Reviews

10/10

I started noticing what I thought were bites on my upper arm. Two days later, I had "bites" on my neck and upper back. The next day I had similar patterned "bites" on my other arm. It suddenly occurred to me that my husband had returned from a holiday with his mother only one week previous and that perhaps he had brought bed bugs home with him. Of course, the inevitable panic ensued. I called one company and spoke to a receptionist who did not ask very many questions and said they could send someone out to check. Because I was panicking and because they advertise bed bug sniffing dogs, I asked her to send the dog, because I hadn't seen any evidence, other than the hives on my body and I knew we had to be in the early stages and hoped that if there were any bed bugs, the dog would surely sniff them out. The pest control company gave me very little information as to what I should do to prepare for the visit and I was feeling a little lost. Anyway, the dog came the next day and did not find anything. The handler showed me that he was able to detect bed bugs because she had a small vial of dead specimens that she used to keep reminding him what he was looking for and he would react when he smelled the vial, so that made me think he knew what he was doing. She did find evidence behind my headboard, however, of carpet beetles. I never knew that was what that tiny bug was. She told me to vaccum the headboard and the mattress and that was it. In the meantime, I had called Mohammed at Pest Solution Services, to be a second opinion in case bed bugs were found. After she found the carpet beetles I called Mohammed and told him that I didn't need his services because the case was closed. He was very courteous about it. Well, the next morning my husband woke up with three bites on his stomach. I freaked out and called Mohammed again. He knew that I would! He came a few hours later on a Saturday. He told us to just leave our bedding and our bedroom exactly the way we had gotten out of bed that morning. When he came, he donned a disposable "hazmat" suit and booties and wore a mask. That reassured me that he took our situation seriously. I remembered that the lady with the dog had not done so... He examined the headboard, but of course I had already vacuumed it. He examined the mattress, but that too had been vacuumed. We lifted the mattress off and he examined the underside of the bedspring. He said it was "heavily infested" with carpet beetles. I have never been so ashamed of my housekeeping skills. Apparently, carpet beetles live off of organic matter found in dust bunnies, fabric, wool, etc. Now I knew why so many of my clothes had tiny holes. I thought they were moth holes. Mohammed spent two hours giving us detailed instructions on how to treat the matter without chemicals. Just basic good housekeeping practices. Then he went out to his truck and got us some supplies such as mattress encasements for our mattress and the bed spring. We vacuumed and he helped us wipe down our bedframe and helped us put the encasements on. He was diligent about making sure everything fit properly. He made us feel as though he was doing this for his own home. He honestly cared. He is a university graduate of Entomology and he was very thorough in explaining the life cycle and behaviour of carpet beetles. He explained that we hadn't actually been bitten by the beetles because they do not feed on humans, but rather we had reacted to the tiny, microscopic hairs on the beetles which I did not know was "a thing". I cannot recommend this exceptional company enough. Oh, and Mohammed answers the phone himself, so you don't have to deal with an uncaring receptionist or phone service. He asked me so many questions on the phone, that I knew immediately he knew what he was doing. He is a true professional. If you are worried about any infestation in your home, call this company first!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi,
Thanks for your detailed review about our services.
Our approach to the problem is different and is altered to each situation.

Regards.

10/10

I called Sean Carter to find out what was wrong with a light switch that had stopped working. He quickly identified the problem, repaired it and then we discussed adding another light switch for the same light, on a lower level of the house (one is at the top of the basement stairs and I wanted one in the hall at the bottom of the stairs for guests to control when in our basement guest room). I never knew that you could get a light switch installed on the wall that acted as a remote. No wiring is involved. Brilliant! What a good idea that was. While he was here, we also discussed outdoor lighting in our back garden. It is cheaper than I thought it would be, but using good quality components. I will probably hire him to do that for us at some point soon. His pricing is in line with other electricians in the neighbourhood. Sean is a nice guy, easygoing and pleasant and has lots of good ideas. Seems to really know his job. I will not hesitate to call him again for future electrical needs.

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Christine,
See you next summer!

10/10

We had some water damage in our hallway ceiling which resulted in peeling plaster and paint. Mysteriously, we also had some peeling paint in the ceiling on another level of the house, unrelated to the water damage. Anyway, we called our trusted painters at Finer Edge. We have hired Finer Edge in the past and were very pleased with their work at that time so we called them again for a quote. Firstly dealing with Bill to get a quote (which, despite the excellent work they do, was actually quite reasonable - compared to other quotes I received) was, as usual, a pleasure. My project manager, Colin, was pleasant and easy to work with as well. We actually decided, since there would be a lot of waiting around for plaster to dry, etc., that we might as well get a couple of rooms painted while they were here. Pirooz, our painter, never seemed to take a break! He was always running from one "project" in the house to another while different areas dried. He never wasted a moment while he was here. He finished sooner than predicted and yet, from the quality of the completed job, you would not know that he was "rushing". He was simply an excellent manager of his time. He was polite and a nice person and I felt comfortable with him in the house with me and my daughters. We are thrilled with the job he did on our plaster ceilings (which are not the easiest to repair) and the paint jobs are flawless. We have decided to call them back in the winter to paint a few more rooms and halls in the house; once one area of the house is painted, everything else suddenly looks tired... We will not hesitate to use them again. We highly recommend Finer Edge Painters!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Christine, thank you so much for the review you have posted...and your multiple hirings of Finer Edge is greatly appreciated....Regards, Gordon

