Harmony Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating & Air Conditioning
Calgary AB T2R 1H3
Write a Review
Write a Review


HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Harmony Heating & Air Conditioning
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

92%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Harmony Heating & Air Conditioning

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (78 reviews)

Sort by

Jill in Calgary
Jill in Calgary
34 reviews Calgary, AB
5/10

New Heat pump, furnace, and hot water tank.

Started off with a really great experience. The salesman was patient and explained things really well. It was an easy decision to choose these guys. The installation was done by 2 friendly guys who finished on time. Nice! They did lose a part of the thermostat they took out but this was eventually replaced, so no concerns there.

But....during the crazy cold snap in Calgary, there was dripping all around my furnace. It was soaking the whole area around and under the furnace. I called Harmony because I assumed the furnace was the cause as it had just been installed. The fellow who came told me I should call a plumber because the furnace seemed just fine. I asked if they would cover the cost of this if the problem was, in fact, the furnace. They said no so I continued to bail out my furnace for the whole weekend. Another guy came and explained the brutal cold would go away soon and things would be fine.

Thankfully, the city inspector came out soon afterwards to approve the device and quickly found the issue - the humidifier line was left leaking water from my water tank all over the floor. I notified Harmony and someone was sent out to cap the line. No apology, no assurance that all was fine. I had to ask for a response. It is completely understandable that they would want to hide from this frustration, but I would have hoped for more integrity and humility. And assurance that my house would not have any remaining problems.

Overall though, I think the company is still good. Maybe some leadership lessons here though.

Approximate cost of services:
$16,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Peter
Peter
2 reviews Calgary, AB
3/10

HRV(Heat Recovery Ventilator) installation

Short version:

Can be found in google reviews.

Long version:

Initially, I contacted Harmony Heating in December 2022 with the request to install HRV for the 1989 house. Antony came to check the possibility of the installation and provided the quote. He never asked me anything (for example: what I would prefer).
It took me some time to actually get to know all the HRV systems that are out there, but Im glad I did because HRV3-150 TPD, which was recommended to me may be ok, but not for me. The reasons: it is end of the sale, not energy star certified(consumes 74 watts on low speed and 140 Watts on high), and loud.
Point #1 - ask your customer what are the key characteristics that they are looking for. For us - it was energy efficiency and the noise levels.
After reviewing all the models myself, I went with HRV5-270-TPD-ECM. It consumes only 22 watts at low speed and 44 at the highest possible. CFM is also almost x2 as for HRV3-150 meaning that less likely we need to use any speed but low. I also confirmed with Anthony that this model is quieter than HRV3(since they are not publishing the noise numbers anywhere).
Installation: in general was a good experience, but the devil is always in the details.
Point #2 - ask your customer where do you want the units control panel to be. Its not required to ask all technical questions, but opinions about convenience functions should be asked.
After the unit was installed we immediately noticed loud noise in the kid's room in the reverse(cold) air duct. To the point that they can wake up at night and call for you because it's an unpleasant howling sound. For folks with kids - you can understand the stress levels and lack of sleep.
The struggle part:
Anthony was contacted and he came to assess the situation. It was a worm day and I could not reproduce the same level of noise*.
*I know now that if outside is below -3C HRV5-270 (and others) will run in dumper defrost mode multiple times per hour(the number of times depends on the outside temperature). What it means is it will close the intake air from the street and run at the highest possible speed during this time, creating a close loop to defrost the air exchange element. And the noise level will be different(and higher in our case)if intake is closed.
He checked everything and said that "the guys did a great job installing it" and left. I asked if it was possible to replace some parts of the metal duct work(from HRV) with the flexible duct. He said that he will send the guy to do the job.
The Guy(don't want to provide the name on purpose since I believe it was not completely his fault but the managers ) came, brought some weird looking 1m flexible ducts(pics attached), and replaced them.
So noise levels haven't changed much, but we started to get used to it. Until one day. I noticed that the air became stuffed like we don't have any ventilation at all. I checked CO2 readings on our AirVisual device and the numbers were close to 1000ppm, in comparison one week ago the peak numbers were 500-600ppm when I was present in the room. I called Anthony and his suggestion was to increase the fan speed. I was telling him that nothing was changed from our perspective (number of people in the house, running mode, windows/doors closed) but that was his suggestion.
Point #3 Please don't assume that all customers are idlots just because you dont want to spend time figuring out what the real issue is.
At this stage, I had to go and diagnose by myself what was causing the issue. The findings:
Installers:
1. Did a poor job installing the ductwork from HRV to the house, it was never taped together or screwed together. So, then the Guy came who replaced part of the ductwork with the flexible duct accidentally disconnected the ductwork in the middle.
I agree it is hard to notice this, because of a lot of the connections, but still, he should have noticed something at the time of the change.
2. Used the easy path and instead of doing a new 6 duct they decided to reuse the existing one and swap the intake air with the 5 for the boiler room. Which is ok, but the existing 6 duct for incoming air was not cleaned from debris, since it was hardly accessible and no one cleaned it for ages. So I had to clean it, which is ok only if you dont know that they still charged me for the installation of the new 6 duct. We agreed to not change the price since they were additionally replacing 2x 4 duct outlets. But, I didnt know that they had not cleaned the intake.
3. New ductwork was hovering the power cable and pushing it against the hot water copper pipe. In my case, its a fire hazard since we have Federal Pioneer main panel (which will be replaced soon) and those are known for their breakers that dont trip causing fires. Yes, they may not know that, but in general, its never a good practice to do that.
4. The noise levels could be reduced if stale air intake to the HRV could have been installed further away from the fresh air to the house( per specification it should be > 1 m in our case ~800cm). This one I agree that they didnt know that the place where they decided to install the stale air intake to the HRV was directly connected to the bedrooms. But I see that they chose the easy path again here.
5. I had to redo the unit control panel installation since it was installed in the basement and its not convenient. Also, fix the drywall.
6. The replacement flexible ductwork was riddled with holes(like they picked it up from the garbage can). And was installed simply unprofessionally. Cannot find any explanation here.
Point #4 Most of the time you will have time to make it right, you just need to want to make it right.
It was really hard to get Anthonys attention at all. He could say that he will call back in a bit and he didnt. I had to follow up multiple times via email and the phone. So, at some point, I started wasting more time asking them to fix it in comparison to doing it myself.
What I had to do:
After learning all of the issues, I thought that they should come and fix this, but after Anthony told me it will be the same Guy I politely declined and asked to provide flexible duct in proper length and also metal ductwork pieces, so I could fix connections to the HRV unit, since obviously (to me) it needed to be left like that otherwise it could not be properly air sealed(without using some extra sealing materials).

