The Home Improvement Group - THIG

Formerly Mr Rescue
Handyman Services
200 Matheson Blvd. West, Suite 203C Mississauga ON L5R 3L7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Handyman Services
The Home Improvement Group - THIG
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

93%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 6 timesBest of 2019winner 6 times

Reviews for The Home Improvement Group - THIG

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (332 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Be very careful with this company

I engaged THIG to design a new detached garage plan in the expectation to obtain the building permit at the end. I was told by the company and the architect it subcontracted that in fact, I could do even better than a garage in going for the "laneway house" option. Obviously, to design a laneway house cost much more than a garage. Several times I was promised and told that the architect did his due diligence, understood the by-law, and a laneway house plan would work. I even specifically asked the company to write into the contract that the building permit must be obtained (for what use is the building design if it cannot obtain city's permission?). So I was led down the garden path to design a laneway house, and a a few months later was informed by the city that the application was denied since it didn't comply to the by-law. And not just any by-law, it is the most obvious requirement that a laneway house must be adjascent to a public laneway, not a private laneway like the ones by my house. The inadmissibility should be obvious once the architect saw the new survey done. But the company proceeded as if everything was hunky dory until it was too late. So the original proposal from THIG was so fatally flawed, that it could not even pass the zoning review and cannot be salvaged. So the conclusion I drew then is that I was sold a bridge to nowhere, and this must have been obvious in the beginning to the architect/ company, or they were simply just incompetent. During this almost 8 months of ordeal, I have been trying to be as patient and reasonable as possible, however, my additional complaints against THIG were:
- it has a habit of drawing things out, paying lip services, and not really acting to resolve issues
- it never apologizes for the hiccups and errors flowing from their actions, or inactions, or failures
- pretending not to understand what was written and agreed in the contract, and not remedying the breach of the contract by doing the right thing such as refunding, or proactively proposing a real acceptable solutions
- Not managing its own subcontractors and let the clients bore all the risks
- Strange practice of charging clients substantial amount upfront for what will be delivered

So at the end, I lost $6,500+ dollars before tax with no useful results from this exercise ($1,500 survey cost is unavoidable).

I would not recommend this company and one must be very careful dealing with them if you want to engage them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Eric, I am taken back by your review. Below is our conversation with our Architect and myself and our commitment to you and your project.


This is to clarify the original proposal that the client requested to be executed, which was completed at the time he had requested as per the first encounter.

This email surpasses any financial agreements between THIG and the client.

This email is to strictly clarify that the following original requests of the client has been completed. As well as to clarify that the proposal of the laneway house was a design proposal to upgrade the concept, these were not working drawings.

The inconveniences of this proposal were conversed at the moment via a three-way conversation over the telephone between the client, the President of THIG, and I. Where I inputted my opinion post my meeting with the in-charge of the Zoning Dept – City of Toronto.

After this conversation all three parties agreed on the outcome and I acted consequently: the original garage + storage proposal.

As the client confirms in the email below.

Subject: Re: Revised Quote-Garage with Storage

Hi Christine,

I am on the same page with you regarding garage + storage option as a remedial plan to the original contract. So not to worry. As you could already see, I paid my fees and what I promised timely, in full, without fail, several times in my business dealing with THIG already. So please go ahead with the garage with storage option, you have nothing to worry about from me.

Thank you.

Regards
Client

I am concerned as to why the client is bringing up something that was already conversed, finalized and discussed in the past, contradicting as it was said previously to his conclusion stated in his email on March 3rd.


The client has the latest proposal drawings, site plan and the only thing that is stopping us from moving forward is his rejection.

Daniel in Toronto
Daniel in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bedroom Renovation

We reached out to THIG with a small renovation project involving the removal of a closet and a major modification to an existing closet. Hemron was very diligent and careful with the renovation, completing the work on time and on budget while leaving a clean and professional outcome.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Daniel:

Thank you for a great review. We will make sure Hemron is told about how pleased you were with his work and professional approach to your project. The Home Improvement appreciates your feedback.

Sincerely

Merry Robertson
Inside Sales & Customer Service

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Drywall repair and deck stair repair

Our contractor, Graeme, was great. He gave a fair assessment of the work and even rushed it for us so that we could prepare our house to sell. The work was done on time and done well.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We are glad we fulfilled your timeline for your home sale. We understand how sensitive timing an be. Please keep us in mind for your new home, we enjoyed working with you.

Regards
Graeme.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Amazing job!!!

