Closets By Design Of Central Ontario

Closet & Storage Solutions
73 Saunders Road Barrie ON L4N 9A7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Closet & Storage Solutions
Closets By Design Of Central Ontario
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 2 timesBest of 2021winner 2 times

Reviews for Closets By Design Of Central Ontario

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (267 reviews)

Sort by

Kevin Hamlin from Collingwood
Kevin Hamlin from Collingwood
1 review Collingwood, ON
0/10

Full walk in closet. AVOID THIS COMPANY

This company is absolutely HORRIBLE. Our project was to be completed last October. It is now almost 6 MONTHS later and the have been back 4 times to fix completely shoddy workmanship. And their fixes are shoddy too! OurUnbelievable! And now they have to come back again. I am now also proceeded legally against them.AVOID T. HIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, we are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Sales Manager, Christina at 416-742-3197.

Sonia from Toronto
Sonia from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

2 built in closets

They charged $4,800 for two closets that are very poorly put together. They designer came to our house and had a sketch of what the closets would look like. They used the cheapest material and requested payment before the product was put in. This option forces you to except the poor craftsmanship as we got. I wish I had reviewed the company online before hiring this company. When I called them after the instal to complain, the owner told me it was to bad that I was not happy and they could not do anything. Do not hire this company because you will not be satisfied. Regards, owner in mono Ontario.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, we are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Sales Manager, Christina at 416-742-3197.

Pamela
Pamela
3 reviews Aurora, ON
2/10

Kitchen Pantry

We just had a pantry installed by Closets by Design and are extremely disappointed with the service and final product. The production staff misread the plans for the depth of the unit, which caused many problems. The new depth had the unit blocking a wall intercom. Rather than correcting the problem, I was told they could move the unit down. This left us with a 3-inch gap between our wall and the unit, which we've been told will be fixed using a filler piece of MDF. We find this solution unacceptable for an error that was made on the company's behalf. We informed the company of the error and that we would like better resolution to the problem -- we are still waiting to hear back from them.

I would never use this company again as the unit looks horrible, they have not yet taken ownership for their error (I was originally told the wrong dimension was in the plan I had signed off on, which was not the case) and I have yet to see any satisfactory resolution. The final product we currently have looks like something I could have thrown together myself using materials from Home Depot -- for a fraction of the cost.

A previous reviewer was correct that they do ask for 50% of the payment upfront and are quick to have the remainder of the payment made (I was called about the final payment days before the install date).

The pictures you see in their promotional pieces in no way match the product they install. To be frank, the item looks cheap and of low quality. I would not recommend this company if you're looking for a nice quality item and/or good customer service.

UPDATE: After several calls to the company the errors for the pantry have been corrected. An installation manager came out to the house and reviewed the pantry and offered suggestions for how to fix the unit. He presented the options to staff at the company and they rebuilt the unit with the correct measurements.

There were still some issues with the unit after the corrected version was installed. The issues include: they did not drill the correct number of holes down for some adjustable shelves, which leaves us unable to lower the shelves as much as we had planned; the scribe piece to fill any gaps by the wall looks quite cheap and was not securely fastened; shelves in the middle of the unit bow under the pressure of items placed on the shelf; and some holes for the adjustable shelves were badly drilled and were hidden by white stickers we did not notice until after the installation people had left.

Communication seems to be a problem with the company. The installation manager said the production staff noticed some oddities in the designer's plans but they do as the designs tell them and don't question them. This company would greatly benefit from having a quality control person working with them who understands both design and production. This could eliminate some problems if someone was reviewing the plans and noting any discrepancies or possible design flaws.

If I were to do this over again, I really don't think we would have used this company. There were too many problems that took too long to resolve. Plus, the end product is still not as I had fully envisioned. For closets the company may do alright, but I don't think they are well suited for creating large structures in a very public space of your home.

Review has 1 previous version
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, we are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Sales Manager, Christina at 416-742-3197.

