Reviews

10/10

These folks did an excellent job, from beginning to end. We contacted a few other companies to obtain some quotes for the work on a drain between our driveway and the garage to prevent rain water from running into the garage. Tim from Consumer’s was clearly more knowledgeable and worked thoughtfully to come up with the best solution. His recommendations were clearly superior to those of the other contractors. The price was competitive. The work was done well, with an attention to detail, and in a timely manner, with very friendly, honest, hard-working staff, even in the worst of weather. Excellent work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure working With you

2/10

Penfolds installed our new Ecoroof Rubber Roof in 2007. We took out a $28,000 loan to do this. The company strongly promoted the long-term viability of this product, which carried a 50-year manufacturer’s warranty. Initial problems and leaks around our chimney were satisfactorily addressed. However, over the following 11 years, we have been plagued by five (5) major roof leaks in a number of places. Last year, just prior to the expiration of the 10-year workmanship warranty, we suffered another major leak. A workman from the company misdiagnosed (intentionally, perhaps?) the problem as a tiny bit of debris that had found its way between the tiles. Surely, by 2017, Penfolds must have been well aware of the problems plaguing Ecoroofs of this vintage! The saga continues. A few weeks ago, we experienced another major leak (the worst of any leaks to date). The next day, a helpful Penfolds rep installed a tarp over the area of the leak and informed us that the rubber tiles that the company used in 2007 were subject to significant shrinkage and deformation over time! Finally, we had an explanation for our history of recurrent leaking! No wonder our attic shows signs of water damage in countless places. We subsequently requested an opinion from an independent roofer, and his assessment agreed with that of the Penfolds rep: major shrinkage and deformation of the rubber tiles, and in many locations, poor placement of nails – all adding up to an unpredictable leaky roof. Over the next few days, the Penfolds tarp blew off, and the forecast was for more rain. We asked the company to reinstall the tarp and provide us with better roof coverage, given the unpredictability of the next places that are likely to leak (we provided the workman with 2 of our own tarps for this purpose, which he diligently installed). Two weeks ago, we phoned Penfolds and spoke with Stephane. He told us that the matter had been handed to a production manager, who was in contact with the manufacturer of this totally unacceptable Ecoroof product. Since then, we have heard nothing more. This week, on 2 occasions, we called Penfolds, to receive an update on our file, but our calls were not returned. To say that we are disappointed in Penfolds is an understatement. Update 2 ½ months later: Several weeks ago, Penfolds and the manufacturer of the rubber tiles came to inspect the defective rubber tiles on our roof. Although the manufacturer proposed replacing the south-facing side of the roof only (because up to that time, all the leaks occurred on that side), Shaun at Penfolds insisted that the entire roof be replaced under the warranty, at no cost to us. That is exactly what they did! The roof is now completely finished. The work crew, led by a kind and friendly man named George, worked incredibly hard in spite of the uncomfortably hot weather and left the yard clean and tidy. We are thrilled with our new roof, and thank Penfolds for their understanding and perseverance. Follow-up rating: 10/10. Thank you! Signed: Not Leaking in Langley

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I thank you for taking the time to have a conversation with me today. As I mentioned during our call, this is the first time we have encountered an issue like this. We have since been in discussions with the manufacturer and they have confirmed that they had a problem with one of the raw materials at the time your product was manufactured. They immediately scrapped the entire batch but regrettably your's must have gotten through. As a result of this we confirm that we are going to replace your entire roof at no cost under our warranty program. Furthermore, you will be issued a new warranty that will commence from the date this replacement is completed. At Penfolds Roofing and Solar you can trust that we stand behind our warranties and our workmanship and we pride ourselves on a superior product. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you suffered as a result of this oversight. We have over 1,000 installations completed and have not seen anything similar to your installation. I am available to discuss at any point - Shaun Mayhew, Sales and Marketing Manager