Reviews

10/10

When I purchased my new house, I only realized afterwards that this house had a history of rodents. The previous owners were sloppy and the garage was full of junk, that you only got to see what was truly there until they moved out. At first I thought the rodent issue was only in the garage, so I closed any possible openings. For several months we didn't have any issues until the winter came. Noticed some interesting burrowed holes in the backyard and in the snow that led to my shed. Laid out a few traps, killed a few rats, then tore down the shed. Found a few rat nests under the shed, but no entrance into the house. It was dumbfounding, as I began to hear the rats in the walls. Tried more traps, killed a couple of more, still heard movement in the walls. Tore down my deck a year earlier than planned, as I need to locate possible entrances into the house. Couldn't find any. After killing all the rats, the mice moved in! Couldn't win and I had to bring in help. Hired Rich to inspect and lay bait stations. He pointed out that the rats were entering the house by climbing a tree and entering between the brick and siding. I never thought to look up. And the mice were entering through the loose backyard water pipe and/or the dryer vent. Rich laid down traps inside the house, while I sealed off the possible modes of entrances from the outside. Although Rich offered the 3-month package, he suggested it would not be necessary in my case, as there was no full-blown infestation; but I was not going to risk it. Providing Rich updates, he was able to come by a second time and replace the existing bait stations with fresh ones, which allowed him to provide an update on the possible numbers of mice. With less bait stations showing signs of feeding, the number of mice left over was small. It was definitely a long battle, as the mice began to dwindle in numbers and die out. I will never forget the loud crunching noises the mice made when eating from the bait stations. It sounded like it was 100x its size. Rich was great, courteous, and informative.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for placing your confidence in me. always glad to help

10/10

Before I hired Imperial Roofs, I had another roofer selected. Due to raining, covid surges, the project kept getting delayed. When I circled back with that roofer, they mentioned that the cost of materials had "skyrocketed", thus opening up the bidding for other roofers to entertain. That's what led me to Imperial Roofs. Michael and I discussed the vision I had for my roof, gutter system, and replacing vents with metal versus the existing plastic ones. When the quote came in, it was slightly higher than the original roofer I had, but Imperial Roofs was doing far more work, like adding an extra vent in the roof, replacing an old inactive vent with an active vent, and using better grade shingles. It was all worth it. The job was completed over a couple of days. The roofing completed in one day, the gutter system was over three days. The end result of upgrading a roof that had been degrading over 23-years was exactly how I envisioned my new roof and gutter system. The colours I chose do make the house standout more. The clean-up was not up to Imperial Roofs' standard, so they came back to clean-up the missed nails and shingles. Their follow-up is open and receptive, which is important from a company that you hire. There is no one-and-done from Imperial Roofs, as they truly care about their customers, as well as their work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, we know who you are and we appreciate the commentary in regards to our follow up on the way we handle our business regardless of the situation at hand. Much appreciated have a great day hope to work for your family in the future.

