Reviews


First Review

10/10

Greg was recommended to us by another company in Calgary. He was the only contractor that really seemed to be knowledgeable about our complex project. (Installing hardwood floor on 2 curved staircases and removing existing carpet!) We planned the project about a month in advance and he was communicating with us via text. He told us that project would take 5 days to complete and we only had to buy the flooring. He came every day from 9 to 5 and was extremely hard working. The staircases required someone with a lot of experience and Greg didn't disappoint! Our house looks so beautiful now! He also removed the carpet upstairs in the hallway. Beautiful work and finish!

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I ordered at the end of 2021 and it took a very long time to receive my package (a month or so). Their customer service rep (Paulo) was great though and told me they had been facing a lot of delays. Upon receiving my package, I realized that one photo didn't look right (probably my fault though! I didn't know there would be such a difference with lighting) and one of the frame was bent. Paulo was quick to respond and offered to send replacements at no cost. I got the replacement a week later and everything was great! Quality of prints/frame are amazing. I am extremely impressed with their HD Metal Prints. A friend did recommend PosterJack to me and wow.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was seeking materials to redo my flooring and Ismail was extremely fast at getting back to me. He also matched another quote I had received from another store and even made me save some $$$. Extremely impressed by his service. They were very courteous and really got back to me right away anytime I had questions! I hope to do some more business with him soon! Just FYI, Floor One actually has access to materials next day vs other stores where it takes at least 2 weeks and cost 30% more!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good morning Lisa,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that we were able to provide you with service that was up to your standards. We look forward to the next time we see you!

8/10

We needed to get a glass replacement + a couple other things (window locks + handles). Chinook Glass was very nice to deal with and gave us an ETA that they respected. 2 of their installers came to our place and it was a snowy day. They didn't protect the floor at all (carpet!) and left their muddy bucket sitting on the carpet. It obviously left marks. Also, when their second installer installed the new handles, he probably cut himself and was bleeding. (I found blood marks all over my carpet and even upstairs on the hardwood floor!) I am not sure why he didn't go straight to the bathroom unless he didn't notice? I mean, I found blood on the window so... Anyways, that was really a messy job and I had to clean everything up after they left. (That's when I realized it was a mess) Other than that, they were both very nice and did a good job but wow... They need to leave the premises clean! Also reached out to the sales person to let him know but never heard back.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Lisa,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, I am very glad the workmanship and service work went well. We truly apologize for the mess as no customer should have to go through this.

As mentioned over the phone, this is not our practice to leave a mess behind, our installers have been spoken to regarding double checking all work once the job is complete to ensure cleanliness and completion. All of our 20 installers are equipped with drop clothes and glass cleaner, they are required to use so I do apologize for this inconvenience. If carpet cleaning or anything else you need is required, please do not hesitate to reach back out and we would be happy to assist.

Kind Regards,

Chinook Glass & Screen

10/10

We hired Omer and his team after checking all the glowing reviews. Also, he was by far the most professional person we had to deal with while shopping around for quotes. He was extremely quick and sent me a very detailed quote by text. We hired him on the spot! He and his teammate did a wonderful job. Demo + installation of new floor in a bathroom took 1.5 days! Everything was done under 2 days. Amazing! They were also extremely nice and we already told Omer we would hire him to redo our master bath!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Colin is absolutely amazing! He has been doing a lot of work at our house (fence, shed, installing different things at our place..) and we have always been extremely happy. He is always committed and exactly knows how to handle any given task. He is our handyman and we will be calling him any time we need some help at our house!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Great team! Joe and his teammate (I can't remember her name) were both very knowledgeable. We added some extra service to have our furnace last longer (over 20yo!) and felt very confident. Joe came back a little bit later to add one piece to our furnace. Very effective guy and took the time to explain everything.

Approximate cost of services:
$850.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lisa! Thank you so much for the review!! We appreciate your business so much and happy that you were pleased.
-Fonda

10/10

We have been extremely happy with Troy's job! We first wanted to do some fence repair since our fence looks extremely crappy but the neighbours are not able to pay for a new one. I heard about Troy on a FB group (looks like he is getting a lot of referrals there!) and asked him to come over for an estimate. He was the first contractor to come and see the fence the next day at like 9 oclock and after seeing 2 more contractors I gave him the job. He came back the very same day and repaired our fence within 45 min. Then we asked him if he could remove our aluminum railing and get a treated wood instead. His quote was honestly 30% cheaper than the other guy we saw and again, he was able to do it right away. I feel that Troy is really fair when quoting a job and he told me he was usually 30% cheaper than other companies in YYC. He is right! With this economy, there is no way we can spend tons of money on stuff so I was really glad we found him and he was so prompt at completing the two jobs we gave him. I already told him I would like to hire him again for another section of our fence that should be brand new this time + Windows work. Will definitely recommend him to our friends/neigbhours!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,100.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I could not remember the name of the company that came to our place last year for aeration and finally, I found a flyer on my door and that was Seedy Lawns! The lady that manages the company is very nice and always responded to my phonecalls right away! I found her to be very professional and unlike another company that I contacted, she was able to schedule me for May right away even if we were in April. The other company didn't even come back to me because they said it was too soon! The aeration job was done promptly and we were really happy with it. + Seedy Lawns is pretty cheap compared to other companies in town! $50 + GST. Will definitely recommend and go with them again!

