Reviews

0/10

Alpine Roofing's response below proves they did not read this whole review and shows their complete lack of responsibility. My conclusions stand. That said ... after having our roof done by Alpine Roofing we had a leak in our bathroom ceiling. On the advice of Alpine Roofing after a quick inspection we replaced our chimney. The leak persisted and Alpine Roofing performed a quick inspection again claiming it wasn't their fault. We hired a home inspector to perform a spot inspection and they provided us with a detailed report and both video and picture proof that the installation of a faulty bathroom vent was to blame. Alpine Roofing replaced the vent … THE WRONG VENT. After a few days they replaced the correct vent and the leak has been fixed. We are out the cost of a roof, a chimney, an inspection, a patched bathroom ceiling, and confidence in the integrity of our house. Alpine Roofing has been silent. We will never again use or recommend Alpine Roofing.

Approximate cost of services:
$8,000.00
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Frank,
You contact us a rainy day for a leak & we came immediately.
After an inspection, the roofer reported back to us that he found cracks on the chimney &
he had pictures to support that.

10/10

After having our roof done by Alpine Roofing we had a leak in our bathroom ceiling. On the advice of Alpine Roofing after a quick inspection we replaced our chimney. The leak persisted and Alpine Roofing performed a quick inspection again claiming it wasn't their fault. We hired HomeCore Inc. to perform a spot inspection and Rob did so quickly and very thoroughly. He climbed onto the roof and into the attic multiple times and performed a very useful sprinkler test on the roof. In the end he provided us with a detailed report and both video and picture proof for Alpine Roofing that the installation of a faulty bathroom vent was to blame. Thank you Rob for your outstanding work!

Approximate cost of services:
$350.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

After a fierce rain storm we noticed a bubble forming in our bathroom ceiling. It eventually dripped and broke through with the next rain. We had recently had our roof done and thought it was that. However the roofing company told us our chimney was falling apart. We eventually hired NF Masonry to rebuild our chimney after Niall inspected it and gave us his recommendations. NF Masonry was thorough, clean, within estimate, punctual and friendly. In the end the leak in the bathroom persisted after a rain but after an inspection by Home Core Inc. it was found not to be related to the chimney.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi frank

Thanks for the review much appreciated, I will call after the next rain to see if it's all good.

Thank you
Niall
NFmasonry

10/10

The team did excellent work. Clinton brought in 49 boxes of flooring himself ... we were impressed. Walter and his team were quick and thorough. This was especially important as I am in a wheelchair and we were in the house through the renovation. Walter made sure at every step that my ability to get around smoothly was not compromised. Things are actually easier now after the renovation than before.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate your great comments, and are very pleased that the team made the project go smoothly with minimal disruption to your home. We enjoyed working with you!


First Review

5/10

We purchased a house in the summer to which we made many modifications to improve accessibility including installing an elevator. Our house is a raised bungalow and the elevator services the garage (ground level), the main level (one stop up from the garage), and the basement (one stop down from the garage). Very soon after taking possession of the house the process of building the elevator was started as we figured it would take the longest to complete. Cambridge Elevating builds and installs the elevator only … they do not build the elevator shaft … so we decided upon a contractor recommended by Cambridge Elevating to build the shaft. Building the shaft started promptly after we took possession of the house. We met with and received regular updates from that contractor as he built the shaft. However we heard nothing from Cambridge Elevating about the progress of the elevator itself. Although Cambridge Elevating told us the elevator would be done long before the shaft was ready it was many weeks after the shaft was ready that Cambridge Elevating was finally ready with the elevator. Installation of the elevator was similarly delayed. Cambridge Elevating seemed to be dragging their feet throughout the process communicating with us only when we insisted. In the end, although it was much later than promised and smaller than was discussed with the sales representative, the elevator works very well. The finish inside the elevator is beautiful and the panel and call buttons look great. The final walk-through by the Cambridge Elevating technician was thorough and informative. We look forward to many many years of use from this elevator.