Ben and his team were very accommodating and did a beautiful job. Excellent workmanship. I would highly recommend Ben!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello and thank you for the kind review. Ben and his team pride themselves in great quality work and customer service. We at The Home Improvement Group always put our best foot forward to ensure all our customers are happy with there end results.

Please keep us in mind for any future work you have small or big..

It was a pleasure working with you. Have a good long weekend and enjoy your new space.

Regards
Christine

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

We partnered with The Home Improvement Group for a total kitchen renovation. We were impressed right from the initial consultation with Les then through the planning and estimating process.

Extremely knowledgeable and thorough in explaining the scope of work and in answering all questions we had.

Once construction began, our project lead Aldo was amazing. He along with all the other trades were wonderful to work with and respectful of our home. The work was done safely and with quality and attention to detail. Communication was open about every aspect, and schedules were respected.

Along with Aldo and his assistant Herman, the other trades people were fantastic. Fabio the painter, and the 2 Johns doing the plumbing and electrical.

We were thrilled with the final product, and would not hesitate to use The Home Improvement Group for some future projects we are considering.

Bravo!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review, it was an absolute pleasure working with you. Our trades take pride in all the work they do. Les is very knowledgeable with all types of renovations and his attention to detail is his strength. Enjoy your new kitchen, I hope you create lots of great memories in your new space. Enjoy the rest of the summer and look forward to working on your next project.

Regards
Christine

Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Renovation Project

Home Improvement did amazing job from the wall demolition, painting, floor carpeting, and washroom upgrade. They are amazingly reliable and highly recommended.
On behalf of Crane Pumps & Systems

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Crane Pumps Thank you so much for the great review. It was a pleasure working on your project and our Team appreciates the positive review as everyone at The Home Improvement Group strives to achieve the best results for each and every project we work on. Your new space looks fantastic much brighter and modern, we wish your company much success. We hope that you will keep us in mind for any other future projects you may have.

Thank you so much for the great review. It was a pleasure working on your project and our Team appreciates the positive review as everyone at The Home Improvement Group strives to achieve the best results for each and every project we work on.

Our sincere thanks.

Shawna Vratsidas

Project Coordinator
The Home Improvement Group.

Private User
Private User
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Flooring

Home Improvement group is very professional organization and helpful. The work was completed in a timely manner and very happy with the end results. Instalers clean after every day of work. Job Foreman was very helpful with any questions we had. Highly reccomend the Home Improvement Group.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Private User, Thank-you so much for the great review it was a pleasure to work with you on your project. Our team at The Home Improvement Group take pride in each and every job we do to achieve the best results. Your floors look amazing and it has brightened up your home. We hope that you will keep us in mind for any other future projects you may have.

Our sincere thanks.

Shawna Vratsidas

Project Coordinator

The Home Improvement Group.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Electrical work done well

Electrical work on malfunctioning lights was done very professionally. Thanks for being on time and for getting the job done right.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure working with you. Glad we could accommodate your needs promptly. Please keep us in mind for your next renovation.

Stay Safe
Regards
Christine

Mario in Toronto
Mario in Toronto
2 reviews Milton, ON
0/10

Deck staining

I am updating this review for the 3rd time as the nightmare continues. Hired for a deck staining project end of summer 2019. They cut corners, did a poor job staining, and left a mess at my house. I was upset last year with staining work but they partially reimbursed me to satisfied at that time. Summer of 2020 deck was in bad shape already, and looks like it has aged 10 years. THIG came back and re-sanded and stained areas under their warranty to correct issues which was great. Deck looks better. However now they have overcharged me without authorization for an error they made in purchasing the wrong stain due to an error on their end. They tied up a lot of my time, and tried to blame me for the error. At the end they reimbursed me for what was owed but not without several emails and discussions. They are very difficult to deal with and lack accountability, at the expense of the customer and I will never work with this company again. very unprofessional.

Review has 2 previous versions
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mario

I am very disappointed in your review. I am not sure why you altered your review 4 times and changed the score from an 8 after the job was completed and you were very happy. We came back to fix warranty work, as we stand behind our workmanship and have a real warranty. We redid the areas on your deck in question and also did other areas that did not need work at no charge and you were very happy. You used every email to me as a threat, that If I didn't give you a discount on extra work we did, you would go on social media and slander me. You also stated we overcharged you and were very rude to our finance manger, only to agree you were wrong in your calculations. I also gave you a credit for no reason to make you happy.

