Country Homes Ltd.

Builders
111 Strada Drive Vaughan ON L4L 5V9
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Builders
Country Homes Ltd.
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Country Homes Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (91 reviews)

Sort by

annetteserrao
annetteserrao
2 reviews Innisfil, ON
10/10

Alcona, Innisfil Ontario

My husband and I were living in our previous home that my father built for almost 30 years and so when we purchased our home from Country Homes we were not sure what to expect. I have heard horror stories from other purchaser that bought from other builders how they were Ignored after they moved in. Well this is not the case with Country Homes. From the day we moved in I have received many phone calls from their Service Department to make sure we were happy. Their Service Department is honestly like no other, they are absolutely on top of any repairs that need to be addresses and they go over and above for the Home Owner. Thank you Mara, Mark and Anthony, our house turned out more beautiful than we expected. My husband and I are truly impressed with the quality of our home and are extremely happy we purchased our new home from Country Homes. They truly care about Quality and Service. Best decision we ever made!!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$495,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Anette!

Thank you so much for the kind words. On behalf of the entire service department we are proud and honoured to have helped make the process of buying and moving into your new home a pleasant one. Wishing you and your husband a wonderful new year and many more in your new home!

Warm regards,
Anthony Rinomato

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Acton, ON
9/10

First Time Home Buyer

As a first time home buyer with Country Homes, I was amazed with the quality and variety of products available to individualize my home at their Decor Studio. After my closing the attentiveness they put into building their houses was obvious, and they went above and beyond in ensuring any concerned I brought forward were cared for. I have not experience this level of dedication in any other builder, and am thankful for their representatives support throughout this process.

I look forward to buying again in Milton this year.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There is nothing that tells us we are doing a good job better than seeing our previous homeowners come in to buy another house at a different site. Thank you for these kind words and we are thrilled to have helped make your first Country Homes home a memorable one.

Warm regards,
Anthony Rinomato

Alex in Woodbridge
Alex in Woodbridge
1 review Brampton, ON
9/10

Bought A Wonderful Home from Country Homes

Recently purchased a Country home's home in Brampton from the Castlegate project. Was thoroughly impressed by the outstanding quality, and the service was exceptional. I have bought homes from 3 different builders before, but none compare to the quality and service I've seen from Country Homes.

They are a true family run business and take pride in what they do. Calls are answered promptly, service is always done on time and our family always feels like its in good hands. Heard they are opening a site in Milton, will certainly be looking to purchase another home from them!

Approximate cost of services:
$300,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Alex! Hope you're doing well, it's been way too long! Thank you for the beautiful review and please give Kathy a big hug from all of us at Country Homes! We're thrilled you love your new place and we'll be here every step of the way!

Warm regards,
Anthony Rinomato

MarkM83 in Innisfil
MarkM83 in Innisfil
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Innisfil

2nd time Country Homes buyer and I couldn't be happier with the quality and workmanship of my home. Extremely friendly and attentive service department, they truly go above and beyond to ensure their homeowners are satisfied. I was really impressed with the transition from sales, to decor, to construction and finally service. There was always someone there responding to my phone calls, emails and questions. I would highly recommend this builder for quality, $ value and customer service.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mark, we appreciate the kind words. Stay registered on our website for updates. We will soon be sending out a promotional giveaway for referrals in Innisfil!

Reach out anytime!

Warm regards,

Antony Rinomato

Tania in Woodbridge
Tania in Woodbridge
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Repaired my roof after 12 years!

My roof suffered some storm damage that revealed a hole in my roof. Country Homes sent over a roofer to repair my roof at no charge to me. They were also very attentive with a follow up to confirm that the job had been done correctly and to my satisfaction. Thank-you Country Homes!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our pleasure Tania! We are glad to have been at your service. We understand and all go through those stressful times in life. Happy to help

-Anthony Rinomato

Jean-Luc in Mississauga
Jean-Luc in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

New Home

Purchased a home from Country Homes in Milton, I was really impressed with the quality and value of the home. The service was outstanding, even after two years I always get an immediate response and the helpful staff keeps me assured that this was the best builder I've ever dealt with. It was a great experience and I will definitely be buying another home from Country Homes.

Approximate cost of services:
$489,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jean-Luc! We're happy to hear things have been going well. We build our homes with the best quality materials and expert care because we expect them to last a lifetime and we always love when our homeowners appreciate that. We wish you all the best in the New Year and can't wait to see you in Milton!

