Reviews

10/10

Firstly, it is so refreshing to see a woman in the business and one as competent as Denise who blew everyone else out of the water! She was the only one who 'really' figured out how to vent a new high efficiency furnace... as my situation was unique and a difficult one with windows, A/C, garage, and a gas meter in the way of venting properly to code. Since I was concerned re my chimney, Denise arranged for a chimney expert (who was swamped with work) to assess whether or not it was viable, even though I had not made a commitment to go with Air Treatment ClimateCare (ATCC). This chimney assessment was done because the Technician who came from another company to clean my furnace (on this website and promoted by a home improvement show host) verbally told me that my chimney had collapsed. NOT TRUE! I was amazed at Denise's knowledge and expertise and even more importantly her honesty and integrity. After seeing the reasonable and well laid out proposal, (install, special venting, taxes, new high efficiency furnace. I was happy to accept the contract. The install was done the next day as I had no working furnace for over 7 days (shut down by the other company that I was a member of) . The installers were great! Since my previous furnace was 39 years old, the duct work (made within a few hours in their shop) had to be redone (see pics). The whole install was seamless. The overall price including tax was very reasonable considering there was a chimney inspection done as well etc. I did my homework on the various furnaces out there and the one I chose is comparable to some of the other makes I was originally considering. I learned a lot about high efficiency furnaces, how they work, and how they are and can be vented. Although stressful initially, this was an amazing experience because Denise and Air Treatment ClimateCare turned a bad situation into a good one.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the kinds words and great review. We appreciate the continuing work relationship with you and look forward to dealing with you again in the future!

0/10

BUYER BEWARE...STAY AWAY FROM ATLAS CARE This use to be a great family owned company and from my understanding it has been bought out (as have others) by a finance or insurance company..not sure which. I had previously been a member and had my annual maintenance done by Atlas Care before with no issues. I fully trusted them until now. I had a tech Rick came out to my home over one week ago and due to COVID I did not come down to the basement to watch what he was doing. He certainly was friendly enough but told me verbally the BAD NEWS...my chimney had collapsed (how did he know?) and that he visually inspected my heat exchanger and saw a small crack in it and therefore had to shut off my gas. (I now understand they have to test this with a meter...as visually it is very hard to see...according to a tech that came out from another company) When Rick told me this bad news, I was shocked...but I thought to myself "it is a 39 year old furnace" so at first I was confident with his assessment ...until he left and I started to think about it. I wondered if he had taken any pictures of the 'crack' in the heat exchanger as he did not write 'cracked heat exchanger' in the written report (he later told me on phone when I called, that he tried but was unable to take pics since it was difficult to do so). He wrote defective heat exchanger instead, but interestingly enough he did not write anything about my collapsed chimney. By the way I had my chimney assessed by an independent chimney company and my chimney had not collapsed at all. Arrangements were made to have a quote done on a new furnace and it was conducted the next morning per my request. A very nice man came out and spent a long time examining the area, measuring, photographing etc. He promised me a quote by the end of the day since my gas had been turned off (no red tag on furnace) the day before. Since there was no quote that evening, I called Atlas care. They really didn't have an answer so I called back the next morning. The office had no idea what had happened and why I didn't have a quote emailed to me, however they were going to look into it and call me back....which they never did. Four days later and about 4 hours after I sent an email to the company I received an apology from the guy that came out, with an explanation to his 'tardiness' and a basic quote for the furnace/warranties etc...but nothing about the install etc. At that point, with the lack or concern that Atlas Care had shown towards me...knowing I had no heat and now it was day 5, I was staying away...huge RED FLAG! Bottom line...I don't think Atlas Care really cares anymore and certainly from my perspective I do not have the trust in them I use to. Regarding the heat exchanger...was it cracked? Maybe? due to age of furnace...but the chimney was in good shape and viable and is now vented to a new furnace...so that was not an accurate guess by the technician as there was no way he removed the vent and checked. So of course one has doubts about the rest of the assessment. Although I am upset and angry at how I was treated by Atlas Care, I still feel badly writing this review. However, it is my moral and ethical responsibility to tell others of my experiences so they are fully aware of how Atlas Care is treating their members/clients since it has been sold

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I have hired IWood construction in the past and because Pawel is so honest and easy to work with I asked him to do another job for me this spring. I was having some drainage issues this past winter around my patio so I asked Pawel to stop by and discuss some ideas with me. His crew did an amazing job, adding a pergola and revising an existing retaining wall and patio. I was truly amazed at the work 'Andrew' did in cutting out the rafter tails to match existing ones I had on my deck. Although no renovation ever proceeds 100% perfectly, any issues that one may have are always dealt with no arguments or complaints. Thanks Pawel and company for another great job.