The end result: I redid the HRV to house ductwork, and added screws, and tape. Added flexible ductwork from HRV to IN house and OUT from house to HRV
Noise levels before the work was done: 46.4dB in the bedroom. After 21.8dB(> 10 times!). And yes this is the correct math.
CO2 levels are stable and in a green zone.

So to me, it looks like those guys are not professionals, since even I could do a much better job than harmony heating and dont have to pay $5448(all costs, including HRV and controls since the quote was provided without separating the unit cost and the actual work) for that.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,448.00
Was this review helpful?
Sheri
Sheri
3 reviews Calgary, AB
5/10

A/C install (good) and furnace repair (bad)

Had and a new a/c unit installed in summer 2021 and was very happy (which is why they get 5 stars and not 1) so gave them a call when the furnace quit. Was a little concerned because first one part was replaced and then Jesse determined another part was required as well. Furnace was working after $1000 repair but still didn't seem to heat well. Stopped working again after 3 months. After our own investigation we found 2 metal filters in place from the old electronic filter system (we use a box filter now instead) that had been taken out years ago were still in place and completely plugged leading to no air flow. Took them out and furnace works better than ever. Feel the tech that came to do repairs 3 months ago should have noticed that and maybe the repair bill wouldn't have been as high and our furnace wouldn't have continued to have to work so hard.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your 5 star review Sheri. I'm glad you're happy with the air conditioner we installed last summer and that we were able to get your furnace up and running when it failed this fall. It's unfortunate that the old metal filters were left in place when you installed the new filter preventing your furnace from working optimally. When we complete emergency repairs, we don't necessarily investigate the entire system unless we're asked, as that can be a costly inspection that most homeowners wouldn't want to pay for unless they ask to have it done. Nevertheless, we're happy that you found the old filters and more importantly that your furnace is working as it should. We appreciate your business Sheri and look forward to serving you again in the future!

Mercy C.
Mercy C.
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Furnace Service

I called Harmony Heating in the morning and by the afternoon my furnace was Repaired (no heat for hours unless manually resetting the inside furnace switch) also there was a low flame signal. I was worried about the pipes getting frozen because of the bitterly cold weather that we are experiencing in Calgary. Technician Colton was very professional and knowledgeable. He answered all my questions and advised me about the proper type of filter for my furnace. Great job!!
I will recommend Harmony to my friends!

