Country Homes Ltd.

Vaughan ON L4L 5V9
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Builders in Woodbridge  >  Country Homes Ltd.  >  Very Poor Experience
1 review Toronto, ON

Very Poor Experience

My wife and I purchased a detached home in Alcona Innisfil September of 2020 with Country Homes. The sales representative was amazing! Very informative, helpful and honest. Once we made our purchase and we were no longer dealing with the sales representative, the experience slowly started going down hill.

Decor was a challenge as the decor manager at the time was not very understanding of certain situations, however, we will get back to this later. While construction of our house was very slow, our issue was the poor communication and the amount of mistakes that were made. We had to contact them several times informing them of items being done incorrectly or were missing. With less than 3 months from closing, we got a email informing us we would not be closing at our expected date. They did not provide a final closing date with proper notice until we were a month away. Upcoming closing, they provided our lawyers an incorrect total purchase price and charged us an additional $452 for an amendment. They would not close the property unless we paid for something that was not our fault.

After closing, we had several issues with the house. Most unforgivable is with our kitchen. We did not take kitchen uppers as it would be unused space. The decor manager informed us our cabinets would meet the kitchen bulk head. There is now a massive gap above our cabinets and after reaching out to Country Homes several times regarding this, they are not going to rectify as we do not have this in writing. I do not feel this is something I should have requested in writing as we were discussing directly with the decor manager. Money was never the issue, we just saw this as something we did not need. If we were informed correctly that would be a gap, we would have added the uppers. We now had to live with a kitchen we are not happy with or hire contracts to try and resolve this somehow.

A safety issue we are currently having, our corner lot is being used as storage for their materials to build the remaining houses. We are are unable to walk around our property safely.

Overall the experience purchasing with Country Homes was a poor one and personally would not purchase another home from them. This was our third time purchasing a new build. This has been by far the worst experience and longest 30 day Tarion form we have completed.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response


Thank you for your detailed review. First and foremost, thank you for purchasing a home from us! Country Homes' goal is to deliver a beautiful home. We build homes as per the homeowners requests and selections in writing.

Country Homes prioritizes safety for our homeowners and our workers, to our best ability. As per your contract with Country Homes, from time, we may leave material on site where the grading has not yet started - especially if it is adjacent to active construction, where the materials will be used.

To keep safety measures in place, we do not allow access from the back doors from inside the occupied homes, where there is active construction behind them. We do not permit access where construction is active, to avoid homeowners or personnel getting injured.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope that our service team can assist and rectify your experience with Country Homes moving forward!

Should you want to discuss anything further, please contact!