Was this review helpful?
1/10

A few months ago my 2 year old kitchen aid fridge began making an occasional noise which initially I ignored thinking that it wasn't a problem. After a few weeks this noise became louder and progressed into a loud squealing which would occur about every 1/2 hour and last several seconds. I procrastinated calling for service until I noticed a small area of ice build up inside the freezer. I called kitchen aid and they in turn called in this service company. The first tech came in on Thursday, half listened to my explanation, opened up the fridge looked inside, pressed a few temp control buttons (later I discovered he punched in a special code to diagnose the problem) and told me it was the thermitor and he would order the part. I didn't hear back from the company the next day so I called to find out if the part had been ordered. I was told that the orders are not place until the end of the following day and that they would call. me. On Monday afternoon I decided to call the company since I had not heard back. For the order to be placed, I had to pay for the part upfront which of course I did. Several days later the part was replaced. One day later the fridge began making the original noise it did months ago. After a phone call back a tech came out on Friday to further assess the problem. He was actually quite thorough and did look at several parts of the fridge. That was the good news. He thought it was the damper and told me that I would get a call back. It is now Tuesday and I am still waiting for the phone call. However, I am not too worried as I will never use this service company again. Wish I had checked out the reviews prior to my first phone call.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our company went to this Whirlpool customer on May 27 to investigate noise problem. Tech who arrived found freezer frosted with ice and fan motor touching ice was making noise. He has ordered part that was replaced on June 7. On June 13 customer called back complaining that fridge is still making noise so TAS send tech next day-Friday June 14. Our tech checked whole fridge and all was working normally except fridge damper that was making noise while opening and closing. Our tech worked in the house over 1 hour and very nicely and honestly advised customer of a different issue and advise that we should charge for service call but we'll not going to and that we'll call her with estimate on next business day. This visit was absolutely free of charge to customer. Our office staff called customer next business day on Monday June 19 with estimate and customer has refused repairs so we have closed work order. Customer was shown all details how to get to the part and probably replaced it on their own.

10/10

Pawel is a delight to work with. I was tired of my cedar hedge and chain link fence at the back of the yard. Pawel and I came up with a great design and he and his team did a beautiful job. Thanks Pawel....

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Betty , always a pleasure to work for you :)
Pawel

10/10

I Wood did an amazing job on my kitchen Reno this year. I interviewed 5 other companies all from HomeStars before meeting Pawel. When I compared apples to apples he was the most reasonable, approachable, and I just knew he would be easy to work with. He never lets you down, always calls you back, arrives on time, and gets the job done in a reasonable timely manner. There were several unexpected, unforeseen problems which he dealt with, without hesitation, and was totally transparent about any additional costs. When I changed my mind about a "pocket door" he had already begun to work on, he just smiled and stated: "NO PROBLEM". That is Pawel....honest, easy going, reliable, and dependable.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

After a terrible winter my porch & sidewalk previously covered with flagstone was in disrepair, with mortar and pieces of flagstone falling off and crumbling. Since Mimmo had previously done flagstone work for me I knew he was the right person for the job. He made several suggestions re my porch steps which at first I didn't agree with. However, I finally took his advice and I am so glad I did, since his ideas were worth listening too.. Everything looks amazing and I am sure the grout and stone will stand up to the weather, just like it has in his previous work on my back steps. He does an amazing job and I would highly recommend him.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words and hope you enjoy the front as you have been enjoying the back, we appreciate you returning as a client to do yet another project with us, that expresses to us we meet your expectations.

10/10

My drain was blocked again by a huge maple on city property. This happened about 2 months ago when a reputable plumber came to dislodge the roots. Unfortunately he did not have a camera so didn't realize that all of his hard work would only last a short time. I called Roy & he came the same day. The roots had infiltrated the clay pipe & he struggled for a few hours.. cutting through the massive roots. His cutter became lodged in the tangled mess . Roy had to get another cutter and with a lot of effort he (thankfully) freed his equipment from the tangled mess. He cleared the drain. I felt very comfortable with Roy and his capabilities. Thanks Roy... I certainly would recommend you."

Was this review helpful?
9/10

The tread width of my concrete steps were shortened due to a recent porch enclosure. I wasn't sure how to rectify the problem so I called Mimmo who I found on HomeStars. Mimmo came by immediately & made recommendations re solving the problem. I am happy with my new refaced steps which are attractive and safe. Mimmo is open, honest, and accomodating Thanks

Was this review helpful?
9/10

If you choose Encore Home Improvements you have made the right choice. George is a great installer and does a magnificent job. Dave the salesman is very patient, takes pride in his work, and pays attention to detail. He is a man of integrity and takes responsibility for his actions. Encore did a great job installing windows, a door, and an operable side light with an invisible screen…. resulting in a wonderful porch enclosure. I would highly recommend them and intend to use them for future projects.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I found Giorgio on Homestars and am truly happy that I did. He called me back almost immediately and was able to come on a Saturday to accommodate my busy schedule. He was punctual, polite, friendly, and answered all of my questions. Prior to leaving he cleaned up and double checked everything to ensure that it was working. Giorgio takes pride in his work and I would highly recommend him.

Was this review helpful?