Reviews

10/10

Needed some railway ties removed from the garden area. They were already by the curb and needed a service to get rid of them. Dradco wa very prompt and came by the next day to complete the job

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Quick and easy work should be dealt with quick and easily, Thank you for the kind words!

Kind regards,
Emerson.

10/10

Had water seeping from the ceiling of our attached garage. Umbrella came and through investigative work was able to determine the leak was coming from inside the house from a water pipe feeding the upstairs ensuite shower. Vlad was able to isolate the copper elbow pipe that had a pinprick leak by going through the drywall at a specific calculated space. Replaced the elbow and stopped what could have been a very expensive issue. Total time 3hrs.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Jeff is an amazing and honest contractor. We have employed 3 different contractors that all promised a low cost solutions to our leakly skylight and we wasted money on them all. Tired of getting bad service I came to HomeStars and found Moore Skylights, Jeff responded quickly, set a convenient time to came over to assess the situation and provided a very competitive custom solution. When the day came to do the installation, Jeff was very courteous and cleaned up the entire mess. Finding Jeff and Moore Skylights are one of the reasons I use HomeStars. I am happy to claim that for the first time in a long time our new skylight does not leak!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Steve,

It was a pleasure to meet you and to be able to solve your leak! I am very grateful for the awesome review! I know that you will enjoy that custom Velux skylight for years to come. Thank you again for the kind words and for choosing Moore Skylights Inc.

Jeff Moore (Moore Skylights Inc.)

0/10

Terrible experience with this company. Quoted $80 and $30/10 min . I agreed in advance of their fees as I was told it was a 10 -20 min job. Signed a contract saying any extra visit would be no charge if no parts needed (I have the replacement part so good there) and Tech starts to unscrew the plate on the range. 50 minutes later (?!) tech says he needs his superior to come a to remove this first screw with a "special tool" on another day. 10 days later (after I make all the calls for them to return) they arrive, same single tech, no superior and now says that have to charge me another $80 plus $30/10min, even though the contract we spoke about and I signed said there would be no extra charge for the extra visit. I wanted to speak to a manager to clear this up but he would not wait and left after 5 min. Weird. Very bad customer experience.. Out $$ with no fix. Dealing with their senior management now but not hopeful for a resolution.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Valentin agreed to come and replace our wall in kitchen faucet and replace our old shut off valves below the sink. Not an easy job as the sink is antique. Valentin took extra effort to make sure it worked properly and was level. Note that we bought the replacement faucet ourselves (American Standard from Amazon.ca) He also consulted on another issue we had with our basement toilet and fixed it for free (replaced a leaky valve). Very professional service that was on time and efficient. Probably costs a little more and others but you get what you pay for!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

sorry for late response, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. Valentin

10/10

Another amazing top notch job by Matt and his team. Matt came in,assessed the situation, gave us a number of options, went out to source the materials, came back and installed and then stayed to make sure the work was quality. All this in an hour and ten minutes. Hard to find honest, top notch plumbers with this experience. Could not be happier.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Steve! It's a pleasure to solve your plumbing problem in a timely fashion!

4/10

Booked Enchanted Chimneys to come clear a squirrel who has occupied a space in our chimney. The Tech did come on time and was courteous but after spending about 15 min looking in the chimney and at the gas fireplace that was connected to the chimney, said that we needed to get a qualified gas tech to remove the gas fireplace to get at the squirrel/nest and that he was not "gas" qualified. Far enough, but I was still charged $70 for the brief inspection visit. I would understand the charge if Enchanted would then go to the next step and get me someone "gas" qualified (with which they could charge me a service fee on top, if they have no-one in house) to remove my unwanted visitor and the nest. But now I am back to step one looking for a chimney sweep who can also deal with chimneys connected to a gas fireplace and out $70. There were some other issues with the chimney (the water heater was also venting through the chimney and needs separate liner) but the removal of the squirrel was still job one. They could have told me on the phone if a gas fireplace was involved they were not qualified and save them the time, a bad review and lost an opportunity to make more money by thinking about solving their customer's problem, in which some of the steps would involve them. So let it be known after contracting Enchanted Chimneys to remove a squirrel and clean the chimney we still have a squatter in our dirty chimney, but we are out $70.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We understand your frustration with our service charge and we apologize. We rarely get calls requesting any kind of service on a gas appliance as gas is clean burning and almost always has a screened cap at the top to keep animals out. We do try to always ask if the service needed is for a woodburning system, but appears in this case we did not. On these rare occasions we try to be as helpful as possible and advise on how to proceed from there. Often we do try to offer a referral, however, there are some areas that we do not have a referral. Again, we apologize and will be more diligent in our initial questioning so we can avoid any dissatisfaction.


First Review

10/10

Had a leak on our metal roof and after a few estimates from roofing companies that suggested we replace our skylights ($$$), Sam was able to come in, correctly identify the problem as flashing/water direction issue and correct the problem immediately. Sam is honest, fast and very knowledgeable. I have learned that although he calls himself a general handyman he really specializes in exterior home issues. If you have leaks, call Sam! I'm surprised Sam is not on homestars yet, so I hope this review read to give us homeowners another great handyman resource! (From his web page) - Skylights, install and repair. - Eaves, repair and install - Water leaks, fixing all types of roof, basement and dormer leaks - Installing and repairing sidings, vents and house wind turbines - House thermal proofing, sealing houses, doors, windows for new and old homes - Basic plumbing, basic electric and assorted handyman jobs around home - Full home fixture before sale as to pass buyers testing

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Matt was excellent in rebuilding our problem toilet. We thought we might have to replace the entire thing, but Matt recommended that we repair the mechanicals and the replace the intake value as it was leaky. Matt was honest, on time, professional and did an excellent job rebuilding all of the toilet mechanicals in just over an hour. It is like we have a new toilet! Highly recommended. Grab him before he gets too busy! <2008> Update, the toilet that Matt repaired had a few other issues this year and we called Matt, who came back, sorted it out for free. This reflects the type of service Matt provides, thanks Matt!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review

8/10

Matthew and his team were fast, efficient and thorough. The only blip was that a lead drainage pipe was nicked by one of the team when cutting into the basement ceiling and it had to be repaired so that it didn't leak. A bonus was they also repaired the drywall, sealed and sanded it; ready for painting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?