Priority Plumbing

Plumbing
1594 Dupont Street Toronto ON M6P 3S7
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Plumbing
Priority Plumbing
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Priority Plumbing

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (709 reviews)

Sort by

Modspace
Modspace
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Unblock a plugged toilet

Priority Plumbing was dispatched to my condo at 9 pm to fix a plugged toilet. The call was $159 flat. Upon arrival, the Priority Plumbing technician quoted a staggering $843 to fix the problem using a snake. I had no choice but to proceed as my neighbour below was complaining that water was dripping into his unit, and I was 1,400 miles away and unable to assess the situation myself. Within 90 minutes the problem was fixed, and Priority Plumbing banked a grand.

A grand to fix a toilet in an emergency. A poll of my friends ("how much would you expect to pay for...") revealed that almost everyone viewed this amount as excessive.

A follow-up call with Priority Plumbing to complain about the price proved fruitless. They claim that their up-front quote is what it is, and that I agreed to it (which is true, but the circumstances were such that I had no option).

Lesson: keep a list of reasonably priced emergency service people on hand, so as to avoid outlandishly expensive charges levied under duress (such as this one from Priority Plumbing).

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry that you do not see the value of having a licensed, insured, competent, drug free, criminal record free, fully trained, quality and accountable individual in your home, especially when you are 1400 miles away. I know that I would be quite concerned about letting just any stranger in my home with my family.
Some people would consider having their problem fixed in 90 minutes or less to be excellent service.

However, I am not surprised by your surprise about the price. I too am amazed at the costs involved in running a fully licensed and professional service company. We have to pay for things like:
Licensing, Insurance, Office equipment, Telephone, Fax, Benefits, Truck Maintenance, Test Equipment, Gasoline, Truck Inventory, Training, Utilities, Office Leasing, Quality Control, Service Management, Administration, Postage, Technician Salaries, Office Help, Tools, Taxes, Workers Compensation, Office Supplies, Office Equipment and Computerization.

Now come’s profit. A 10% net profit on the selling price, although seldom realized would be ideal. So if we were efficient enough to earn 10% on a $200 repair, we would earn 20 taxable dollars. I’m sure you’ll agree that this is not excessive for providing top quality services on your premises.

We try every thing in our power to keep our costs low, to keep our prices as low as possible to prevent this type of customer dis satisfaction. This is why we never ever start any job without you knowing exactly what it will cost first and you have to authorize it. Our up front pricing manual ensures that we are not just looking at you, trying to figure out how much money you have or that you need to be a good negotiator to get a fair price. Everybody pays the same.

And as far as keeping a list of emergency contractors more reasonable than us, I don't believe that there is another company out there charging less than us who would even answer the phone at night, and if they did they surely wouldn't have the accountability or quality of service that you received by us.

I think it is a bit unfair to slander us when you knew the price before we started. We can't control when you call or where you are when you need us.

We do not charge more for our services no matter what time you call.

Again I'm not sure of the type of service you are used to, expect or have required in the past, but I believe that it is unfair to complain when we did everything possible to be as transparent as possible before we started the work.

I can't do anything about the costs of running a business in downtown toronto, all I can control is the quality of service we provide. I don't think you can complain about that. This is what has won us the Top Choice award for Best Plumbing Company in Toronto 3 years in a row.

Priority Plumbing
https://priorityplumbing.ca
416-762-8662

David in High Park Neighbourhood
David in High Park Neighbourhood
1 review Coden, AL
1/10

Estimate to install toilet

My wife called this company to come give an estimate to install a toilet, a very small job. Priority Plumbing quoted an outrageous price of $600 just to install a toilet. Our toilet had cracked and all they had to do was remove the old toilet and install the new one. We didn't hire this company and had to absorb the $40 consultation fee. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. Feb 5 2009

Approximate cost of services:
$600.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

The costs were less than $600 and that included a whole house plumbing maintenance inspection, disposal of the old fixture and a "lifetime" guarantee on the installation. Some people would consider not having a leak going through their ceiling, spilling onto a doing room table due to a poor installation worth the extra $50 than a non- professional.

