Reviews

10/10

Martha provided the initial quote which was very competitive and she was very professional. She did a very good job of answering questions., particularly those I asked relative to the relative newness of this business. The crew showed at the agreed upon time, completed the job in the time they specified and did a very good job of cleaning up. They reviewed what was done and had me take a peak up in the attic to ensure my understanding and satisfaction. They suggested because they were young (both business and individuals), they try harder and want to ensure complete satisfaction. I liked that and believe they really do try harder.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Gerry,

Thank you so much for your outstanding review!

When we started this journey we wanted to ensure the satisfaction of each and everyone of our clients!
We are thrilled that we could deliver on that promise.

We hope you enjoy the new found comfort in your home! We wish you a very happy holiday season, and a wonderful year to come!

From our family to yours,

-The NDS Team

9/10

Gennadiy is very responsive and provided a very reasonable quote to remove and replace old decorative shutters (we provided new shutters) as well as new gutters and downspouts with leafguard system. Very professional during installation and did a great job on cleanup. The only issue we had was a couple of fasteners from old shutters were not removed and one brick was damaged during removal of the old shutters. We were able to remove fasteners on our own and repair the damaged brick. At the same time, Gennadiy was very helpful in subsequently addressing a drainage problem we experienced (through no fault of them) and provided materials at no charge which allowed us to address the issue. Overall a positive experience and we have recommended to neighbors, one of which did in fact avail himself of their services and was also pleased with the results.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,320.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your business and high score review Gerry!
However, it's a first time that I hear about some fasteners issue and a brick damage - we were communicating during entire project and way after it was completed- you had no complaints except some extra work you had mentioned above that was done with no additional charge. Thanks again for your business and referral. Much obliged. Gennadiy


First Review

10/10

We engaged the company with a request to remove two large juniper trees at the front of our home as they were drying up and had grown too close to the house. The guys showed up on promptly at the agreed upon time and date. They were courteous and professional and cleaned up well following the removal. While we were under the impression that the stumps would be ground/removed that day, we were assured they would be back the following week in order to complete that task. As promised, they did return as agreed and once again, did a good job of clean up. Also, we were provided a good explanation of the work completed. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Approximate cost of services:
$575.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Communication was top notch. We were told the date and time and Ben called that day to provide an update on the scheduled time. Ben arrived at the agreed upon time and was very professional. I pointed out one particular spot of concern and he assured me he could take care of it and he certainly did. The process took approximately one hour and we were very pleased with the result. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Approximate cost of services:
$286.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I would like to thank you for your beautiful review. OLIVA SERVICES

10/10

We were looking to have a gas insert with fan installed in an existing fireplace in our basement rec room. Ryan Park came to our home to measure, provide recommendations and an estimate of the cost. He provided great advice on our options and was very professional. Given the timeliness of their response and our experience with Ryan, we made the decision to proceed with them. Eddie kept us well informed along the way and a little more than a week later., Steve and Ryan (another Ryan) were there to do the installation. They were also very amiable and professional and completed the installation in 1/2 a day. Ryan provided detailed instruction and answered any questions. Eddie subsequently followed up to ensure we were completely satisfied which was certainly the case. Communication throughout the process was excellent and everyone involved gave a strong impression that they wanted to win the business and also appreciated our business. A very positive experience from start to finish and we are pleased with the end result.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,150.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are very happy to hear you had a positive experience from start to finish Gerry. Thank you very much for your generous review, we truly do appreciate your business. Enjoy your new fireplace and the comfort it will bring you.

10/10

The job was to replace a shared fence line, a return with gate and a front fence line. Paul provided a very detailed quote and we took his advice on the type of fence which would be suitable. The crew showed up on time, went about the job in a professional manner and completed the entire project in one day. They placed excess dirt where we requested and clean up was very good, taking away some debris we had not necessarily expected but were pleased they had done so. Both my neighbor and I were extremely satisfied with the process and the outcome. We agree that we would not hesitate to highly recommend them. I will certainly use them again in the event I can convince my neighbor on the other side that it is time to replace that shared fence line.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for our kind review. We hope you enjoy your fence for years to come.

