Viktory Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Whitby ON L1M 0H6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Warren H.
Warren H.
11 reviews Whitby, ON

First Review

0/10

Late fall Sodding

Viktory Landscaping did reach out to me via Homestars to see how the grass was doing. I advised I have dead areas and areas that need replacing . They decided to no longer respond after that. So I have adjusted my review to reflect.

Aug 29. 2019:
Company response : how is your lawn now warren?
I still have to raise my lawnmower on 5 different Areas of my lawn due to poor grading if not I scalp my lawn and burn it. I have replaced several rolls of sod where there was not enough soil beneath. Also added soil in areas. Sod has died on my front left side, again not enough soil to make proper contact. Trip hazards along driveway as no grading was performed.

March 21, 2019 amended my original review as I would not be likely to recommend this company to anyone. As no attempt was ever made to rectify. Originally I had 2 stars for this section.

October 3, 2018 I have used Viktory Landscaping in the past for sodding and other landscaping, they had done an excellent job. So I figured that I would hire them again to re-sod my front yard, 855 square feet worth at $1.60 per square foot. This included cutting out old sod, disposal of old sod, 1 yard of topsoil, grading, detailing and installation of new sod which he supplied as per our detailed text conversations. The day in question Viktor called to advise what time he would be arriving and that he was looking for helpers that day as he was by himself. I thought it strange but Viktor advised he had the entire day put aside to do the work and not to worry. I can understand a lot of late season work being required and trying to appease all his customers. Viktor arrived and got right to it. I was working from my home office this day so I was around but busy. It was about 5 hours later and he was completed. I came out in between meetings and had a chat with him, pointed out a couple areas that required trimming (sod hanging over side walk and curbs). Viktor said no worries, would take care of it. I settled up and went back to my office. Later the evening when I was done working I went out to do a more detailed inspection of the work. After a few minutes I notice the grading in areas was not good. Highs and Lows and areas around the driveway edge were sinking in a several inches when walked on. I engaged Viktor and asked if he put down any top soil. Viktor said no it was not needed and my lawn had enough and used this existing soil to grade the lawn. I then noticed that several area that the grass was over top the side walk and curbs (3 inches worth). I engaged Viktor again and he advised I could just use an Exacto knife to trim it. The next morning I went out to trim the areas in question. I noticed the new sod did not sit flat and was not making contact to the soil beneath. The edging of the new sod was not straight as it met the curb. I engaged Viktor again to see if he rolled the new sod. I was advised no , it does not require rolling. I rented a lawn roller form Home Depot several days later for a 4 hour rental. Returned it 2 hours early for a total of $4.70 to rent. Great deal! Fast forward 2 days and I wake up to a note from my neighbor on my front door advising that she can’t access her backyard through her side gate as the sod is 2 inches above her gate and can’t open it as a result. I quickly trim this area and apologies for the inconvenience. Since then I found he also sodded aver a highly visible blue township water access cover as well. I did engage him on the issues, but return communication from his end has ceased. I advised that I was really happy with the first job they performed at my residence several years back but was disappointed with this sodding project. As a token gesture I suggested that perhaps come spring time he could provide the yard of soil that was to be used to grade the lawn and I would spread out over the grass myself as a top soil. No response for 2 weeks now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

How is your lawn now warren?

Previous versions of this review:

Warren H.
Warren H.
11 reviews Whitby, ON

First Review

3/10

Late fall Sodding

Aug 29. 2019:
Company response : how is your lawn now warren?
I still have to raise my lawnmower on 5 different Areas of my lawn due to poor grading if not I scalp my lawn and burn it. I have replaced several rolls of sod where there was not enough soil beneath. Also added soil in areas. Sod has died on my front left side, again not enough soil to make proper contact. Trip hazards along driveway as no grading was performed.

March 21, 2019 amended my original review as I would not be likely to recommend this company to anyone. As no attempt was ever made to rectify. Originally I had 2 stars for this section.

October 3, 2018 I have used Viktory Landscaping in the past for sodding and other landscaping, they had done an excellent job. So I figured that I would hire them again to re-sod my front yard, 855 square feet worth at $1.60 per square foot. This included cutting out old sod, disposal of old sod, 1 yard of topsoil, grading, detailing and installation of new sod which he supplied as per our detailed text conversations. The day in question Viktor called to advise what time he would be arriving and that he was looking for helpers that day as he was by himself. I thought it strange but Viktor advised he had the entire day put aside to do the work and not to worry. I can understand a lot of late season work being required and trying to appease all his customers. Viktor arrived and got right to it. I was working from my home office this day so I was around but busy. It was about 5 hours later and he was completed. I came out in between meetings and had a chat with him, pointed out a couple areas that required trimming (sod hanging over side walk and curbs). Viktor said no worries, would take care of it. I settled up and went back to my office. Later the evening when I was done working I went out to do a more detailed inspection of the work. After a few minutes I notice the grading in areas was not good. Highs and Lows and areas around the driveway edge were sinking in a several inches when walked on. I engaged Viktor and asked if he put down any top soil. Viktor said no it was not needed and my lawn had enough and used this existing soil to grade the lawn. I then noticed that several area that the grass was over top the side walk and curbs (3 inches worth). I engaged Viktor again and he advised I could just use an Exacto knife to trim it. The next morning I went out to trim the areas in question. I noticed the new sod did not sit flat and was not making contact to the soil beneath. The edging of the new sod was not straight as it met the curb. I engaged Viktor again to see if he rolled the new sod. I was advised no , it does not require rolling. I rented a lawn roller form Home Depot several days later for a 4 hour rental. Returned it 2 hours early for a total of $4.70 to rent. Great deal! Fast forward 2 days and I wake up to a note from my neighbor on my front door advising that she can’t access her backyard through her side gate as the sod is 2 inches above her gate and can’t open it as a result. I quickly trim this area and apologies for the inconvenience. Since then I found he also sodded aver a highly visible blue township water access cover as well. I did engage him on the issues, but return communication from his end has ceased. I advised that I was really happy with the first job they performed at my residence several years back but was disappointed with this sodding project. As a token gesture I suggested that perhaps come spring time he could provide the yard of soil that was to be used to grade the lawn and I would spread out over the grass myself as a top soil. No response for 2 weeks now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?