Reviews

10/10

We've all seen the stories in the news about shady fly-by-night moving companies. Palmerston is anything but. Our client had a huge task. Moving three locations into one house that was under renovation. Deadlines were tight. An expecting mom and her husband needed the house to be ready for self-isolation from their move back from the USA. Palmerston did everything possible to help. They assisted with materials for one of the places in the same area, moved pre-boxed items and boxed larger items, removed mirrors and artwork, stored everything for several days while the new house was put into operable condition, accepted shipments of new items for the house (renovations made it difficult to send things there) and accepted shipments from the other locations our clients needed to send things from. At the move-in location they helped assemble and move larger pieces so that we could focus on the small stuff. Super helpful. It all came together, in thanks part to Palmerston. There's no job too big for these folks. I personally watched them work and there was no slacking off. They are efficient and bill their hours accurately. Friendly movers, hard workers, and EARLY or on time, every time (both at one move-out location and at the new house once it was renovated) Thanks Palmerston. Moving is stressful and you all helped take a little bit of that stress away. Customer service was bar-none and in particular, Arkadi was great. Several times we had to call to ask for changes in dates and times due to renovation delays. He was so accommodating. If you're looking for a reputable moving company, look no further.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your review. It was our pleasure. We are always available for your referrals.

10/10

I am so glad I found Award Plus Plumbing on Home Stars. Over the weekend my toilet stopped properly filling the tank with water (very slow!). I tried to turn off the water supply line at the valve by the toilet and it closed tight but the water kept running. Ugh. I called another company my condo recommended and they quoted me a price that seemed pretty high. That's when I started to search. Just by chance I found this company (Award Plus Plumbing) so I called. Alex quoted me half of what the other company did. He also has his master plumber numbers posted on this site, so it made it super easy for me to get my condo to approve the work. Alex gave me a quote on the phone, told me what he would do, and explained everything. He called before he came, arrived a few minutes early (yay!) and got the job done really fast. He replaced the valve with a better quality one, gave me his warranty in writing, and also replaced the supply line to the toilet and the cover that faces the wall (the round plate). Wow. Amazingly thorough. He also invited me to watch if I wanted. It was super nice and respectful, him inviting me to see what he was doing if I was interested. Very friendly, very professional, and very honest. He also looked at a few other areas in my condo and without selling anything, just told me what to keep an eye on. I like this type of consultation. He didn't 'sell' anything, he just told me what to keep a watch on in the future to avoid leaks and costly repairs. Thanks Alex. I will call you again whenever I have plumbing issues.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review, we are trying hard to keep our customer happy providing an excellent service at a reasonable price. Thank you for choosing Award Plus Plumbing

6/10

We love having warm toes, however for our condo, this system doesn't appear to provide adequate heating throughout the winter months. It's a great add-on, but we still require a boost from our heat pump to keep the room warm. Our heating bill has gone up since installing the floors, by about 20 percent, but that could also be due to a rise in electricity costs. I'd still recommend the floors for comfort, but you may need an additional heat source for colder days.

Was this review helpful?
4/10

We had a problem with a sofa that was 6 months old and they contacted the manufacturer who came to my house to make the adjustments! That was nice. The sofa continued to cause issues (We'll never buy another sofa-bed type sofa!) so we eventually replaced it. Not a great thing to have to do! The furniture is okay, quality wise - there are better places, and there are worse.

Was this review helpful?