2/10

I have used Tony for multiple instances. Each instance was great, until the most recent one. When it is Tony by himself, the work is on-point; but when he brings a team of people to help him with larger jobs, the work is sub-par. Bought a new house, replaced a 36-year-old AC, 10-year-old furnace, and a built-in humidifier, as nothing worked properly and the old setup was terrible. Went from two control systems to one (1 Thermostat & 1 Humidistat to 1 Smart Thermostat that controlled both). Unfortunately, Tony and his team treated the work as a “re & re” (replace and re-install) without inspecting if the previous setup even worked. 1. The Thermostat they installed was not properly secured into the wall, not screwed into wood, nor was a drywall plug even used. This caused the Thermostat to shut off if there was heavy movement around the house (inside or outside). I had to fix this myself by disconnecting the thermostat, labeling all the wires, and secure the thermostat base into the stud. I had to free up more cable, providing a bit more slack between the thermostat and Furnace. 2. The humidifier was connected to the cold water pipe, not the hot water pipe. During the winter my house dropped to 20% humidity, and you can see how that affects your home and your health. 3. The furnace was not properly measured, so they had to lift it from the ground, which puts it closer to everything within the system. During the winter, when the furnace was on for a certain period of time, just to heat the house 2 more degrees, the furnace would overheat and shutdown. Quite frightening in the middle of the winter night. They should have replaced the supply and return ducts to compensate. 4. They wanted to run the AC pipe through a new route, which I was hesitant around, as there was already furnace and old AC piping going through one direction. Well, they put a hole in my wall and did a small investigating hole in the brick wall. They found their new route was below the deck and they abandoned the effort and followed the original route. I had to plaster the wall myself. They got a big “I told you so” from me on this one. 5. When installing the new AC coil, they removed the duct work and I saw all the rust particles and particulates. Instead of putting a new supply duct, they removed the rust particles and particulates. Yet, the duct was not in the greatest condition. After everything, and the kind of money I paid, only the AC works the way it should. For the upcoming winter, I have to monitor the furnace and only run it for 1.5 degree heating intervals to reach my desired home comfort. For the humidifier, I will be hiring someone else to connect the humidifier to the hot water pipe. My family cannot go through another 20% humidity-level winter. When the pandemic is over, I will be hiring someone else to replace the supply and return ducts to the furnace the way it should have been. Just wasn’t happy with the work that Tony and his team did, especially for the price I paid. It was lacking and it put my family in a frightening situation. Tony and I tried to figure out dates and times for him to rectify the issues, but the CoViD19 case surges and safety protocols I have in place to protect my family made it difficult for us to align.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Todd came in and dug right into the work. The home I was moving into had terrible upkeep, so I felt it needed a some duct cleaning. Lo and behold, the ducts and vents were terrible and Todd went right in and cleaned all the debris and debris from the vents, returns, dryer vent, and bathroom vent. Gone were the decades old coloured-dust.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we really appreciate it, we were glad we could help rid your home of the debris in the systems, and make your home comfortable....until next time, take care

8/10

Came in and did the job. My only concern was the coughing. Especially in today's pandemic, I was not comfortable going near the work area for a couple of days.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review.
Sorry I have to take blood thinner and that's one of the side effect coughing and I can't help it . But we sure did follow Covid protocol wearing mask and staying 6feet apart.

9/10

The work was quick and efficient. After purchasing a new home, it was necessary to note if the home was in good standing. Brent was quick and efficient and helped point out some of the changes that should be made immediately, and aspects that were very good about that home. My only feedback would be to combine the pictures with the report, as a visual of what you are reading is much easier to correlate what is going on.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Hired Nate to brick up a door in my basement. He and Jesse did an amazing job, even finding the same red coloured bricks to make the the wall look very consistent. You can’t even tell a door was ever present.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Mota. It was a pleasure to work on your house. Good luck in the future and keep us in mind for any prospective projects.

10/10

They came in, got on a ladder, and cleaned my eavestroughs. Straightforward job, quick and efficient. I’ve neglected my eavestrough for 5 years, so I was not surprised that there was a clog and weeds growing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Mota. it was pleasure to work with you

9/10

Job was done quickly. Other than a few reminder spots that were skipped, but cleaned, it was great. They did a great job on my main floor bathroom and stove, the dirtiest spots of the house.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for seeing those great things about our company we hope to get the opportunity to clean for you again and we greatly appreciated the opportunity

10/10

For the last couple of months we were hesitant to open up our registers because we didn’t feel the air quality was good. When I started to feel dust particles fly upwards it was time to get a cleaning done. Todd came by and did a spectacular job cleaning every single register, duct, air return, central vacuum port, and furnace. Now the air quality is excellent. We can open the registers with confidence now, knowing there are no dust particles (and other objects) flying out. Definitely going to hire Todd and Ozone again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and for the kind words, we really appreciate it....we were happy to provide the cleaning service to allow your enjoyment of proper indoor air quality post Reno ......until next time, take care

10/10

AW Mechanical did an amazing job replacing my furnace, AC, and water heater. After experiencing a horrible city block flood, I had to gut my basement and rebuild the damage that was done. Reached out to several organizations through HomeStars and friends alike. You wouldn’t imagine how many “fast-talking” contractors are out there, charging more for lesser quality units. When I spoke to Tony, he was very knowledgeable and honest. He quoted me better quality units, with a fair and reasonable cost. I felt confident in him and his work because he didn’t focus on selling me. Thank you Tony and Fabian.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow , what an awesome review. its was a pleasure working with you and we're happy because you're happy. look forward to serving you in the future. blessings