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your 10 star review Mercy! We always appreciate feedback on the work we do. We understand how stressful it can be when your furnace quits when it's cold outside and we are happy we were able to help you out in your time of need. Colton is one several great Harmony HVAC technicians that helps keep Calgarians warm in the winter and cool in the summer. We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you and your friends again soon!

Jim
Jim
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Furnace Install

My furnace needed repair and decided to contact Home Depot and they use Harmony. They came over that day and gave me a quote that night. I needed it installed right away and they were able to accommodate me. Colton and Scott were self sufficient, installed it about 6 hours and did a great job. They reviewed everything with me and showed me how to program the thermostat. Thanks

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the 10-star review Jim! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Just like Home Depot, Harmony is a name you can trust. At Harmony we understand how stressful HVAC issues can be so we know the importance in getting it repaired or replaced quickly! Colton and Scott are excellent examples of the Harmony experience you can expect every time. It was our pleasure completing your installation and look forward to working with you again in the future!

Mike and Kim in
Mike and Kim in
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Great value and service!

I was referred to Harmony Heating after a couple of attempts from other companies to secure a quote for installation of a new Air Conditioner during the busiest and hottest season of 2021. From my initial online request on Harmony's website through to completion last week of the install my dealing with Harmony Heating was exceptional. My encounter started with receiving a site visit to our home by Tyler and then processed a quote for us within a few days. The office team, Rachel, Haley and Samantha were so professional and friendly to deal with and very professional. I decided to utilize there financing program and Samantha handled that timely and flawlessly. On the date of install Colton and Scott came when promised. They too were friendly and professional. We were so impressed with the attention to cleanliness, laying down long mats from the front door all the way to the basement where the furnace was to be installed. They were meticulous in keeping the area clean both inside and out and completely cleaned up, swept any areas and removed all garbage. Colton was the tech with Scott as as an apprentice. Working together as a team, it was clear they worked well together. The installation of the Lennox A/C unit didn't go without a couple of issues with some electrical that was not their fault, however Colton went above and beyond and fixed the issue and corrected a couple of kitchen plugs at the same time. When the install was done, Colton took the time to go through the control thermostat, set up schedules and ensured I knew how to operate the system. Very impressed and will refer Harmony Heating to friend's and family.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the very detailed 10-star review Mike and Kim! Referrals and reviews are the highest honour a business can receive & we greatly appreciate it. It was our absolute pleasure completing your installation; Tyler, Rachel, Haley, Samantha, Colton and Scott all provided you with the quality service we provide all of our valued customers. At Harmony we strive to provide the best of the best every step of the way. We look forward to keeping you comfortable & maintained in the future!

Dave in Calgary
Dave in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Replace furnace and HWT And add A/C

I recently replaced my 23 year old furnace and HWT.
I added a Daikin furnace and air conditioning and a Woods HWT. All very good quality products

I had three workmen show up at 815 am. They laid floor protection before starting. They went to work and completed the demo and install in less than eight hours.

I would definitely recommend Harmony to anyone looking for HVAC work

They were awesome

Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the 10-Star review Dave! At Harmony our standard is providing our customers with top-quality service, equipment and workmanship. Our motto is to treat our customers homes as if they were our own. We look forward to working with you again in the future for all of your HVAC needs.

Bernd
Bernd
2 reviews Cochrane, AB
10/10

A/C install

We have installed new a/c in our house, all went very well, great company to work with. Communication, quote and install was done very professional, the system is working as planned.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the 10-star review Bernd! It is always our priority to provide honest, professional & top quality service every step of the way. We appreciate you choosing Harmony, and look forward to keeping your home comfortable in the future!

Joshua H in Calgary
Joshua H in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Basement kitchen reno

I contacted harmony for a small job we needed done and they were very reasonably priced, way better then when we had Arpis come out. I can say Tyler was and his crew were excellent in customer service and provided the best work possible. Thanks so much Harmony! I would recommend this company to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joshua, thank you for your 10-star review! We appreciate you for sharing your experience with us, Tyler & Dave are examples of the top quality service we strive to deliver at Harmony. We hope to work with you again on future projects

Chandramouli Muthukumaran from Calgary
Chandramouli Muthukumaran from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Always great service and products

Have always turned to them for all my issues related to heating and water heaters. They always provide very good service, technically sound and best products. Thanks for all the great work.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Chandramouli for your 5-star review! Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we hope to continue to provide the quality service that you have come to expect in the future.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Harmony Heating & Air Conditioning

At Harmony Heating & Air Conditioning we do things one way - the right way.

Using top manufacturers with great warranties and experienced technicians, Harmony makes life more comfortable for Calgarians through heating, cooling, ventilation, and plumbing solutions.

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.