Reviews

10/10

Our 30 year-old Beam central vacuum finally died. Looked at HomeStars and found Etobicoke Service Centre. The owner answered and suggested we visit. We did and quickly got exactly the replacement unit we needed. Gave us what are options were, but no pressure tactics (we did go for a quieter unit) . Bill did the installation himself, and it was fast, efficient and painless. Thanks to Etobicoke Service Centre for providing us with a new vacuum and Homestars for helping us find them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Tom West,

thank you for choosing us for your central vacuum needs, your business is appreciated... call any time should the need arise.
Etobicoke Service Centre Ltd.

7/10

Heat went out on 28 year old hot water gas furnace (it needs service every 6-7 years). Called our usual service people, but they weren't available that day. Called McKinnon, who installed the furnace 28 years ago. The reception was polite and friendly, and best of all, they were available that day (kudos to them). Sadly, they were three hours late, the serviceman tracked wet boots (asking would have been nice), spent a full hour diagnosing the system as a bad gas valve, and was irritated (or came across that way) that we didn't just junk the whole system. Total cost $180 + GST. The next morning, we decided to go with our regular supplier to order the part and install it, since they didn't seem offended that we kept our old system chugging along. They wanted to "drop in" to confirm the problem before ordering a new part. They did drop in, and 45 minutes later we had heat! (The system required a new thermocouple which they had in the van - it turns out the gas valve was fine.) Sometime visits are delayed, not every service man is super polite (especially at the end of a day), and yes, sometimes misdiagnoses happen, so I don't think Mckinnon is terrible (it's got lots of good reviews as well). But all together, this was a less than satisfactory experience. Addendum: I had not reached out to Mckinnon before the review (I was not seeking a refund) but the owner did contact me after this review, and offered an apology and simply refunded the full amount - No strings. If my experience was less than ideal, it is clear that if you have a problem, the owner is highly responsive.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Tom for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience with our company and our service technician. We will take this opportunity to review things with our staff to improve the customer experience. Please note that we have credited the full amount of the service call to the payment method provided to us.

10/10

Our 28 year old furnace stopped producing heat, as it does every 7 or 8 years. Called Hoerner who couldn't fit us in that day. Were desperate enough we called [redacted-to-protect-the-guilty] who could come that day. They came 3 hours late, tracked snow and mud, and were clearly annoyed that we didn't just junk the furnace. However, they did diagnose the problem as needing a replacement gas valve after a full hour (and $190 bill). This was all unpleasant enough that I called Hoerner the next day to get *them* to order the part and do the service. They had someone "just pop in" that morning to confirm that the diagnosis was correct. It wasn't. Derek was polite, pleasant, and best of all, extremely competent! He fixed a broken thermocouple on the furnace on the spot and we had heat again! We've had consistently excellent service from Hoerner every time we've needed them. As I contemplate retiring our hard-working furnace this summer, they'll definitely be the company I go with.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Tom I thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on HomeStars. Hoerner technicians take pride in their work and are so pleased when customers are kind enough to review them online. Thank you so much for your review and we hope that you choose Hoerner for your future service.

10/10

Had an old, falling apart concrete window-sill broken up and repoured on Browning Ave. Cummins Restoration was quickly available, gave an estimate almost instantly, was on-time for the job, and the quality was great. Very happy indeed. Thank you, Mr. Cummins! And once again, HomeStars points me at another service man who is easily 10/10. Thank you HomeStars!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was not present for installation, but my mother-in-law *loved* them. Installation was timely, quick, efficient, exactly the price they quoted and finally the installer was very friendly and well turned out. My M-I-L wishes our house needed more dryer vents installed :-).

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Tom, thank you for the review. I am so happy that we were able to impress you and your M-I-L. A happy M-I-L makes for a happy S-I-L.
Thank you for your business.

10/10

They were on-time, fast, friendly, competent, complete (bled the rads) and competitively priced. They are experienced with radiator systems, Can't ask anything more. Will be using for furnace service from now on.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to know that you appreciated our professional and quality service. We offer flat rate pricing up front and guarantee all our work. Thank you again for choosing Hoerner. We look forward to helping you again in the future with your heating needs.

10/10

Diagnosed the problem and told me what I *didn't* have to replace, saving me half the cost of the job. Fixed the exterior tap that did need replacing quickly. He's very friendly, prompt, and *very* reasonably priced. Now I understand why he has 400+ amazing review. He's permanently added to my (sadly thin) list of servicemen I'd recommend unequivocally.

Was this review helpful?