Warm regards,
Anthony Rinomato

Vincent from Innisfil
Vincent from Innisfil
1 review Innisfil, ON
1/10

New house

Country Homes has built a very nice house. Lots of customization options to choose from. Only had 1 delay from original closing. Would buy another house from them anytime. Quality house for our family and looking forward to watching the kids grow in it.

Approximate cost of services:
$560,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Vincent, it seems from your review that you are happy with your Country Homes home and experience. Please email us with the specific reason you felt we deserved 1/10 stars. We also just recently released more homes for sale in Innisfil if you are interested please contact me anytime.

warm regards

Anthony Rinomato
anthony@countryhomes.ca

N from Innisfil
N from Innisfil
2 reviews Innisfil, ON
0/10

Builder

With very few choices in town we were sold on how great the workmanship and trades were. The sale process went pretty smooth. Then the issues started as the house went up. A part of a support post was hanging off the foundation. We raised this concern to the site super, in person, right in front of our lot. We were told that it was fixed and exactly how it was fixed. We hired a top notch home inspector for our 30 day. We told her about the support post. Guess what we found? The post not sitting squarely on the foundation. The workmanship with the exception of the drywall personnel and the one go to carpenter, has been horrible. More damage and more subsequent visits to fix pre-existing issues. The house was not clean upon PDI. Heaps of drywall and sanding dust in the closets, dried putty and glue on the counters. The exterior brick was ladened with mortar. The power wash left deep gouges in the brick and tore off chunks of brick. They had to send someone to do brick staining and someone to fill in the blown away mortar. The hardwood floors are snap crackling and popping when you walk on it. The tiles are squeaky throughout the house. The after sales process has been painstakingly stressful. I can't turn the hands of time back but I can certainly voice concerns that are worth something to anyone who is considering to spend their hard earned money on a new home. If I could, I would not have bought from Country Homes.

Approximate cost of services:
$380,000.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize for that your experience did not reach your expectations. Country Homes has taken a strong customer experience restructure over the last two years. Again, we sincerely apologize for any stress that we may have brought you during your home owning experience with Country Homes