Lumber shortage? summer almost over? You let us worry about that. We have great fall and winter discounts available. Contact us today.

GNFP

10/10

We chose Forestwood out of three estimates initially because of their timing. Mike was the first to come out and provide an estimate and secondly, he was able to do it in the relatively short time frame which we were requesting. His team arrived on time on the day agreed upon and in short, did everything we had asked for and more in a professional manner. Great job cleaning up as we had a total of 5 large trees which we needed to have pruned back from the house and garage. Not a trace of their work was left behind. Mike consulted us throughout the process, providing options and making recommendations. He and his team also provided advice on how to do our own pruning in the future. Price for the job was very reasonable as well and we were very pleased with the job done.

Approximate cost of services:
$570.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Gerry. Glad to hear you are happy with the work. It was great working for you and please let us know if there is anything we can do in the future!

The Forestwood Tree Service Team
Forestwood Tree Service
Tree Service in Mississauga
www.ForestwoodTreeService.ca
(416)508-1119

10/10

Rare Electrical was one of three requested quotes through HomeStars. Josko provided a timely response and came to our home to provide an estimate. We liked the fact he came to see exactly what we were looking to have done, whereas one provided an estimate by e-mail after we described the work which was to be done. Also, it is nice to put a face to the name. The third was less timely with contact. We required a number of switches/outlets be replaced, low voltage lighting in a bathroom replaced, repair the electrical connection of our over the stove microwave, a three way switch which did not function etc. While working in the bathroom on the lighting over the vanity, Josko suggested replacing an old halogen ceiling fixture with LED pot lights. We did take him up on the suggestion. It was a tremendous improvement which we had not considered. We are very pleased with all of the work which was done to our entire satisfaction. Josko is very professional and takes the time to show you exactly what he has done and make suggestions. A real pleasure to work with and we would not hesitate to use him again or recommend to friends.

Approximate cost of services:
$726.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Gerry and Janet,
I'm so pleased that you are satisfied with the work and choosing Rare Electrical Service. You were great people to do work for as well. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Josko
Rare Electrical Service


First Review

10/10

I required inside trim on a skylight in our home. Gary showed up as promised and undertook what was a somewhat challenging job in view of the location, slope and depth of the skylight tunnel. I considered the price very reasonable and had difficulty getting anyone else to do the job as it was considered by some as too small of a job. The trim was required to prevent condensation and is not only functional but looks great as well. Very professional and also did a great job of cleaning up. I would not hesitate to call on them for bigger jobs and will certainly recommend to family and friends.

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Mike originally came to our home in order to provide a quote for two new garage doors and two openers. He was very friendly and provided a number of options and suggestions. We subsequently dealt with Grace who was very professional and timely in her communication. Mike returned to complete the installation of the doors, openers and aluminum capping. He did exactly what he said he was going to do, showing up as scheduled and was great at providing instructions on use and maintenance of the doors. I suggested there really was not a need for the outside keypad but he pointed out some benefits and I am now glad he did go ahead with the installation. The doors look great and we would not hesitate to recommend Easy Flip Garage Doors.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,982.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Gerry, thank you for writing a detailed review here on homestars. This will help other consumers choose the right contractor for their garage door services. You have been such a great customer. Thank you for trusting our company to complete your garage door project. In case you need us in the future, we are only one phone call away. Hope you are enjoying your new garage doors!

