Reviews


First Review

1/10

We chose Orchid Housekeeping specifically because they offered sanitizing services. My husband was returning home from hospital after undergoing a stem cell transplant and I wanted the house to be as clean as possible for his safety. The day prior to the cleaning, we were notified the cleaner would not be arriving in the am as booked...and that 2 cleaners would be sent in the afternoon. When they arrived, they asked to use our mop and vacuum. I was surprised by this request...but when I called the office, I was told that information was posted on their site. I couldn't find any mention of that...and nothing was said during the booking or reminders. In addition, the cleaning was NOT thorough. Items were not moved and only dusted around...and many surfaces were missed entirely. As for the added sanitizing, there seemed to be no extra steps taken...and one employee told me they were never notified that request. I do not feel the cleaners came prepared or were supported by their employer. I was not confident our house was cleaned properly for my husband's return and I would not use this service again and do not recommend. FOLLOW UP: Your response is misleading. I DID provide photographs and you only offered a 5% discount on our next booking. Also...WE provided the vacuum and I did NOT ask for the ceiling to be cleaned...only the tops of the door mouldings to be dusted. In the end, the cleaning services you provided were subpar and did not provided the security or safety for my husband's return home.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Client,

I would like to thank you for choosing orchid housekeeping during these very uncertain times.

We apologize for the experience you have had with us, this is truly not the reflection of our business and our standards. We would love to come back to your place and have you experience our 5 star housekeeping service.

It has come to our attention that you have booked using our easy online booking platform. All the information that you have missed including a missing mop and vacuum has clearly been shown as an option to rent a vacuum and / or purchase a mop. The reason we currently do not provide these two tools is due to the protection and safety of our clients as well as our staff during the covid 19. It is a serious protocol to avoid cross contaminating different units, specially for clients like yourself where your husband has just left the hospital.

We are trying our best to keep our clients safe and we apologize if this may have been confusing. For your satisfaction, we provided you both the mop and the vacuum for free of charge.

Furthermore, we have a 100% satisfaction guarantee policy where we have asked you to provide us with images of the areas we have missed and we would come back and clean your place for free of charge until you are 100% satisfied with our service.

However you mentioned that your ceiling is where we have missed, we have mentioned on our website that we are not able clean anything that is not reachable with a two step ladder. This is to protect our staff from serious injury or death.

We hope you accept our apology as we strive to provide the best cleaning service in Toronto.

Many Thanks

Orchid Housekeeping Team

10/10

We recently had the pleasure of working with master carpenter, Ewen Cameron. We contacted Ewen to replace our front steps and landing. He responded the same day was able to quickly provide us a clear and fair estimate… that in itself was a welcome change from other contractor experiences. We were most impressed with his structural concerns and how he integrated his work to complement the historic character of our house, along with our recently completed stone walkway. He also worked cleanly and fast… and always with a sense of humour. It was this refreshing work ethic and the excellent quality of the finished project that we really appreciated. We highly recommend him “officially” on Homestars… and have unofficially recommended him to all of our neighbours who’ve complimented the work as they pass by our house. Thank you again, Ewen! Cathy & Adam Toronto

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Cathy & Adam contacted me with regards to a composite porch/stair project...

Their house was historic & beautiful, so our conversations centred on high-end, colour-specific composite materials. They chose a beautiful Dark Walnut-ish colour, which nicely complemented the darker brickwork (two-tone) while standing out beautifully against the lighter brickwork...

I also suggested raising the deck height, so that the step into the house didn't require Olympic-like hurdling skills anymore (south-facing covered entrance)!!! After I explained why prevailing weather patterns allowed for this to be done, they loved the idea.

With the plan in place, the installation went according to plan & schedule...They were wonderful people to work with, both of them being gregarious in nature, which is always a bonus. I hope to be able to enhance their fantastic home in the near future, should the opportunity arise.

EwenMCC

10/10

We recently had the pleasure of working with Mr. Mark Goger. We contacted Mark for an estimate to install a natural stone front walkway. He responded the same day was able to promptly provide us a clear and fair estimate… that in itself was a welcome change from other contractor experiences. The dedication and artistry in his approach was most refreshing. He also worked cleanly and fast… and always with a sense of humour. It was this refreshing work ethic and the excellent quality of the finished project that we really appreciated. We highly recommend him “officially” on Homestars… and have unofficially recommended him to all of our neighbours who’ve complimented the work as they pass by our house. Thank you again, Mark. Cathy & Adam, Toronto

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for your review, Cathy and Adam. It was great working with you. Your attention to detail, your appreciation of the beauty of the stone and how it can be worked, and your helpful input made the circumstances ideal. Thank you for having me!