Ashton Service Group

Plumbing
Richmond BC V6X 3M4
Write a Review
Write a Review


HomeStars
Plumbing
Ashton Service Group
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

75%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Ashton Service Group

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (105 reviews)

Sort by

Marian
Marian
1 review Burnaby, BC
10/10

Furnace review

It was Jan 12th... - 16 in Burnaby... My furnace was sounding loud and didn't want it to die in the middle of our deep freeze weather. I called Ashton.. explained what I needed. It happened a technician was in my area. He was here in 15 mins. Gave my furnace the once over and said everything was fine. Tested the house for carbon monoxide and all was good. He was done in 20 mins and there was no charge for the inspection. He was polite and friendl, I am so over the top happy. I will always use Ashton and recommend to my friends and family.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Michael in West Vancouver
Michael in West Vancouver
3 reviews West Vancouver, BC
9/10

Improved radiant heating

Keegan diagnosed the cause of our cool radiant heating and improved the heat exchanger. Thanks to Keegan, we now have a warm house for XMAS.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
matthew in Langley
matthew in Langley
1 review Langley Township, BC
0/10

Extremely Disappointing Service from Ashton

This HVAC companys service was beyond appalling. They initially scheduled an appointment for Monday morning despite my clear urgency due to an impending inspection the following day. Despite my explicit request for same-day service, they disregarded my needs entirely and failed to show up in the morning as promised.

I was left in a lurch, having to call them in the morning to inquire about their absence. Shockingly, their response was nonchalant and indifferent, showing no concern for missing the appointment. Their solution? A casual reschedule for the afternoon, completely disregarding the fact that I had taken time off work for their morning visit. Their lack of apology or acknowledgment of their mistake was truly frustrating.

Upon rescheduling for the afternoon, I sacrificed the latter half of my workday to wait for their technicians. However, they failed to provide any updates or arrive at the promised time. It took me reaching out to them once more, only to be informed that they wouldnt be coming at all that day.

This flagrant lack of responsibility and disregard for their commitments not only disrupted my plans but ultimately sabotaged my impending inspection. Despite their colossal error and the significant inconvenience caused, the company failed to show any remorse or even offer a simple apology.

My experience with this company has been nothing short of a nightmare. Their unprofessional behavior, blatant disregard for customer needs, and utter lack of accountability make them utterly unreliable. I strongly advise against placing any trust in such an incompetent and careless HVAC service provider.

Approximate cost of services:
$179.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews North Vancouver, BC
10/10

washroom pipe inspection

A wonderful experience with this co. Dan was very professional and on time.He is very knowledgeable and will give good advise regarding the issue at hand.Will use his services again when needed.

Approximate cost of services:
$130.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews North Vancouver, BC
1/10

Heat pump installed without permits

We had a 3-ton Mitsubishi heat pump system installed in January (2023) and I would not recommend Ashton. The outside unit was not secured and the work was done without permits. I gave Ashton the benefit of the doubt and over two months to remedy this, yet they still have not scheduled all of the required permit inspections.

Ashton did not level the ground before installing the unit and as a result the unit was not secure, leaning and quite tippy. This posed a hazard to children that could easily knock over the 260 lb unit onto themselves or others. It took nearly two months to get them to come back to fix the issue and we had to get a manager involved so they would respond.

Ashton charged us fees for permits and told us that all permits had been applied for, however we learned that this was not true. After our sales person told me permit all the inspections were scheduled I called the City and they had no record of Ashton applying for anything.

I have had to call the City numerous times myself to understand which permits are required and educate Ashton on the requirements. Despite all of this Ashton still has not scheduled the electrical inspection even though the unit was installed over 11 weeks ago. The City told me permits should have been pulled before the work was started and we should not be running the appliance without permits.

Each week Aston provides a different excuse as to why they have not scheduled the inspection yet (staff doesn't know the process, staff has COVID, staff has a family emergency, etc.). At this point I don't have much faith that Ashton is capable of completing this job.

If you do end up hiring Ashton, I would not recommend agreeing to pay them in full until after permits are obtained and the work has been completed to your satisfaction.

Approximate cost of services:
$23,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lindsey in Vancouver
Lindsey in Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Furnace tune up and cleaning

Johnny and Tyler did our yearly tune up and cleaning. They were very courteous, professional and answered our questions well.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Stephen from Vancouver
Stephen from Vancouver
4 reviews Vancouver, BC
2/10

Heat Pump Installation

The project to replace our ducted gas furnace with a heat pump seemed to be one bungle after another.

The major issues were:
Poor communications with the customer
Poor internal communications at Ashton
Poor attention to detail (checking that what they were doing was correct).
Poor project management

On the postitive side, their installers were friendly and competent. Ashton was also very good at quickly presenting an invoice.

We ordered the heat pump with the salesperson/project manager setting the expectation of a 5 week delivery. It was more like 7 months to initial install and nine months to final completion. They required a rather large 50% deposit.

The project manager left on stress leave shortly after we ordered and no one else was put on our job and we were not informed. When trying to get information on when we would get delivery from the manufacturer one person said the would contact the manufacturer and get back to us but didn't, another simply refused to contact anyone. Eventually we got another project manager, but even then it was a 20% chance that they would return a phone call or email and we had no idea when our unit would be installed.