1/10

I should have mentioned at the outset that when I first posted this review, Max denied that I was a client despite our ongoing discussions. I believe it's called "revelation of character". I was able to provide the proof. Twin peaks replaced roof shingles in August of 2016. On the day the work was to be done, Max advised the need to replace original skylight as he could not guarantee against leaks with original. We agreed and Max purchased the skylight and did the installation himself. We were generally quite satisfied with everything upon completion of the job and did in fact refer him to a neighbor (singular). However, on January 8th of this year, another contractor doing work on the second floor master bath, advised us of a leak around the skylight. I called Max that afternoon and he returned my call a few hours later. He did come by the following afternoon and examined the skylight from the roof. He indicated the problem appeared to be a result of the installation whereby he had been required to do a modification due to the skylight being so close to the peak of the roof. He indicated the modification did not seem to take and that he would be back the following day to remedy. He did not show up the following day or the day after. I called and left a message and did hear back from him 24 hours later. He indicated " now that he had a chance to sleep on it", he thought the issue may be a result of condensation and that he would come out later in the day to inspect from the attic which in fact he did. He now thinks it could be condensation as existing insulation around the skylight box may not be sufficient. He indicated however, that he was not an "insulation guy" and he would consult his insulation guy and be back to me over the weekend, the next two days in order to confirm this may be the cause. Nine days past and we heard nothing from Max before we left on an extended holiday. I subsequently sent an email through the Twin Peaks web site and never did receive a response (claims he never saw it) . Following our five weeks away and no indication of any attempt by Max to contact us, I suggest to my wife that I have lost total confidence in Max and time to take other action. She wants to give him one more chance so she calls him on March 6th. He does return her call and indicates he firmly believes the problem is the insulation issue but does not use the original insulation guy he referenced earlier as he was too expensive. He was dealing with new guys and would get back to her the following afternoon. Of course more than 2 weeks passed without a word from Max. After more than 2 months of run around we proceeded to contact professional skylight installation/repair specialists. The consensus among them has been that the space between the drywall and skylight is the primary issue . In fact the skylight specialist took one look and said "while there's your problem, the guy never finished the job". He indicated that the space required trim and caulking. I asked about insulating the tunnel and his response, "not the source of the problem but a good idea." To finally confirm , I downloaded the installation instructions from the manufacturer's web site and the final step is""When drywall is not in contact with white finished skylight frame, add on-site trim for finished appearance and prevent conditions that may contribute to condensation." Everyone we have brought in recognizes this issue but Max prefers to lay blame at the feet of the people who added insulation to our attic some 15 years ago. Simply laughable.

Approximate cost of services:
$8,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI Gerry! first of all thank you for all your referrals to your friends and neighbors.

What you need to do is call the INSULATION company who did your attic. (you said they you got it done a few year prior to your roof being complete in 2016 but you can not 'remember' who it was) What they failed to do is RE-insulate your skylight tunnel. Since your attic has been insulated, more heat has been kept IN your home, therefore even MORE warm temperatures are going to rise to the highest point, in this case it is up your skylite tunnel, since the insulation of the tunnel is original with the house (approx 40 yrs old) and has NO vapor barrier, therefor you are suffering heat loss which is condensing to frost on the underside of the plywood. REMEMBER when you hire a trades company they are only responsible for the the specific trade they are contracted to do. We can only offer help in recommending other companies to serve different parts of your home but definitely can not be held accountable for their lack of response!
Good luck on finding the company who did your attic, again i have since forwarded your information to a couple of insulators that have been recommended to me you will, definatley have better luck now that the spring is here.

Max

10/10

We used Fix-My-House a few years ago for a custom shower and sundry plumbing jobs and were extremely pleased with the results. More recently when it came time to do a partial bathroom renovation, we did not hesitate to contact Allan again. Once more we were very pleased with the results and the entire process. Communication is easy, regular and ongoing. Allan takes a great deal of pride and satisfaction in doing a job well. A true professional who displays considerable integrity, he does what he says he will do, on time and on budget. He and Joanne make a great team and are very easy to work with. The crews used in both cases were professional, personable and open to suggestions as well as conferring on our opinion as they progressed. Allan checked in with us regularly to ensure the job was progressing to our satisfaction. Given our experiences with Allan, Joanne and their staff, we would highly recommend their services

Approximate cost of services:
$11,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the review for your property in Oakville. We take great pride in our work and take the necessary measures to ensure that a project is done to our best ability each and every time. Of course, working with wonderful clients like you makes our job that much easier. We hope that we can do more projects together in the future.