10/10

Experience a very bad flood due to heavy rain and sewer back up from the streets. Insurance companies for the area were slow to react to all the homes that were impacted. The preferred vendors kept delaying inspection and responsive action. Sadly, the more time it took to get something done, my home was going to suffer and my family would have to wait longer to get back into the house. So, I called Canada’s Restoration Services. PM Roberto came on-site, inspected the damage, and had a cleaning crew start the following day. Refered my neighbour to them and they were onsite cleaning my neighbour’s the one day after. With all the sewage and damage contents removed, my family was able to move back into the house quite fast. Four days after CRS was done (seven days after the flood), one of the insurance company’s preferred vendors called to schedule a clean-up. Three days later (ten days after the flood), the second insurance company’s preferred vendor called to schedule a clean-up. Told them both to....off. Canada’s Restoration Services was quick, fair, and handled the insurance paperwork for me.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mota,

Thank you for your positive feedback. Emergency water damages can be quite scary and frustrating to deal with. At Canada's Restoration Services, we specialize in water damage cleanup and water damage restoration. We focus on providing quick and reliable services, specifically during unexpected emergencies. We are delighted that Roberto dispatched a team immediately, which allowed you and your family to return to your daily lives. We were happy to take care of the insurance paperwork, as we value our customers and enjoy completing tasks that make the water damage procedure much quicker. We will provide Roberto with the recognition that he deserves.

Thank you again for choosing Canada's Restoration Services.

Kind regards,
The Canada's Restoration Services Team

10/10

You know, when you move into a new home, you really don't know how the previous owners took care of the pipes. In our case, we suffered from standing water in our bathroom. We tried several liquid drain cleaners for over a year, where it had temporary fixes. We had a enough pouring our money down the drain, so we reached out to Advanced Plumbing. Two gentlemen came over and snaked the drain. Interesting enough, NOTHING came back, no hair, etc. What they did was provided an education on small pipes, pipe/elbow build-up. They were able to push the build-up all out. Liquid drain cleaners only fix the first few feet, but your pipes extend farther than that and there could be build up in every elbow leading to the sewer system. It has been nearly 8 months since we invited Advanced Plumbing to our home to fix the standing water and it has been clear ever since!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We are glad to read that your problem has not come back! We like to provide the best possible service to our customers and his is a great example!

Thanks again!

8/10

It was great dealing with Alex. He is a positive individual, always welcome to your call or email. He came by and put up a great looking fence, especially with the non-standard requirements and look that we were hoping for. We wanted an extra private fence and he delivered.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Rick.

7/10

The wind in my neighbour blew out my siding. Was very worried that it would cause damage to my neighbours' property. Got a reasonably priced quote from Ecplise, two weeks later and the job was done within two hours. No mess was left behind and they took the old siding that had fallen off, which I put to the side, with them. Only drawback, they were late to the job. They offered to lower the cost, but I just wanted the work over and done with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Ricardo.

6/10

The work was done quite well. I notice the difference in changing my old skylight for a triple-glass skylight. The draft was gone and sealed. There was the smell of construction material after the first couple of rainfalls, but that went away. The only issue I had was the timing. There were too many delays and missed opportunities. I had to chase the company down for updates on when the work would be completed. Originally told the job would be done in 2-3 weeks, but it ended up taking 8 weeks. Obviously, for the good work they do, they need to hire more people; but they should set expectations that can be met.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rick thank you for your comments. I do appreciate your feedback, although I think you are forgetting that when you chose to upgrade to the triple glass pane skylight, it changed the timeline (compared to a standard two pane glass skylight) and the skylight took 8 weeks to be delivered to us from the manufacturer and we had told you that when we ordered the skylight. I can appreciate that as the customer you may not care why the job took as long as it did, but I think in fairness to us, the reason for the delay should be clear. Regard, Susan