As a business owner, I pride myself in great customer service and doing good quality work, although on your project, no matter what we did...you were going to find some way to make us look bad. It is unfortunate your negativity will impact our business but we can chalk that up to a lesson learned, and hope customers who read your review take it with a grain of salt.

That being said, I hope you enjoy your fabulous deck, it does look great.

Mehdi
Mehdi
0 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Kitchen island

They created a kitchen island addition with cabinets and quartz. Very nice.

The work was professional and timely.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our Trades take great care in providing excellent service for our customers. We all appreciate great feedback and look forward to future Opportunities that may come up.

Sincerely

Merry Robertson
Inside Sales & Customer Service
The Home Improvement Group
416-477-4500

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Home Improvement Group - THIG

Call or email us 7 Days a week for Service.

The Home Improvement Group is the premier One Stop Shop for all of your home and office renovations needs. We have multiple divisions such as Perfect Painter, Affinity Renovations, Perfect Handyman and Mr Rescue.

We service work form $400.00 to $500,000.00+ from our Painter and Handyman of the Day Service to our Service Truck with a 3 hour minimum to Home Additions and Major Renovation and Structural work. We want to earn your trust and as a family owned business that delivers on providing outstanding home renovation work.

Not convinced we have enough renovation reviews please see Perfect Painters & Home Renovations Services for a more detailed list on reviews for larger projects.

We have a commitment to Quality work and dealing with a no risk contractor and we will always compete for your business.

CATEGORIES
Handyman Services, Basement Renovation, Plumbing, Paint & Wallpaper Contractors, Drywall Contractors, General Contractors, Floor Laying & Refinishing, Bathroom Renovation, Carpenters, Demolition, Moldings / Mouldings, Condominium Renovations, Stucco, Tile & Stone Contractors, Stair Builders, Renovation Advisors, Electricians, Decks, Home Additions, Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design, Structural Engineering, and Kitchen Planning & Renovation
PRODUCTS
Interior Painting,Exterior Painting,Residential Painting and Commercial Painting,Staircase refinishing, Condo or Apartment Renovations and Handyman Services, Kitchen Design and Build, Home Additions, Structural work, Garage Design and Build, Basement Renovations, Bathroom Renovations, Basement Underpinning and Waterproofing,Custom Cabinetry, Flooring Installation including, Laminate, Hardwood, Engineered, Tiles, Including Porcelain, marble and granite. We also have Master Electricians, Master Plumbers and Gas and HVAC members as a part of our team.
SERVICES
House Painters, Office Painting, Exterior Painting, Residential Painting, Wallpaper Installation & Removal, Stucco Removal, Drywall Installation and Plaster repairs, Paint & Wallpaper Retailer save up to 50% off, Demolition, Rough and Finished Carpentry, Home and Renovation advisors, Kitchen Planning and Design, Handyman and Painter for a Day Services, Deck Design and Build, Basement renovations, general contractors
BRANDS
Benjamin Moore, Dulux Paint, and Sherwin Williams. We Believe in not Including Paint and providing you our wholesale Paint Pricing as many of our Competitors include paint in your pricing and then substitute low grade paint. We believe in provide you the best paint for your home and to provide access to our unbelievable wholesale pricing.
STYLES
Interior Painting,Exterior Painting, Residential Painting and Commercial Painting, Condo or Apartment Renovations and Handyman Services, Kitchen Design and Build, Home Additions, Structural work, Garage Design and Build, Basement Renovations, Bathroom Renovations, Basement Underpinning and Waterproofing,Custom Cabinetry, Flooring Installation including, Laminate, Hardwood, Engineered, Tiles, Including Porcelain, marble and granite. We also have Master Electricians, Master Plumbers and Gas and HVAC member as a part of our team. Our Painters are #1 in Toronto
SPECIALITIES
Custom painting, Stucco removal, staircase refinishing and rebuilding,wallpaper installation, wallpaper removal, handyman services, home renovations including bathroom renovations, basement renovations & condo and apartment renovations. Plus our Award Winning Painter and Handyman for a Day Services. Our Painting Services including Kitchen Cabinet Painting and Spraying are specialties. Kitchen Design Services and Complete Kitchen Design, Build and Installation.
WEBSITE
https://www.thehomeimprovementgroup.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2011
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
30
RETURN POLICY
See website terms for details
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheques, Email Transfers, all Major Credit Cards
LICENSES
City of Toronto & Other Muncipalities in the GTA
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, Homestars,
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Open 7 Days a Week Call or emailNow
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
400.00
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
$400.00 to $500,000.00+
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 Year Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.