Sincerely,

Anthony Rinomato

J from Milton
J from Milton
1 review Milton, ON
0/10

New House Purchase

We purchased a new build from Country Homes and took possession in June 2013. From day 1 we had issues with our cold cellar, which the Builder actually forgot during construction. This was an upgrade that we paid for and they backfilled it, forgetting it in the initial building process. We had to point out this flaw to them, to which they promised us that "we would have the best cantina" on the block. Funny because they also forgot our neighbour's cold cellar as well. After going back and forth, they had assured us that there would be no issues with the cold cellar, as they would have to now excavate the area and go about putting it in a different way than how it was originally supposed to be put in, cutting a door way in the concrete and now waterproofing the exterior wall of the house. Since day one of taking possession of our home, we have had water on the floor and walls in the cold room. Country Homes had assured us that this was our problem, as we were not maintaining the humidity in the cold room, as there was condensation and mould forming on the MDF door they put on the cold room. When Country Homes was contacted about the mould on the door, they were quick to remove the door and discard of the door, but again we were told that this was our fault. The door matter was finally resolved after Tarion was contacted and a proper 3rd door was installed which was a steel solid core door that we fought for. We thought our problems were over, however winter came and we battled the cold room daily as we had water and frost build up on the corrugated steel ceiling, and water dripping on the junction box that the light was attached to and when the first thaw came, we cleaned up over 100galons of water and damaged personal contents because water had been penetrating through the wall which is the issue that Country Homes was made aware of from day one when spotted on our PDI with the Service Manager, at which time we were told "it was water from washing the floor". When the water matter was brought to their attention in the Summer of 2013, they did not bother to water test or excavate the wall and find out what the issue was, but rather it took a winter of water constantly coming into the cold room, for them to finally dig up our front yard in the middle of May, because they had advised us that they could not dig in the Winter because the ground was frozen. Had the work been carried out and completed when the water issue was brought to their attention, we would not have been dealing with the Winter and situation that we dealt with, instead of always blaming the grading, the way the water was running against the wall and not having sod put down in the beginning. We also had to have our cold room vent moved 3 times which means coring a 4 inch hole in the concrete wall each time. So they finally came and dug up our front lawn after hiring a Landscaping Company to do the digging and waterproofing in May 2014, and not the forming company who originally did the work. They dug up our front lawn to which they found that the waterproofing membrane around the Hydro Service was cut and not waterproofed correctly. At this time, the waterproofing was completed with a Blue Skin and a dimple board membrane and the area was backfilled. A few weeks later, after our sod was replaced, we watered the sod and discovered that the wall was still leaking as water was coming in the exact same spot as before. Again, we contacted Country Homes and the Service Manager took his time to arrange the repair. From May - October, we yet again dealt with water in our cold room and finally took it upon ourselves to contact the forming company that had originally done the work during construction and was told that Country Homes had never contacted them regarding this issue. At this time, Country Homes was contacted by the forming company and arranged for Country Homes to send them out. This was finally done in late September and after weeks of waiting for an approval from Country Homes, the forming company came out and completed the work by exposing the wall, applying tar, blue skin, and waterproofing dimple board membrane. Within the same day, they backfilled the area without properly backfilling around the utilities. Ex. Cogeco & Bell Fibre Optic cables, Water Line, Hydro Service and Gas Line. Since this date, our Cogeco cable snapped, our Bell Service was disrupted as the line was pulled out of the Bell Box on the wall, and our driveway has collapsed in where the excavating was done underneath it. It's now been over 2 weeks and the Builder has failed to check into the matter and send a landscaping company to repair the patio stones that were disrupted during the work, as they said they were going to send somebody over a week ago. We are still waiting to determine if this repair will fix the matter and for Country Homes to repair the damages to the front step and cold room vent that were done during this most recent repair. Country Homes takes their time to contact their customers with concerns, blames the Home Owner for issues they do not want to assume responsibility for and funny enough once Tarion is contacted, you'll get the best customer service possible and resolution to the matter brought before Tarion. This has been nothing but a nightmare dealing with rude service people. We have sent countless e-mails, photos and made phone calls to Service and too have experienced extremely rude Customer Service. The one and only person who has resolved some of our concerns with other issues is Mark and we are grateful for his great customer service, repairs and people skills as he resolves the issues properly and not trying to put blame on somebody else as he is there to make the customer happy. As for Management and other Country Home representatives, we are highly disappointed in the level of Customer Service that is given back to THEIR CUSTOMERS and the lack of professionalism is appalling and the feeling is mutual in the neighbourhood, as a lot of our neighbours have had issues and dealt with the same rude customer service and being BLAMED as the homeowner. We have shared our story with several people and nobody can believe the issues and problems we have told them about as they just can't believe it as the house is brand new. As you can tell from my review, I would not recommend Country Homes to anybody looking for a new home and do not wish this experience on anybody.

Approximate cost of services:
$350,000.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sincerely sorry you that our customer service department did not live up to your expectations.

We have since restructured and have made management changes in our company.

Warm regards,

Anthony Rinomato

Marie from Innisfil
Marie from Innisfil
1 review Innisfil, ON
0/10

New home sale

Would NOT recommend Country Homes to anyone. Terrible customer service, terrible with honesty, terrible commitments, terrible contractors, terrible quality. They design a nice house, take your money with fake smiles and make you feel like they are doing you a favour in fixing ALL the lazy contractor errors (which are MANY). They sell a nice house layout and design but nothing more. They hire lazy cheap contractors that barely get the work done on time and correctly. Their safe working habits LACK and they have no regards for the consumer. They take forever on returning calls and emails, and when they do they make it your fault. Do yourself a favour and steer clear of Alcona by the Lake Country Homes. Nothing but headaches since move in.

Approximate cost of services:
$394,000.00
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Marie, we apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with Country Homes. Since you have purchased we have changed product, trades, and management internally. Thank you for your feedback and again, our sincere apologies.

-Anthony Rinomato

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Country Homes Ltd.

Country Homes has been building homes for Canadian families across the Greater Toronto Area for over 50 years. We have been honored with a Master Builder Award from the Residential Construction Council of Central Ontario (RESCON) for our excellent product quality and outstanding customer service as well as Tarion finalists for the Award of Excellence.

CATEGORIES
Builders
PRODUCTS
Single Homes, Semi-Attached Homes, Townhomes, and Mid-Rise Condominiums
STYLES
Modern, Classic, Contemporary, and Elite
SPECIALITIES
Specializing in Building Residential Communities
WEBSITE
http://www.countryhomes.ca/
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.