We got an install date after about 7 months. They suggested a date, but we were away then so we agreed on a different date. They showed up on their suggested date anyway. Someone was staying at our house and they let them in to do the install. We were not in a place we could be contacted. When we got home we found that instead of routing the refrigerant through a short route to the inside blower unit as previously agreed they wrapped it halfway around the outside of the house to where the old furnace vent was located. Unsightly and probably not the greatest for refrigerant efficiency. They also installed a 1" filter instead of the agreed 4". They offered an electrostatic 1" filter to make up for the mistake. We needed a callback as they had not completed the covering of the refrigerant line. The project manager likely never talked to the installers about the job.

Then we had the post retrofit energy audit required for rebates. The heat pump wasn't the same as on the quote and didn't qualify for any rebates. They didn't argue when we asked for a replacement, which was appreciated. We made an appointment for getting a replacement heat pump for after we returned from being away. They were no show for the appointment. When we called they said they had no record of the appointment, so we made another. No show again. This time they said they didn't have the equipment yet. Finally it got installed about nine months after ordering.

When initially presented with final invoice at the time of the first install we noted that that there was information missing on the invoice that was required for the rebates. Why they would not do that from the outset is baffling. Surely they know the requirements. They added the info, but the AHRI number was incorrect. After several attempts they finally got the right AHRI number. When the unit was installed, it was a different model and they forgot to update the model number and AHRI number. They corrected again but then also changed the indoor unit model number to an incorrect one. At least 8 final invoices to finally get one with the correct information.

Our house is old and not terribly well insulated, although we have done what we can without opening up the walls to put in insulation. In the cold weather the heat pump struggles to keep up, so it is probably a little undersized for our situation.

Update a couple of months after the review was first posted:

After seeing the review Ashton contacted us, apologized and asked if there was anything they could do to make us change how we felt about them. That was appreciated and since the heat pump had trouble keeping up in the cold weather I asked if there was anything they could do. They said they would send someone to take a look. They did, and he recommended an electric heat strip be installed in the inside unit. He said he would let our project manager know and that they would get back to us. That was over a month ago. A couple of emails failed to get any response. So, sadly, no change in our opinion of them.

Approximate cost of services:
$22,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Patrick in Penticton
Patrick in Penticton
0 reviews Richmond, BC
10/10

Boiler Servicing

We live in Richmond and Keegan did our boiler servicing this year. His skill and customer service were outstanding. Looking forward to having him back next year.

Patrick and Sherri McAndless

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Gillian
Gillian
0 reviews Richmond, BC
10/10

Furnace repair

A wonderful quick response from Ashton this morning when we called in to report our furnace didn't start up. Jerome found the problem, replaced the part and by noon we were up and running again. Excellent friendly and helpful service.

Approximate cost of services:
$447.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vancouver, BC
2/10

Poor communication, delayed installation, doesn’t work

From the start, this company has been poor at returning calls- they started an installation of an HVAC system and when they ran into a snag, left us hanging for over 10 days, not showing up, no communication. In August -Sept we we spent many hours trying to manage, get a response. Finally it was installed. Now we come to find that the brand new 20k system has a problem- one of the heating zones isnt working. This being the coldest snap of the season, it likely was never working (was it tested?) While we cancelled the call out due to the dangerous driving conditions on Nov 29; we specifically asked for someone to come the next day.
Once again, no show the following day, and no communication. When one spends that kind of money and has a No problem warranty, it is not only a huge disappointment but terrible business practice. This is the second time weve experienced this poor service in just 3 months, with a brand new system.

Approximate cost of services:
$20.00
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Ashton Service Group

"Since 1986, Ashton Plumbing, Heating, Air has helped residential & commercial property owners in Richmond & Greater Vancouver. We are among the best rated plumbing, heating, cooling, gas repair and install companies. We handle repairs/installs on leaky faucets, broken furnaces, water heater repairs/installs, as well as clogged drains. Ashton Service Group services residential and commercial customers. Our friendly, licensed plumbers & HVAC technicians will come to you in, uniform and shoe covers, to diagnose your problem(s) and discuss available options with you. See why Ashton Service Group is considered one of the best plumbing, heating, cooling companies to work with in Richmond/Vancouver, BC! Ask your friends who have worked with us"

CATEGORIES
Drain Services, Heating & Air Conditioning, Kitchen Planning & Renovation, Plumbing, Solar Panels, and Solar Water Heating
PRODUCTS
We are not a wholesaler or retailer of parts or materials. We are a service company that can supply and install the brands you want or make recommendations on what product would best fit your needs. We do not offer duct cleaning or service fireplaces.
SERVICES
Plumbing, Heating, Air Conditioning, Gas, Drain Cleaning, Trenchless, Pipe Bursting, Air filtration and Ventilation, Tankless Water Heaters, Furnaces, Boilers, Heat Pumps, Air Conditoners, Mini Splits and Ductless Splits etc.
BRANDS
We can supply, install and repair almost any brand. Please see our website for details at www.ashtonservicegroup.com or call our office for more information at 604-283-2383.
SPECIALITIES
Ashton Service Group services and installs a lot of furnaces, boilers, tankless hot water heaters and heat pumps. We also now are installing more air conditioners such as Mr. Slims, ductless split and mini splits as customers are requesting them more and our summer weather is getting hotter.
WEBSITE
https://www.callashton.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1987
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
50
RETURN POLICY
N/A
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Financing
LICENSES
All cities in Metro Vancouver
MEMBERSHIPS
PAMA, IREM, LandLordsBC, Richmond Chamber of Commerce, White Rock Chamber of Commerce, ComplyWorks,
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
One year Ashton Service Group labour warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.