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Cambridge Elevating needs to communicate promptly and regularly during building and installation of the elevator. Our greatest beef was that we heard little to nothing from them during the process until we insisted on an update. Cambridge Elevating also needs to set realistic milestones. More than once we were promised work would be completed by end-of-day
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Be prepared to manage this project closely.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
6/10

We purchased a house in the summer to which we made many modifications to improve accessibility including a new kitchen and bathroom. We hired Mr Rooter Plumbing at the end of the renovation to hookup the dishwasher, kitchen faucet, shower fixture, toilet, and bathroom faucet and sink. As it turned out hooking up the dishwasher was beyond the plumber’s skills. He did try to hookup the dishwasher but in the end had we hired an installer to secure and level it. The kitchen faucet, toilet, and bathroom faucet and sink were installed well, The shower fixture was, again, beyond the plumbers skills … mostly because he failed to read the installation instructions that came with the unit. He cut short a pipe that should not have been cut short requiring us to purchase and him to install a fix. Finally the shower fixture was installed well (and we love it). Attempts were made to close-off two clean-out traps that were open in the basement but ultimately we did that ourselves with a bit of elbow greese. Overall we’re satisfied with the promptness exhibited by the plumber and how available he made himself for the challenges we encountered but were a bit miffed at his confusion with the shower fixture. We’re also unsure if the work he initially quoted included jobs he ultimately couldn’t do.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,640.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
The plumber should have reviewed the shower fixture installation instructions. New shower systems come out all the time and he can't expect to know how to install all of them.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
We should have hired an appliance installer to hookup the dishwasher
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Frank,

Thank you for the constructive feedback on our service. At Mr. Rooter Plumbing, we strive to provide excellent customer service and to ensure our customer’s experience is a positive one. If our technicians struggle on a job, we want to know about it, so we can provide further coaching and training to our staff. We would really appreciate it if you could call us to discuss the matter further. Please call our office at 416-488-1940 and ask to speak with the owner, Derek Moreland. Thank you.

10/10

We purchased a house in the summer to which we made many modifications to improve accessibility including a new kitchen. As unnecessary bulkheads were removed in the kitchen a great deal of attic insulation was disturbed. We hired Knox Insulation and Roofing to refresh this insulation and we’re happy with the results … even though we can’t really see those results. Knox Insulation and Roofing was prompt and thorough. It’s been a cold winter so far and our house appears to be hold its heat well.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
6/10

We bought a house in mid-August with a older-style spring-based manual door which we replaced with a newer automatic door. We hired Dodds Garage Door Systems Inc. to do this work. The work was completed to our satisfaction with a few hiccups. Although we were initially told the items in the 'attic' of the garage were not an issue we were ultimately charged for their removal ... to our surprise. There was also a lack of communication regarding the placement of the keypad entry and it was ultimately put where we didn't really want it. Otherwise the door, keypad, and remote controls work well.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,600.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Be clear between sales and final installation on how the area needs to be prepared.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Be sure to be there when the garage door is installed. We were unable to be which likely resulted in the keypad entry being installed not where we would have liked.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Frank and we apologise for the "hiccups". We aim for perfection and when we do not quite achieve it we will continue to strive until you the customers are completely satisfied.

9/10

We bought a house is mid-August to which we made extensive renovations to, among other things, improve accessibility. Those renovations included new interior doors, casings, and baseboards. After a bit of a rough start Five Star Moulding Company came through. Their work was thorough and complete. We were especially impressed with the smaller details that we're sure other contractors would have left far less complete (e.g. baseboards around small corners and transitions between differing levels of floors). We are very happy with the work performed by Five Star Moulding Company.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,700.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize again for a short delay in your project. We can control our quality of work but unfortunately, supplying is one of the things we have no control over. We are going to take extra precautions in order to prevent this from happening in a future. It was a pleasure working for you and we are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with our company. Thank you.

10/10

We bought a new house and took possession mid-August. There were a number of renovations completed in order to make our new home more accessible and these left parts of the existing hardwood floor with gaps. Also, the master bedroom was originally carpeted after an addition was added leaving half without hardwood (this pre-dated us). We hired Woodchuck Flooring to fill the gaps and the half of the bedroom without hardwood floor and refinish the entire floor to a darker stain. Woodchuck Flooring did an amazing job! I'm thrilled with the results, which couldn't have been easy to achieve. They were truly masterful. Our floor looks great! Thank you so much Woodchuck Flooring. If I could give you more than 5 stars I would.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we are very pleased to hear how happy you are with the results!