10/10

Upon the advice of my designer friend, I hired Finer Edge to paint my existing stained maple cabinets. My contractor (doing work elsewhere in the house) was skeptical that I could get a decent spray paint job done on my existing cabinets, but I took a leap of faith and am I ever glad I did! They basically turned my kitchen into a hermetically sealed studio, taping absolutely every nook and cranny that was not to be sprayed. There was no overspray and the finish on the cabinets is impeccable. My contractor ended up being very impressed with their work and has made a note of their name for future reference. He has never seen such a good on-site spray paint job. They were fast, worked long hours, cleaned up at the end of every day, were pleasant to have around and are obviously masters of their craft. In terms of management and supervision I dealt mostly with Luigi once the job started and he was very pleasant and accommodating. I have often done my own painting in this house, but painting the cabinets was just too big a job and I decided that spray painting, rather than brush painting, was the best for my purposes, which is way beyond my scope. I am so glad I hired professionals, especially these ones! I am now looking around the house looking at all the paint jobs that maybe I should rethink doing myself and have them do instead :) Thank you for everything, Finer Edge!

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Christine, I hope the cabinets are still looking great! Regards, Luigi

10/10

After suffering a sewer backup in the Great Toronto Flood of July, 2013, our insurance broker sent a company to do emergency cleanup. We took our time to find a contractor to rebuild the basement for us. We didn't want to just "slap it together". Our designer/friend recommended Maralon to us very highly. After our first meeting with Mike, we were sure we were in good hands. His recommendations were thoughtful and considered. Mike and his assistant, Fernando, rebuilt our 3-piece bathroom, laundry room, hallway and guest room. They were able to make the bathroom larger (they borrowed space from the laundry room by stacking the washer/dryer), more efficient and beautiful than I ever imagined it could be. Frankly, the flood couldn't have happened at a better time. I was really fed up with the poor state of the old bathroom and the grottiness of our laundry room. Mike pointed out mistakes that had been made in the construction of the old bathroom and told me, and then showed me, how to build it properly with waterproofing and proper sealing and construction methods. I have absolutely no fears of this new bathroom leaking or having cracked tiles any time soon. We are a family of five and Mike knew how important it was for me to have access to my laundry machines during the weekends so every Friday night, he and Fernando would put the machines back in place so I could use them and then on Monday, the machines would be removed again so that they could continue to construct and finish the bath/laundry room. That was a gesture that I was extremely grateful for. Everything that they did was done very well. I am very pleased with the quality of the workmanship. I am now proud to have guests come through my basement and to have overnight guests. They will be very comfortable now and will feel spoiled, I am sure, using our luxurious bathroom. While they were here, I asked them to attend to a few other repairs around the house. They were able to diagnose and fix a leak from my second floor bath and repaired the ceiling below the leak. They also made new doors for my family room wall unit and rebuilt one side of the unit to accommodate a new, larger flat screen TV. I had always been unsatisfied with the workmanship on this wall unit (built by a previous contractor) and Mike took a dog's breakfast and made it (with a lot of effort and tricky maneouvers) into something I am finally proud of. They also did the backsplash tiling in my kitchen (an on-going reno) and built new cabinet doors and drawer fronts. I have not yet received the doors but I am sure they will be perfect. Both Mike and Fernando were always very polite and well-mannered, well groomed and quiet. Important qualities when they are working in your home with you there most of the time. I highly recommend this company. You will not be sorry if you hire them. Mike will be my go-to contracting company from now on!! THIS IS AN UPDATE ON MARCH 26, 2014 - The kitchen cabinet doors were sent to a painting company for spray painting (because I had already started the kitchen job with the painting company) and were delivered at the beginning of the week. Mike and Fernando came back yesterday to install the doors and a pair of new drawers. They finished today, after installing the hardware (knobs and handles). Everything looks beautiful! It is like a brand new kitchen and I really could not be happier. Dealing with Mike and Fernando and Mike's wife, Joanna, was a true pleasure. If you are looking for a general contractor, you will not find a better one. They are professional and will work with you to give you what you want. Thanks for everything guys!!

