After getting quotes from 4 different companies, we decided to go with Three Towers to supply all the hardwood for our house. Their cost was the lowest for the same quality the others were offering.
They told us that each box contains about 18 sq/ft of hardwood but they usually include more up to 20 sq/ft.
Well, when the boxes arrived and our contractor began installation, he found out that we are short about 2-3 boxes! We did a calculation of the total sq/ft we ordered against how many boxes we received and turns out it was around 16 sq.ft per box! The salesman shortchanged us! I called him out and he didn't deny it (this is probably standard practice to them hoping the customers doesn't find out they're shortchanged like we did). He agreed to get me the outstanding boxes but this caused unnecessary delay with out plans.
In the end, their prices was good, the quality was good, their business practice is completely unethical and unacceptable!
Note: In response to the Company's response, he did not visit me at my home, never shook my had no did he apologize. The last I saw him was at their location when I went to pick up the outstanding boxes owed. As a result of his false account, I'm lowering the rating from 2 to 0 stars.
- Approximate cost of services:
- Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
- Ask all questions and verify everything before it's too late!
- Company Response
Actually we remember this customer. We not only sent the extra wood, we also installed the balance for him at no charge. At the time we were prefinishing our material at a very large, well known branded finishing plant in Etobicoke that was doing private lable finishing for us. There was a mistake from the factory, as they labeled the boxes the square footage for 4 1/4 that they produced, while our material was 4 inches. Once we were notified of the shortage, we found out why it happened and how it happened and we implemented a solution. There was a delay as we had to wait for the next production run to run extra material. We delivered the shorted material to the customer, and we also installed the extra material at no charge as a show of good faith. Contrary to what he says, this is not standard practice, and it is such an isolated incident that it happened over 3 years ago and I still remember the details. What bothers me however is that when we settled the problem, I went to his home, I apologized to his face and we shook hands. But I guess in this day and age of the internet it is his right to complain. We do feel we tried our best to right the situation.