10/10

I bought a house in mid-August and sold my condo closing at the beginning of November. I had a whole lot of stuff to move from my two-bedroom condo into my 3-bedroom house. Firemen Movers were thorough, clean, and prompt. They were incredibly friendly and I appreciate very much the little personal touch they added to their service (i.e. the hot sauce). I greatly appreciate how they wrapped my couch for moving ... it came in handy to keep dust off from unanticipated renovations at the time of my move. In general, I loved their service and I'd hire them again in a heartbeat.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We bought a new house and underwent significant renovations that included a new kitchen and bathroom vanity. We chose Select Granite Tops to provide the counters for both and worked with Gustavo to select the best granite and features. The result was excellent. The counters were provided in a timely manner once we were ready for them to be measured. The installation was prompt, thorough, and clean. In short, we're very happy with our experience with Select Granite Tops.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,850.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We purchased a house with gas heating and decided to forgo the electric range in favour of a gas model. The kitchen had not already been 'wired' for gas so we hired Atmosphere Heating & Air Conditioning to install the necessary gas line from the furnace room to the kitchen. The work was done promptly, quickly, thoroughly, and cleanly. All gas lines were labelled and the proper regulator (is that what it's called?) installed, including the existing line for the barbecue. We haven't quite moved in yet buy we're looking forward to using our new gas range and are very happy with the work done!

Approximate cost of services:
$750.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We bought a home that seemed to us to be in fairly good condition. The inspection with HomeCore (recommended by our realtor) confirmed this and their incredibly thorough review put our minds at ease. We were impressed with the materials left with us after the inspection and the video taken by the inspector and shown to us. We're definitely happy.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We bought a house and embarked on renovations that included a new kitchen and bathroom. It was difficult finding a contractor to lay our tiles but we eventually found Milorad. Without a doubt we did not regret that discovery. Milorad's work is perfection. He takes his time to do the job right and it shows. He is the model of skilled labour and we wish all of our trades showed the same attention to detail. He is hard-working, does what he says he'll do (his son as well), and cleans up after himself when the work is done. We still have a backsplash to tile once the kitchen and counter are installed but wanted to write this review now because Milorad definitely deserves it. We're happy beyond belief and look forward to living in our new home.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
9/10

The house that we bought required extensive renovations in order to improve its accessibility for which we hired M&L Plastering Services. First, two bathrooms were combined into one and a traditional tub/shower was turned into a roll-in shower. Next, a hallway was widened and extraneous non-supporting walls and casings were trimmed. Finally, bulkheads were removed above the original kitchen cabinets (admittedly not an accessibility modification, but a good move nonetheless). We completed the demolition ourselves and hired M&L Plastering Services to install and finish the necessary drywall. M&L Plastering Services was prompt and completed the job quickly and thoroughly. Our only complaint is the mess left behind (e.g. half-empty boxes of plastering compound) but we've gotten used to picking up after contractors so overall we're very happy. Thanks M&L Plastering Services!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,700.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Remove any left-behind mess. Drywalling is understandably a VERY messy/dusty job ... it would put you over-the-top in our books to do a quick vacuum over the site.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Be prepared for a mess/dust when drywalling ... it's unavoidable.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The house that we bought required two roofing jobs for which we hired The Roof Whisperer. First, there was wood-burning fireplace in the basement that we removed. We hired The Roof Whisperer to remove the metal pipe that ran through the roof and patch up the open section. Second, the bathroom had no ventilation besides the window. We installed a fan and hired The Roof Whisperer to install the necessary ventilation in the roof to which our HVAC contractor eventually attached the fan. The Roof Whisper was prompt and completed the job quickly and thoroughly. We're happy.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,017.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Frank;

Thank you for taking the time to write these words. We are glad that you are happy with your roof.

The Roof Whisperer Team

8/10

I required modifications to my condo to make it more accessible for me in a wheelchair. Reliable was involved in the initial consultation and throughout the project. Changes were required as it was determined what was and wasn't possible in my condo. Reliable was always available. The work was completed in a timely manner and was thorough and complete. My bathroom looks great and functions very well for me. I struggled in my old 'standard' bathroom. It is now a joy :-)

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Frank,

I'm glad that you are pleased with the outcome of our work. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Ronny Wiskin