Green Maple Home Renovations

General Contractors
Milton ON
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
General Contractors
Green Maple Home Renovations
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Green Maple Home Renovations

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (104 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovation

Ariel took the time to ensure a high quality job and we could not be happier with both bathrooms.

Approximate cost of services:
$23,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you C for your review hope you guys enjoy it and glad you like it was a nice experience working with you and your family.

Shiny in Toronto
Shiny in Toronto
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Complete Home renovation of main floor and top floor

This review is long overdue of 5yrs. The reason being, Ariel did not ask me for a review, after our work was completed. He is an honest man and does not impose on others. In 2016 September we gave contract to Ariel for our house which we had newly purchased. It was done fabulously. Ariel gave us new ideas, choice of color, tiles, hardwood which would brighten up our home. All new fixtures, plumbing, electrical works everything was done spot-on. We never had any problems with him. He went out of his way to do stuff for us during our renovation time. He is well organized and responsible. Will call again. Will refer him to our friends.

Approximate cost of services:
$80,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Shiny wow that was long time ago and apreciate your opinion.
I respect clients privacy and even if I request it, its your choise to do so and give us your outputs so others can decide.
Again thank you even after 5 years its feels as today. Glad you been enjoing it.
Regards
Ariel

April in North York
April in North York
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Follow Up Actions

Ariel was fantastic. He returned over a year after our original renovations date to help resolve a leaking basement shower situation.

Really appreciated him taking the time to help us out. He was quick to respond and really made sure the problem was fixed.

Will definitely go back for our future reno plans

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank ypu April let me know how is working Thank you again

Private User
Private User
1 review Cambridge, ON
10/10

Construction of Awning

I am very happy with how our new backyard awning turned out. Ariel was knowledgeable, efficient and professional throughout the construction process. Would recommend to anyone looking for an honest contractor. 10/10!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you J,
Glad you guys can enjoy next summer and here we are anything you need.
Thank you
Ariel

Jamohl in Milton
Jamohl in Milton
0 reviews Milton, ON
1/10

Basement Reno gone wrong. Stay Away

We hired Ariel to finish our basement and based on the reviews we read and pictures we saw expected a much better outcome. Unfortunately, what we have now is a basement that is finished with obviously poor workmanship and very sloppy finishing. Were embarrassed as to how bad it is. We also have mold just one year after the project is completed which is insane. Bottom line is that I would not hire Ariel again for anything. He is very sloppy, cuts corners when its not necessary and his finishing is very bad as you'll see in my photos. He does not know what he is doing and lacks the experience to do a good job.

The good:
-Ariel was nice in the first meeting, gave us some recommendations for the design and we liked his approach of letting us pick our own finishes. We had other contractors provide quotes, some didn't even come to our home and some were not keen (especially those that claim to do the project in 3-4 weeks) once I mentioned I wanted it to be a permitted basement.
-His subs were respectful and did their best to keep the place clean. This project was done Nov-Dec 2021 at a time when people were still sensitive about people in their homes and COVID etc.
-His price was very reasonable so from day one I told him Id pay him more to make sure we use good materials (sub-floor, insulation in the ceiling etc.). I planned on using on a rental property so I was positive at the beginning.

The bad
-Getting a proper reference was difficult and probably the first red flag. Ariel provided the email addresses for some people who could have been anyone. He did not provide any phone numbers. I overlooked that since most of the reviews were positive.
-Ariel had the drywall delivered and left on my driveway overnight in November. Before he left for the night he ripped the plastic wrap and of course it rained and wet the drywall. The next day I confronted him and told him I didn't want any wet dry wall in my basement but he insisted that it was only the top sheet and the others that were wet on the side just needed to dry. When I got home I saw that he had moved all the drywall into my basement (all on camera) even the wet ones and the next morning I told him again that I didn't want any wet drywall on my property. I have young children and cannot afford to have any mold or rotted drywall in the house. I couldn't believe he was going to use the wet and rotted drywall in my house and insisted it would dry when he could have just ordered another skid for a few hundred dollars.
-There is poor workmanship throughout the project. The tile work was very amateur, tiles are not level, bad cuts everywhere filled with caulk and mortar. The stairs were sloppy and all the stair caps still lean when you walk on them. Some of the molding looks like he used a chisel instead of a saw. Doors were cut from the top and one of them doesn't close properly. The pocket door (which was a disaster) fell off and there are bumps all over the drywall because how poorly the sanding was. Even the toilet isn't level on the floor and there's gap big enough to fit your finger which he filled with clear silicone. He insisted that the bottom of the toilet wasn't level (seriously! I've installed of these toilets which weren't cheap with no problem).I pointed out all these things while he was on site but he did very little to fix any of it. Anytime I would show him issues he would just shrug his shoulders, say that this is what he always does and act like he didn't understand English some of the times.
-He did not frame the windows. When I asked him about it he just shrugged his shoulders. Recently he said that I cant expect to go to LCBO and get whiskey for the price of beer. (He sent this in a voice note) He said it wasn't in the budget. How much does it cost to frame windows?? I clearly told him several times in project that I would pay for good work. I paid for expensive tiles, thicker vinyl floors, insulation in the ceiling, permits etc. I also paid to have one of my own contacts install the glass for the shower when his contact couldn't deliver. To me these are just excuses from a very lazy, inexperienced and sloppy contractor with no pride in his work.
-He failed one of the inspections because he connected the hot water the wrong way and we did not have hot water in the bathroom. Thank goodness for the inspector. The inspector also caught other issues including an issue with the framing which causes a tapping sound throughout the HVAC system. The inspector told him how to fix it and YES, 6 months later the sound is there in the middle of the night. He also missed the final inspection which I had to be there for myself if not the project would have been failed right before the holidays. The inspector asked for a fire alarm equipped with CO and strobe to be installed. The person he had on site did not know how to connect it and the inspector basically did it himself so he wouldn't have to come back. This guy is a joke.

