We hired One Call Reno to retile our steam shower. The work entailed removing the existing tiles and installing client supplied tiles and a client supplied stone jamb to the shower curb.
Our contract called for the walls and ceiling to have 1/2” moisture resistant drywall, painted with a waterproof membrane. Without consulting us, this contractor used DensShield drywall without applying a waterproof paint membrane.
Michael, the tiler, was good and he left the premises in a clean condition every day. He doesn’t speak english and this did pose a problem as we had to reach Mark by phone for any communication. The the call-backs from Mark were not always prompt and on at least two occasions no call back at all.
The glass door, transom above the door and side glass were to be removed and reinstalled if the side glass would fit. If it didn’t we would have to order a new side glass at our expense. Everything did fit but Michael installed the door without the bottom seal and this caused a gap between the door and the transom.
This posed 2 problems. Since this is a steam shower the bottom of the transom and top of the door must be aligned to prevent steam escaping and without a bottom seal on the door, water leakage becomes a problem.
Mark tried to excuse this by saying that the bottom seal to the door crumbled and fell apart and so Michael decided to install it without a bottom seal. Once again, we were never consulted on this or asked to purchase a new bottom door sweep. Instead the door was lowered creating the above mentioned gap. Unfortunately, we paid Mark in cash before the shower door was installed and had no recourse.
Mark told us to call a glass person to rectify the situation. We did and were told that there was no way to install a sweep without removing the door and reinstalling the door hinges at a higher level. This would mean that we would have holes in our newly installed tiles that would have to be filled. When we called Mark with this news he refused to accept any responsibility and said that he would reinstall the door but we would have to pay for 1/2 day labour for this service. We refused and are having another firm look after this.
When we deducted $70 for cost of client supplied grout and L trim, Mark insisted that this was to be customer supplied even though our contract stipulated “all tile to be grout” and “supply and install tile edging”. Rather than argue we paid him the extra $70.
This review is not based on personal emotions towards Mark or his employees. As we mentioned Michael’s work was good except for his failure to install the shower door properly. However their motto of DO IT ONCE DO IT RIGHT looks good on paper but is not followed through in real life.
Since the original review was posted, Mark told the glass person not to do the work for us because we didn't give him a positive review. we therefore had no choice but to downgrade his review to 0.
- Company Response
Thank you for choosing One Call Reno. We appreciate your business but your review is quite disappointing. We upgraded the drywall to a concrete board which was more costly. The point of contact is the company and not the employees, the work looks great and when it came time for payment you tried to discount the contract total by $70 so you can give a tip to our employee even though we were already $1000 less then your lowest quote. Our workers complained that you were always standing over their shoulder and not allowing them to work efficiently. You were full aware that your custom glass might not fit back perfectly and when the time for the glass it was one small section that needed to be replaced not the whole unit so we did save you a ton of money there. We also moved your steam shower at no additional charge.
Sol, your back to back phone calls (7 in a row each time) were always returned within 10 minutes. If there was an emergency our on site foreman would call us. We then sent you our custom glass company for you to work directly with as we did not want to work with you any longer.
Sol, if there is any trouble with the work that we have done we offer a full warranty and would be happy to assist you with any concerns you may have that pertain to our quality of work. We would appreciate an honest review of what we have done and not of your personal emotions towards our employees.
The One Call Reno Team