Approximate cost of services:
$50.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

My husband decided that he wanted our exterior windows cleaned on a Saturday. I quickly ran to Homestars and contacted 5 contractors. Allan responded within 10 minutes and gave me a range based on the size of my house. He then told me he would be able to come by the week after and do the job! On Monday, he sent me an email and told me that he just had an opening for Monday afternoon. I told him that was great and the job was done at 3 pm!! He sent me the invoice and we were VERY happy with the job they have done! Our windows are so clean now! We will definitely call them again next year! Thanks again Allan!

Approximate cost of services:
$80.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
0/10

I saw their ad on Kijiji and called them. The guy on the phone told me he would send someone within 30 minutes. It was a Saturday at 6.30 pm. To be honest I didn't expect anyone to come before the next Monday and I was a bit skeptical after reading the previous review saying they would charge me more money after normal hours. I decided to go with them only because they were 'only' charging $59 for service. Usually technicians charge $99 just to come check your fridge!!! Anyway, after 20 minutes, the guy came in with a toolbox and started to look at my leaking fridge. He said he knew exactly what was going on. I had a clogged pipe and would unclog it. I asked him how much he would charge and he said $130. I said ok fine since I didn't want to replace the fridge at this point. The guy was very nice and polite and did the job in 40 minutes. He handed me an invoince and I asked him 'What if I get the problem again?'. He said I would have a 3 months warranty and could call the company anytime. Fair enough. 10 days later, my fridge started leaking again. I called them back and the same guy on the phone told me he would find someone to come and check the fridge again. The same technician came back about an hour later and since he could not fix my fridge the last time, I was not convinced that he would this time! Anyway he looks at the fridge and this time he says that the problem comes from the gasket but GUESS WHAT. This company DOES NOT carry any PARTS! So of course, they were not able to change my gaskets and he simply said 'oh well if I find cheap gaskets I will bring it to you'. Oh please. He said the exact same thing the last time. And because he didn't want us to think he didn't do nothing this time, he removed the back part of the fridge and started to do some testing. After 40 min he said that should do the trick but I was smart enough to figure out myself the problem was with the gasket way before he told me this. 2 days later, the leak was back of course. I sent them a text, emailed them and called them because remember I have a 3 months warranty. I said I was really unhappy and wanted my money back. Oh guess what? They told me they would call me back without even asking who I was LOL. And that was it. Now my fridge is still leaking, I will have to replace it and I spent $210 for nothing.

Approximate cost of services:
$210.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Extremely professionnal servcie. They came in for Furnace cleaning first and let me tell you our furnace hasn't been cleaned in probably 7 years so it was VERY dirty. The guy that did the job was super nice and did a great job. Probably took him an hour and a half. 2 hours later, the other guy came in for carpet cleaning. Very professionnal as well. We also took something to sanitize the carpet for $60. It's actually HomeDepot who sent them in and from now on I will always go with them! I even gave their info to one of my colleague.

Approximate cost of services:
$450.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Lisa,
We are fortunate to have a great team and great customers to service!

Thanks once again for taking the time to recognize one of our team members and we look forward to serving you again in the near future

Steam Dry Customer Care

10/10

Very happy with their service. They are extremely professionnal and Nathan, the rep we dealt with was super nice. They installed a new water tank + Humidifier and we have been very happy! They always show up on time and are very polite. They always to try to accomodate you. They are not working on weekends though so take a day off before calling them :-)

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review-Pete The Plumber has a commitment to provide excellent customer service and hopefully exceed our customers needs. Truly thank you for choosing Pete The Plumber and we looking forward to helping you in the future. Have a great summer!!

10/10

After contacting 6 or 7 contractors, Candy was the only one to show up with samples. She was extremely professional and her quote was cheaper than many other contractors. We have been extremely happy with Western Granite. You can choose from a lot of different remnants and that's exactly what we needed for our two bathrooms upstairs. The installation went smootly, the guys were on time and very nice and it probably took them 30 - 60 min to remove and install the new Bathroom countertops. We also asked Candy and if she could bring a plumber along with the guys because we didn't want to install the taps ourselves. The plumber was super professional and again cheaper than other plumbers that wanted to charge more than twice what this plumber charged us!! We have been extremely happy with everything and definitely want to recommend Western Granite! Thanks again Candy!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,400.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Lisa! We greatly value referrals and your feedback is invaluable to us! Thanks again and please let us know if you need help with anything else in the future! Cheers!