The Ugly
-In June 2022 (6 months after the project was done) I saw a leak in the shower coming from the mixing valve. I contacted Ariel and asked him to come look at it. I contacted him several times and he finally came in September without his plumbing kit so he basically did nothing. After following up several times he came in December and found that it was a bad leak. His delay meant that I couldn't use the shower from June to December. When he finally he came in December he rushed to fix the leak and said problem solved. He cut two small holes to get access to the mixing valve and insisted that it just needed to dry. The shower shares the wall with an electric outlet which he didn't even bother to check. He insisted that we just leave it to dry and everything would be fine. After he left I opened up the wall and found MOLD. I sent him a picture and he suggested just cleaning it with bleach and water which is not a solution. He didn't even check for mold even though he knew the leak was bad and the drywall was wet. In less than a year there's a leak and his solution is to let it dry. To make matters worse he used regular drywall for the entire shower! No concrete board or other backer board which means that the back of the drywall got wet and started to mold. I have decided to pull out the entire shower based on the fact that the drywall is brittle, the back has mold and two of the three walls are actually affected.

If you value your time and money, do not hire Ariel at Green Maple Renovations for your project especially if there is a bathroom. He does not know what he's doing and you WILL have a leak. Based on everything especially the mold I've told him that he is no longer welcome to come back to fix anything. It's just more of the same sloppy work. I had a licensed plumber look at the shower who said the connections used were wrong. I know that inspector did not comment on the connections but I think in the end we were all just tired of Ariel and his sloppy work. Find someone else for your project.

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Enrique Herrera
Enrique Herrera
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Full Basement and Fireplace

1000% recommended.

After interviewing and meeting with around 15 contractors we selected Ariel as he was able to provide a good quote and recommendations from the 1st day we met him. When others mentioned it was impossible to fit everything we wanted in the space we had, Ariel was confident on the project.

Ariel is a very professional worker, he completed our entire small unfinished basement, and we were able to include everything on it to make it look as a modern & beautiful studio including a full bathroom.

He came to our house everyday early in the morning to do all his work. His crew was also very professional, and they all did a great job.

Ariel is a kind person and because he also speaks fluent English + Spanish we had long conversations while he was working, he never complained to the thousand of questions we had. He is also very proactive and did some small repairs around the house that were not part of the original project. He is a person you can trust and leave your door open in case you need to go out.

We were so happy with Ariel that we decided to also do our Fireplace with him while he was still working on the basement.

After completing the job he has been in constant communication with me asking if everything is ok, he came to our house to do an additional installation of new shelve as I needed help with it.

Thank you so much Ariel wish you the best and for sure we will contact you if we have more projects.

Approximate cost of services:
$35,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Enrique, was glad to work with you guys and give the results uou where expecting. Hope you enjoy and have a great 2023.

Dean Bajramovic from Ottawa
Dean Bajramovic from Ottawa
5 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Satisfied repeat customer

I've used Ariel and Green Maple on 4 projects across KWC and Hamilton over the last couple of years. They're my first call for any project. Ariel is professional, quick, and really knows his stuff!

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Dean.
Glad we solved and help you out.
Thank you for the review

Gianni in Kitchener
Gianni in Kitchener
1 review Waterloo, ON
10/10

Main Floor Renovation

Ariel was fantastic to work with since the day he quoted. An honest and reliable contractor who puts his years of experience to work. He did our entire main floor reno including kitchen, flooring, stairs, powder room, ceilings, lighting, minor structural and laundry room. He managed the job and time great and the help he brought in was fantastic and very considerate of our home. He really goes the extra mile to get it right. As our first major reno we would have Ariel back again in a heartbeat. Highly, highly recommend! Thank you Green Maple!

Approximate cost of services:
$50,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good evenings Gianni,
Thank you for your review, it is for other clients to know your experiences good or bad in order to do the proper decision at the time of reno.
Thank you again also had a good time and attention during our time there.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Dependable, reliable and good work!

We have used Green Maple Home renovations for a few projects in our house. They are knowledgeable with home renovations and fairly priced.

They always ensure the job is done correctly. They show up on time and have good communication throughout the project.

We have been very happy and will use them again for future projects!

Approximate cost of services:
$87.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you M,
It is good to know we had fulfill your expectations as we always try to do.
Have a great day.

JBinGuelph
JBinGuelph
3 reviews Guelph, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation

We hired Ariel to update our primary bathroom shower, floor and to replace the vanity. Ariel removed a very ugly and poorly installed shower stall and built us a fully tiled shower with beautiful glass doors. We didn't think it was possible to fit a "real" shower in that space but Ariel made it work. We provided plank vinyl flooring to cover the existing white marble tiles which were impossible to keep clean. He even fixed the wallpaper we had poorly installed behind the vanity. He was efficient in tidy with all of his work and found ways to save us money too. As a bonus our dog loved him. I would definitely recommend Green Maple for any work you need done.

Approximate cost of services:
$8,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you
Glad to help and make it work for you guys.
Hope you enjoy and could help in the future.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Green Maple Home Renovations

Home Renovations Mississauga, General Contractors Mississauga, Basement Renovations Mississauga, Basement Renovations Oakville, General Contractors Oakville, Home Renovations Oakville General Contractor, Home Renovation, Bathroom Renovation, Kitchen Renovation, Basement Renovation, Decks, Plastering, Tiling, Hardwood Laminate and Engineer Floor Installation, Framing, Drywall and Plastering, Tiling, Painting Framing Drywall and Plastering Tiling Harwood, Laminated ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Kitchener?