There have been 3 snowfalls this season where I have had terrible experiences with this company. Dec 2021 - Damaged property, although he did take ownership of this mistake, it was met with excuses and blame. He is supposed to fix in the spring but I doubt he will. Cleared 35% of my walkway, he explained that he only makes a path wide enough to walk through. I had to shovel on my own Jan 2022, cleared driveway and walkway but left stairs uncleaned. He greeted me with more excuses. I shoveled on my own. Jan 2022 (another snowfall), Received notice that he wouldn't be clearing the regular amount of snow from walkways and stairs. He will only make a pathway. I shoveled the walkway and stairs fully and also a pathway around a vehicle (at my parent's place as they are elderly). I explained this to him and said he only needs to clear the snow from the driveway, he agreed. Later I saw that the snow was not removed as agreed. I called him and asked what was going on. He started to blame me again about how the vehicle was in the way, (He never gave any instruction to me at the start of the season where the vehicle should be parked, previous snow removal companies have never had a problem with where the vehicle was parked), and that he had to drive 3 hours to pick up someone's brother, and so on, and so on and so on. He then said that I should cancel the contract and get a refund. I agreed but then he said he would only give partial refund. He has no control over his crew, he doesn't communicate with them and just lays blame everywhere but where it belongs. After all of that, he said he would have the snow removed as it should have in the first place...23 hours later it still has not been removed. The following day, he said he would remove the snow....12 hours went by..nothing. So I cleared the snow myself. He and I agreed to terminate our contract once and for all. Avoid this service and find a better company. I don't know what has happened...his current service is certainly not reflective of his historical ratings. He sells you on the fact that he's being doing this for 20 years, maybe so....but times have changed...inferior service doesn't cut it in this century.
- Approximate cost of services:
- Company Response
We are responding to your review as it does not accurately reflect what happened and my customers need to be aware of this.
First of all, we did take ownership of the minor damage (few interlocking stones out of place by the city tree in front of the house) that was caused and as promised it will be fixed in the springtime.
Secondly, as discussed a path would be made wide enough to walk through specifically during these snowfalls because they related to the biggest snowfall blizzard that has happened since 1939 here in Ontario with upwards of 50 cm of snow.
As you were told, our team would come and clean the remainder but your impatience caused you to clean it first. As everyone knows, it took at least 3 to 5 days for the city to clean all of the snow from this massive snowfall, driveway snow plow companies are no exception dealing with this massive blizzard.
As you mentioned, since we stand by our service and satisfaction and unlike other snow plow companies we do offer a money back guarantee - which you received. It was partial refund because we have cleaned previous snowfalls since the beginning of the season.
In the end what happened is that you are judging our work based on a very rare snowfall blizzard of up to 50cm. This is why your review does not match any of our previous reviews historically as you mentioned which have all been reviews of our satisfied customers.
As you received your refund, we wish you all the best in finding another snow plow company to your liking.