You Sir were not home at the time of the consultation, and we dealt with your wife. Your wife told me on the phone later that day, that she would definitely use us in the future for any work that she felt required a professional. I guess you don't feel that installing a fixture requires a professional.

I certainly cannot compete with a handyman, low baller, non-professional, who may not be around in a year should something goes wrong.

I know that I can't stand having other trades persons in my home because something always gets scratched, dented or dirtied. This is why we at Priority Plumbing strive every day for customer service excellence. We respect your home and your property. Not to say that is for everyone and not to say that is for you. This is also why we never start a job before offering the price first.

That is the type of service our thousands and thousands of happy customer want, that is why 78% of our customers are repeat clients, and that is why we win the Top Choice award year after year, for "Best Plumbing Service" in Toronto based on Quality, Service, Value and Professionalism.

Should you ever require "professional service", please keep us in mind Sir. We would love to hear from you, and are at your service whenever you may need us.

Priority Plumbing
https://priorityplumbing.ca
416-762-8662

Bill in Etobicoke
Bill in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

My house was being renovated and my fiance and I were on crunch time! We didn't anticipate all the plumbing problems that were buried in our walls. Thank God that the staff at Priority Plumbing were able to accommodate us and help us meet our deadlines so that we could take our honeymoon with peace of mind. They were also very thoughtful and had the foresight to provide rough-ins for future fixtures, something that we would never had thought of on our own, but now will save thousands of dollars in the future as a result.
Thanks guys, keep up the good work!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Bill,

We hope you are relaxing on your Honey Moon, stress free, on a beach, with a pinacolada right now. We are excited that we were able to make that happen for you. I can't help but remember back to my wedding day and all the fuss. The last thing you need is to deal with unreliable contractors. This is why we've made customer satisfaction our number one priority here at Priority Plumbing. As far as saving you thousands of dollars, experienced staff that Care seperates us from our competitors, who can only claim to offer services similar to ours. Thank you for your write up and we wish you a lifetime of peace, health and hapiness. If we can contribute to that in any way, we will always be here for you.

Sincerely,
Chris Prather - customer service manager

Priority Plumbing
https://priorityplumbing.ca
416-762-8662

Greg from Parkdale
Greg from Parkdale
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

fix leaky tub faucet

Plumber came to our house promptly, and was very polite. $230 dollars to fix leak, but we were in a bind about to leave for vacation, so we said go ahead with the work. A few hours after the work was complete, the faucet was leaking again. Plumber came back, tried to change the cartridge, but didn't have one that would fit. Said he could try to find the parts, but that it would be another $230 + parts to fix it. $460 to fix a leaky faucet. "Well you know it's a really old faucet," the plumber says. Come on! Anything would be better than this!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Greg, I'm sorry that you are not 100% satisfied with the service you recieved. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority here at Priority Plumbing. It is common with old faucets in old downtown homes, to be un-repairable, and the one's that may be repaired are sometimes difficult to find parts for. Having said that we do carry parts for over 25 different name brand faucets, an inventory list 2nd to none. Unfortunately, more often than not, the only solution to an out dated faucet is to replace the entire set of taps. This seem's to be the case in your situation. If our plumber has to search for parts for an out dated set of taps, as any proffesional you may aquire services from, will want a fee to do so. We would be happy to update your old leaky faucet to a more modern one if you so desire. We can even suggest a good but affordable set, if you are on a tight budget. We can credit the $230.00 you've already paid us, towards a new set of taps. This is standard practice for us. I only wish you had contacted us to resolve your issue first, before writing us up negatively. I'm not sure if you booked the appointment or your wife did because we could not locate you in our customer record by simply Greg from Parkdale. Please call us at 416-762-8662 and we would be more than happy to resolve all of your issues. Our company was built on repeated and referred business through an excellent record of customer satisfaction. We hope to hear from you and for the opportunity to resolve all of you Plumbing, Drainage and Heating requirements.

