Reviews

3/10

Visited the Canadian Appliance Source store in Etobicoke looking for a replacement dishwasher. The showroom was clean and well outfitted. The salesperson was friendly. I chose a dishwasher and received what I believe was a fair price. I brought the dishwasher home with me that day. The reason for the poor review is for the extended warranty program they offer through a company called W3 Solutions. The brochure (and salesman) indicate 'Fast Repair' and peace of mind, but, after about 14 months our Bosch dishwasher needed service. I was very frustrated that It took almost two weeks to have a technician dispatched to our house, and after a very brief visit when the technician diagnosed the issue as a faulty pump, it took close to three additional weeks to get the part and schedule another appointment to complete the repair. Now, about 6 months later, we've encountered the exact same issue and I've had to start all over with another warranty claim. Once again it will be almost two weeks from the time I filed the claim until a technician will come to make the initial visit. Canadian Appliance Source hasn't been at all responsive when presented with these timelines. I can't say that any other retailers or their extended warranty programs are any better, but I have been very disappointed in how eager they were to sell the extended warranty but have no interest in following up to ensure customers are satisfied with the service. They've lost this customer and I wanted to share my experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review and purchase of your dishwasher. We are sorry to hear you are having issues, the manufacturer has a 1 year warranty to cover issues.

We offer an extended warranty incase issues occur. We apologize if there was a delay in the repairs but during covid parts take longer to come into stock.

If you like Please contact us at  casreviews@canadianappliancesource.ca  with your order number and let us know what happened.

Respectfully,
 P.S
CAS

10/10

I found working with Encore to be a quality experience overall. They were responsive to my initial call and promptly scheduled an appointment to review and discuss our projects. Dave, my initial point of contact, was very professional and took time to discuss options and ask/answer questions. I enjoyed my interactions with Dave more than those I'd had with 3 other window/door contractors who were less forthcoming with their time and receptive to our questions. We actually did not go forward with the project right away due to timing (arrival of a baby), but almost a year later I reached back out to Dave and he quickly remembered us and we got back up to speed quickly. We decided to go forward with a new Fiberglass entry door from Mastergrain and placed our order in late November, 2016. The installer came by once the order was confirmed to take measurements and he was on time and professional. The only issue we encountered was that arrival of the door took longer than anticipated. While we expected it to take 8-10 weeks, it was closer to 3 full months for delivery. With the Holidays mixed in a delay was not unexpected but this was a little longer than even that would have suggested. To his credit, Dave was responsive as we waited and offered updates as he could. Once the door was ready, we were able to schedule delivery and installation for the very next day, which was great. The installers were on time, extremely friendly and professional. They were respectful of our home and did a wonderful job on the installation. Other than a caulking smell, which couldn't be avoided, there was virtually no evidence the guys had even been there. They were very clean. The door is gorgeous and the price was competitive, if not better than, all of the contractors with whom we'd met. I would strongly recommend working with Encore Home Improvement.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review, your details are much appreciated as we always strive to improve.

10/10

In our first winter in our older Leaside home we found ice damming and icicles to be a big issue. We investigated and found we were under insulated in our attic. We called in a couple of companies to take a look and from the beginning all interaction with Wojtek were friendly and professional. He came the next day to evaluate our attic and arrived right on time. He took a very thorough look and offered a couple of alternatives to address the issues, primarily blowing in cellulose insulation. We decided to go with Eco Comfort and the crew arrived on time a few days later and were friendly and professional. Wojtek came to check on the progress and spent more time with me while the work was being done. We did have to follow up as I noticed too much heat loss (melting snow on the roof as was the case before we had the work done). Wojtek was quick to come back and take a look and had the crew return to blow in more cellulose and I believe that has addressed the issue. Wojtek has always taken my calls, answered my questions and I've found him to be very professional. I would recommend Eco Comfort to anyone looking for help with attic insulation issues.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review of EcoComfort Insulation. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about the great service, and hope you think of EcoComfort Insulation for your future insulation needs. Thanks again!

10/10

We had raccoons digging their way under our backyard shed. I called Scott from Liddle Rascals and he was friendly and courteous from the outset. He offered to come and assess the situation at no charge. He offered a solution with a one way door and mesh screening at what I believed was a reasonable price. He scheduled and completed the work promptly. I couldn't recommend a company any higher.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jon for the kind words. The work we did should keep the raccoons out from under you shed for a long time.

10/10

I wanted to pass along my thoughts from my experience with Artur at Amar Electric. While having a new roof installed on our house the roofers noted that a light fixture over a bay window was improperly and dangerously wired. I needed an electrician to help with this but many I called didn't want the job or quite simply didn't return my call. Artur was friendly from my first contact and told me he would make time to come and take a look with no charge to assess what to do with this fixture. After a few suggestions we decided that we didn't want the fixture so Artur removed it and installed a weatherproof junction box. He was on time, professional and courteous. I would contact him again without hesitation when we need any additional electrical work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jon

6/10

I found Rent A Son on HomeStars and contacted them based on the many positive reviews. My initial interactions with them over the phone were very professional as they were prompt and sent a gentleman to our home to review the scope of our move. We agreed to a crew of 5 movers with 2 trucks. On moving day the first group of 3 movers arrived approximately 30 minutes late, the second truck was approximately 45 minutes late (I was told that would be addressed on my invoice, but it wasn't). The crew were friendly and worked hard while they were on hand. The 3 man crew arrived at our new address promptly however the 2nd truck was more than an hour behind. Bottom line, we paid for a 5 man crew but really only had a 3 man crew for much of the day and Rent A Son did little to address any of our concerns. Some good, some bad from this experience but the bad sticks with me more than the good.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your Feedback!

10/10

My wife and I purchased a home in Toronto and wanted to replace some basement carpeting as the previous owners had cats. We came across Chestnut Flooring on Home Stars and went to see Nemo at his showroom and the experience couldn't have been better. His showroom is clean and bright and he is very friendly and knowledgeable. He explained our various options and didn't pressure us into more expensive products. He expedited the installation to accommodate our schedule and the carpet looks and feels terrific. I would highly recommend Chestnut Flooring to anyone who might be in need of flooring products.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

After moving in to a new home that had an older central vacuum system that we couldn't get working we called Julian. I called on a Sunday and he answered. He came to assess the state of the existing vacuum the following day and explained to us in great detail its issues and deficiencies. In no way was he pushy but he was very clear. My wife and I decided to replace the unit and Julian came promptly on Tuesday and took care of everything. He couldn't have been more professional and I would recommend him highly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your review! Vacuumville appreciates you taking the time to let us and others know how satisfied you are with your vacuum service. It was a pleasure working with you! Vacuumville looks forward to working with you again in the future for vacuum maintenance needs! Thanks again!
Vacuumville
(416) 804-9144
www.vacuumville.com