Shemina Keshvani from York
Shemina Keshvani from York
4 reviews York, ON
0/10

Closets and installation

So far, my experience with Closets by Design, Barrie (which services Toronto), has been horrible. I would never recommend them to anyone. They came last week to do an install for 3 closets. So far nothing is finished. One of the closets was measured incorrectly by the Designer, Gurdy, and so they left the materials in my living room and said they would come back. I've spent over $1000 prepping the closets for them. The ones that they did install are poorly finished. I can't seem to get them to return my calls. They are avoiding me and don't seem to want to come back to finish the work. My clothes are in my living room. I have no drawers and who knows how long this will continue.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, we are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Sales Manager, Christina at 416-742-3197.

tiffany from Toronto
tiffany from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Built In Walk In Closet

What a horrible experience!! Paid for these amazing designs, and this team has been here 7 times and still cannot install them! They are really great at avoiding any communication with their clients at all. They do not respond via email or telephone. When they decided to call back days later, they are rude and ignorant. The service manager likes to speak over you. They installed the closets incorrectly and refused to return for 3 weeks later to fix it! AND THEY DIDN'T EVEN FIX IT!!! They are so bad, at one point during this experience I was project managing their communication EVEN BETWEEN EMPLOYEES!! They cut out my base moulding for no reason, and I am left with giant visible holes all over my walls, from removing the first installation. They've ripped my newly painted dry wall by trying to jam in the wrong size boards into my closet. They were in my home for 8 hours today and did not complete the closet as promised (again). The amount of time spent babysitting these teams, waiting for their arrival on site, checking in, trying to follow up with the owners and managers, having every experience be stressful, bullied, and feeling left abandoned is not worth any amount of money. I have no idea why anyone would ever pay for this, I am here to warn anyone thinking of using this company. DO NOT USE THIS BRANCH!! I still do not have a completed closet.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, we are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Sales Manager, Christina at 416-742-3197.

Lisa from Richmond Hill
Lisa from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

2 Walk-In Closets

We had an excellent experience with Closets By Design. The designer that came to our house asked a lot of questions to make sure she was designing exactly what we needed. She didn't try to upsell us to some fancy product we didn't need. We had 2 other quotes from other companies. One was close, the other was higher by $1100!! In the end, it was the attention to detail that Closets By Design gave us that made us chose them. They really knew their stuff. The installers were also great and made every effort to clean up and keep the mess to a minimum. We couldn't be happier with our closets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lisa! We are so happy that you are happy! We do pride ourselves in our quality and workmanship. It is nice to be noticed.
Enjoy!

Nicholas Georgakakis from Etobicoke
Nicholas Georgakakis from Etobicoke
5 reviews Etobicoke, ON
10/10

Closet

Brenda, our design consultant, came into our home and provided detailed measurements and schematics of our closet. The builders built our product per spec and were very efficient and professional. Highly recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Yes, Brenda is wonderful and very creative. She is a delight to work with!

Daniel Morris from Toronto
Daniel Morris from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

3 reach in closets

I bought 3 reach in cabinets from closets by design. The product is ok, I was actually pleased when they brought the wood into the house. The problem is that cupboards and draws need to be built slightly away from the wall so they open. This company just sets the cabinet in 2 inches and nails a scribe on the front of the cabinet which makes it look really cheap. If your wall is not exactly straight they do the same on the other side and the scribe just runs at an angle up your cabinet. You need an experienced company.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Sales Manager, Christina at 416-742-3197.

Diane Simpson Dale in Etobicoke
Diane Simpson Dale in Etobicoke
1 review Etobicoke, ON

First Review

1/10

Built-ins in a library

When the sales person (Cindy) promised me that I would love my new built-ins and assured me that her company would do an outstanding job I thought okay this is going to be great. Sadly disappointed by the college students that came to install the unit - they were not professionals and not capable of doing the job. The sales person also measured incorrectly so they had to come back to do a section.
The result: Major gaps exist between the unit and the wall, all which could have been avoided.
I had to do the follow-up and arranging for their measuring mistake and there was no follow-up from the company to address my concerns with the gaps and they did not listen or register my concerns. I would not recommend this company for built-ins in a main room in a house. I would also not recommend this company if you expect satisfactory customer service. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, we are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Sales Manager, Christina at 416-742-3197.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Closets By Design Of Central Ontario

Serving all of central Ontario from The Muskokas -Peel Region- York Region - Dufferin Region -Simcoe Region - Georgetown -Milton , Closets by Design is the industry leader in custom manufactured organizational systems. We design, build and install custom closets, garage cabinets and flooring, home offices, laundries, pantries, and much more. From our no obligation in-home consultation, custom tailored designs, and the highest quality canadian product construction, our products offer the best value in the industry. Check us out at barrie.closetsbydesign.com.

CATEGORIES
Closet & Storage Solutions, Home Office Renovation, and Garage Design & Organization
PRODUCTS
Closets - Office- Garage - Laundry room-Pantry- Entertainment units -Murphy Beds -Garage flooring - book shelves - mudroom - entry way-and any
WEBSITE
http://barrie.closetsbydesign.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2008
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
40
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa /MC/Cash/Etransfer
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, CFIB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
500
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Lifetime
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.