Approximate cost of services:
$35,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

After years of scrubbing the floor tiles (on my hands and knees) in my mudroom (and I mean MUDroom - thanks to the dog) and bathroom and front hall, and ending up with grout that did not look any cleaner, I finally discovered that you could actually call a company that would do it for you and with results that were actually noticeable. Yes...I guess I am late to the game. Alec came on a day and a time that was convenient to me. He is very flexible. He arrived on time and he showed me the before and after of the mudroom tiles as he was cleaning. It was like a magic trick! Incredible difference! Thank you Alec for doing the impossible. I really cannot believe how good the tiles look now. I don't have to replace them after all. If you have dirty, stained grout and tiles, I urge you to call this company.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Christine for your business and thank you for the review. We are looking forward to serve you in the future.
Alec at Green & Spotless.

10/10

I called Steve asking if he could help with a 3 year old dishwasher that was no longer cleaning my dishes. He said he would be here within 2 - 3 hours. Only about an hour and a half later he was here. Throughout the whole process, he showed me what he was finding (lots of crud!), advised why it was likely happening, replaced a seal, and gave me lots more advice on what to do to further clean it out (several empty run-throughs and one more with CLR). I have been suffering for about 6 months with dirty dishes because I had come to believe that the dishwasher was just not very good. (What can I say - this is my first dishwasher - incredible, I know.) Wow, I really wish I had called Steve a long time ago. Would have saved me months of frustration and hand-washing of dirty dishes straight out of the dishwasher. He was friendly, prompt, courteous, and worth every penny I paid for the repair. Thanks, Steve - the dishes are sparkling!!

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your review, I appreciate you taking the time to write it. It was a pleasure meeting you.

10/10

Alex and company were terrific to deal with. They came on the appointed day and time to measure for the railing for my new front stoop. I emailed Alex examples of the style of railing I was hoping for. Alex was good enough to invite me to the shop to see a mock-up of the railing before they actually fabricated it. They even responded positively just weeks before Christmas when I asked them if it would be possible to get the railing installed a little ahead of schedule so that I would have a safe railing for the elderly guests I was expecting over Christmas. We love the new railing. It is the finishing touch on an extensive renovation of our front yard. I would not hesitate to use this company again. This is an update to my earlier review. It is now the end of May. About a month ago or so, I noticed that there was a 1 cm wide chip of paint that had come off the top of the railing, where I had earlier noticed what looked like a small air bubble. I called Alex about it and he asked if it would be alright if they could repair it the next time they were in my neighbourhood. It wasn't going to hurt it to wait a bit so I agreed. I just noticed yesterday that the paint repair had been made, very quietly and without fanfare. It must have been done in the last few days. What TERRIFIC follow up service. I didn't have to nag or cajole them to come back for such a tiny repair. Customer service really is important to these guys; they don't just pay lip service to it. Thanks again, Alex!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much

10/10

Ted and his crew started the job on time in May, 2012 and we were very very pleased with the work that his company did for us. Our existing stoop was beginning to fall apart and, when they removed the existing decorative flagstone from it, we discovered that the whole structure was rotting and the whole thing needed to be rebuilt. This was not something we could have known until the demolition was begun. This extra work was taken in stride by Ted despite the fact that it would take longer to finish. The wiarton square cut flagstone was expertly applied to the stoop and steps and looks very beautiful. He made the landing in front of the stoop much larger and installed a brussels block walkway from the driveway to the stoop. That too, is gorgeous. We previously had an uneven, diy path in its place and Ted's path is so straight and even that I am actually looking forward to shoveling snow from an even surface this winter! His crew also built a new retaining wall right beside the stoop, running across the front of the house, to provide an elevated space for plantings. Landscaping lights were installed in that wall to illuminate the brussels block path below. Finally, new planting beds were installed in front of the stoop and path and also around a huge existing maple tree. New plants were installed as well as existing plants from my backyard were moved to the front and so far, these plants have appeared to survive the move very well. One of those plants was a Japanese Maple which are supposed to not like being moved, but so far, so good. His crew treated my plants with a great deal of care. The crew that Ted provided to us for the whole process were lovely to work with. They were polite and cheerful and always cleaned up the site at the end of the day, as much as they could. They were skilled craftsmen and took pride in their work. I work from home so I was here most of the time that they were. I never heard any crude language, they didn't smoke and they didn't blast a boombox while working here. I really appreciated all of this. Basically - they were professionals! Ted was also wonderful to work with. He is a very nice person and my husband and I were very comfortable dealing with him. I am sure we could have found someone cheaper to do the work, but I really do believe you get what you pay for. Ted knew that we were trying to keep to a budget and did his best to suggest alternatives that would be kinder to our pocket book. During the design process, I pretty much knew what I wanted, and Ted was able to take my ideas and present us with a design that was perfect for us and our property. He also made several suggestions that I had not thought of and which turned out to be great ideas. I will not hesitate to call on Hobson Landscapes for further landscaping work and I heartily recommend his company.

Approximate cost of services:
$28,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for the kind words!! You were great to work with too.

I hope you have a nice holiday!