't need any more, but the service was so great that while in the store I started dreaming of installing one of their wood stoves someplace. One of the best customer experiences I've had in a long, long time. I'll find a reason to be a customer again.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

Like previous reviewer Joe Bala (August 3rd), I got a voucher deal to have my chimney cleaned. And Like Joe Bala, I am suspicious about the service. The Groupon said they would inspect and clean the chimney, and that it would take about an hour. Well, while the technicians might have been on the property for about 35 minutes, they were on the roof for maybe 10. There was no evidence that anything was cleaned. I was near the fireplace during the visit and I heard no sound at all. Like previous reviewers, no soot came down, and I saw no evidence that any cleaning had been done. I was about to see what they were doing by going outside, but they were done so quickly I missed my chance. The Groupon didn't indicate that they would clean the fireplace, so I won't hold it against them that they didn't enter the house except to get the voucher. They didn't tell me the fruits of their inspection. The technician was polite and kindly explained that he recommended some more work - on my eaves - which I declined, but having had my chimney cleaned before, I don't think anything much was done (if anything at all). I realize that many companies have Groupon-remorse -- they sell a ton of Groupons, then provide a sub-par service because the visits are unprofitable -- but I can't recommend this company. My suspicion: they have some polite guys come to the house, go on the roof, take a photo of leaves in the gutter in order to recommend other services, but don't do the work.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The entire process working with Finer Edge was awesome - Gord came by and gave a quote in a timely fashion (he even returned my call, which isn't something every company did). The quote was clear and explicit, not evasive at all. Colin and Taylor, site managers, were both excellent, too. They came when they said they were going to, explained the details of the job, and ensured I was happy with the result. The paint crew itself was also exemplary. They were polite, efficient, hardworking, and thorough. The job was done when they said it was going to be, exactly what they said it was going to cost, and the house now looks like it should. I would recommend this company to anyone - I already have, actually.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

The shingles on my house were falling apart pretty quickly. Robert and his team came and helped. The quote was reasonable (and lower than the others I got), Robert took the time to explain all the work that he suggested, saved me money by not suggesting unnecessary work, and even offered to fix a bit of the soffit that had come off in a storm. The work itself is great - as was the customer service. My neighbour, who was home when the work was done, complimented me on how careful they were with the cleanup. I didn't find one nail anywhere, and the shingle mess (of four layers of old shingles) was tidied up beautifully. All in all, a great experience - I would recommend the company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you for taking the time to wriet such a great review on The Cutting Edge Roofing and the crew....It is very much appreciated.

Robert Landry

10/10

Ernie Wilkens is probably the most honourable contractor I've ever hired. The job involved removing cracked bricks from a 80 year-old porch and replacing them. In the end, it looks great, and the price was very reasonable. Actually, Ernie saved us money by suggesting he salvage some old bricks from an unused chimney, bringing the cost down considerably. I did have some concerns about some of the work, but Ernie addressed them and refused payment until I was satisfied. He treated my wife and me with honesty, respect and care. I would recommend his company to anyone and everyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Serge was a true gentleman. He came by for a quote very quickly, gave me a reasonable price, showed up to do the work on time, and did a wonderful job. He took the time to cater to the site's individual needs. We get more compliments on the eavestrough than anything else! I would recommend Serge and All County Aluminum to anyone I know. Probably the best tradesman I have hired.

Was this review helpful?
3/10

This is an average moving company with a serious attitude. They did not treat me or my family with any real respect. We were given the impression that they didn't need the business, and they treated us accordingly. Though our move was 'only $1500,' to us it was a large event. Their customer service reps didn't want to return calls. I submitted a longer letter of complaint, but they haven't yet responded to it. The workers were adequate, their service acceptable, but I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?