Sincerely,
Chris Prather - customer service manager

Priority Plumbing
https://priorityplumbing.ca
416-762-8662

Greg from Toronto
Greg from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Drain Repair

We called Priority Plumbing when we had a backup of sewage in our basement. They were fast, courteous and very efficient. They used a camera to identify and locate a tree root problem. They took the time to explain every detail about the job and the job process. They had to break the floor in the basement and replace a section of broken drain. Not only did they have the work completed in a timely fashion, they left the work area very clean. They even helped us get a $2000.00 rebate from the city which covered the entire cost of the work. I highly recommend Priority Plumbing to everyone!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Greg, We wish to thank you for sharing your positive experience with our company on Homestars. People usually only go out of their way when they are dissatisfied with a product or service they recieve. We are happy that you are satisfied with our service. Customer satisfaction is our mission here at Priority Plumbing. And we are certainly happy to get you the $2000.00 back from the city rebate program. Nathan asked me to sincerely thank Susan, for the tea and cookies she gave the guys during the job. They really appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Chris Prather - customer service manager

Priority Plumbing
https://priorityplumbing.ca
416-762-8662

Nancy Monaco,  Toronto, Ontario
Nancy Monaco, Toronto, Ontario
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Leaking Faucet

I am very thankful to Priority Plumbing for the terrific job they've done on the replacement of my faucet. I thought I would have to break the shower wall down to have the taps changed. Priority Plumbing was able to do the work efficiently, and was excellent in containing any dust to the immediate work area. We are very happy with the look and operation of the new shower faucet and we didnt have to make any repairs to the wall or tiles. Besides the professional appearance and attitude of Greg, The work was done to our 100% satisfaction the first time. He covered our new carpets with his own CLEAN tarps and truly gave us excellent service.It became even clearer once the work began, that he was a highly skilled plumbing technician. The choice I made to call Priority Plumbing out of all the other plumbing companies, had a bit of luck involved. I was in an emergency situation as the hot water was literally gushing ouy of the shower taps and we had to turn the main water to the building off. I had used another plumbing company in the past but wasn't satisfied with their service to say the least. So I went online and found the Priority Plumbing website. The customer testimonials on their website is what prompted me to call. That is why it is with great pleasure to write this letter for Priority Plumbing, a company that takes pride in their work and quality of service.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Priority Plumbing
https://priorityplumbing.ca
416-762-8662

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Priority Plumbing

Priority Plumbing is voted best Plumbing & Drain Service in Toronto for Quality, Service, Value and Professionalism. You know the price before we start. Non-Commissioned Plumbing, Heating & Drain Technicians. Fast, Friendly and Competent Plumbing, Heating & Drainage Service. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Specializing in residential Plumbing, Heating & Drain services. Clean Plumbing, Heating & Drain worksites, We wear floor saving shoe covers and use workmats to protect your home. Same day Plumbing, Heating & Drainage Services. Emergency Plumbing Heating & Drain Services. Convenient appointment times. Full Service Toronto Plumbing Department, Radiators, Boilers, Plugged Drains, Sewer Replacements, Wet Basement Waterproofing, New Water Services Installed, Water Heaters, Drain Cleaning, Fixture Installations, Leaking Faucets Repair. Toronto Plumbers who Perform Quality, Clean and Convenient Services.

CATEGORIES
Plumbing and Drain Services
SERVICES
Full Service Toronto Plumbing Department, Radiators, Boilers, Plugged Drains, Sewer Replacements, Wet Basement Waterproofing, New Water Services Installed, Water Heaters, Drain Cleaning, Fixture Installations, Leaking Faucets. Toronto Plumbers who Perform Quality, Clean and Convenient Services.
BRANDS
All Brands Available Upon request. We are fully stocked with the most reliable parts in our trucks.
SPECIALITIES
All Plumbing, Drain, Heating, Waterproofing Services done by professionals who care for your home and take pride in their work.
WEBSITE
http://www.priorityplumbing.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2001
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
12
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Visa, Mastercard
LICENSES
Master Plumbing License P17794Technical Safety and Standards License 00749274
MEMBERSHIPS
Nexstar Network of Elite Contractors
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Master Plumbing License P17794
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
49.99
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
You know the price before we start, every time.
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Lifetime Installation and Workmanship Warranty on every job.100% Customer Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.